Support NATA 2014

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Nov 17, 2010 | 11:43 AM EST
  • Daily Feature November 18, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

After the Bell 5 Points Take a cheap shot after winning the dreidel game
Appreciator 5 Points View the ending credits
Super Saver 5 Points Save your game
Antique Roadshow 10 Points Inspect every kind of plate and then choose wisely
Kamikaze 10 Points Defeat the Turbo Anti-Korihor 2000 without wearing armor
Razor's Edge 25 Points Defeat Laban in one slice
Gumdrop Warrior 50 Points Beat the game on Gumdrop (no blood) Mode
Nephi's Courage 50 Points Beat the game on Blood Mode

Author Comments

Point and Click your way to obtaining the Plates from Laban in this fully-voiced Adventure Game!

UPDATE Nov 18th 2010: Added a "SKIP" button for dialogue after many requests :)

CONTROLS:
============
Mouse
Game does NOT auto-save, you have to click the options menu and select a save slot to save as you go

COMMENTS:
============
This was started about 4 years ago and was put on and pulled off the shelf quite a few times in the interim. We're very proud of the final product and hope you enjoy it too. Thanks to all our friends and family who helped with voice-acting, testing, and sound effects!

Art: Nick Pasto
All Original Music: Jonathan Chan
Programming: Jonathan Chan

MOBILE VERSION:
================
Only available on Android at the moment.
Search the Marketplace for "Nephi's Adventure" and click the image of Nephi's head to begin the download for $0.99
Your support is greatly appreciated!

WALKTHROUGH:
===============
If you're really stuck, use this link for hints, and if that still fails watch the video:
http://bomtoons.newground s.com/news/post/538110

Reviews


ZenmetsuZenmetsu

Rated 4 / 5 stars November 19, 2010

Nice

Works well as a point and click, looking forward to more interesting chapters.



SeeD419SeeD419

Rated 4 / 5 stars November 18, 2010

Meh

Not a bad game, but not necessarily great either. The work you put into this really shows, but it totally comes off as some cheesy prude religious kids game because erm...well it is. Newgrounds back in the old days was a site for mindless violence, and everything offensive you can imagine, which is pretty much why I love it. This game seems more suited for small children or good religious kids who think that a hit of pot will make you hallucinate and jump out of a window.

I mean, the whole game I'm trying to click on things with a WOODEN knife and I get this cheesy voice, "violence is not the answer," but then he hears the voice of "god" and decides to murder someone in cold blood? What the fuck? Kinda twisted if you ask me...

As far as replay value, the game has none other than some medal points. The one scene with blood is going to show gumdrops I guess? Pretty pointless to replay the entire game for that...

The voice acting was actually quite good though. I can tell you took plenty of time to do it, as pretty much everything you'd want to click on, you can, and you'll get an explanation. Even mundane items like chairs and tables you can click on and get "it's a chair." I'm not sure I really enjoyed that though, it's just extra stuff to sift through pointlessly. Yes, I know it's a chair, I was looking for something useful to help me progress through the game. Some of them seemed a bit unneeded to me, as they never even ended up serving a purpose in the game.

Hearing the poem twice was almost excruciating. Especially with that girls cheesy voice. There's no way I can listen to it two more times for a medal. I don't care if it's 50 points, it's not worth it. A skip voice button would have been great for that especially. There was so much seemingly unnecessary conversation in this game and that's the only real reason it took a while.

As far as the drawings, they were great, I'm not gonna lie. I enjoyed the art very much, and the animation was pretty much spot on. No complaints there.

The music seemed rather appropriate for the scenes, and the sound effects you used were pretty much spot on. Like I said before, the voice acting was pretty much spot on except for the girl. That was honestly so cheesy it was hard to listen to. Especially the fact that she dragged it on for so long.

Overall the game was rather rewarding. It had a proper ending and some medals to make you feel like you accomplished something. Finally putting together the pieces of the puzzle was nice. Although I am an atheist, personally, I would play another episode of this. Although I had qualms with certain aspects of the game, it was fun to play at the very least, and the effort you put into this really paid off. Keep up the good work.


People find this review helpful!
BoMToons responds:

Thanks for the thorough review, I respect that you can appreciate some of the good points even though some other parts were bothersome :)


dhh98dhh98

Rated 4 / 5 stars November 23, 2010

cool

not to bad dude keep it up :D



1MrFC1MrFC

Rated 4 / 5 stars November 19, 2010

Simple

i really liked this because it was really simple, not once did i have to look for a guide, but i wished it was longer



junkalertjunkalert

Rated 4 / 5 stars November 28, 2010

Cool.

I do agree about the final scenes being some-what "rushed" and not in line with the early or middle part of the game.


People find this review helpful!