Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Nov 15, 2010 | 4:36 PM EST
  • Daily Feature November 16, 2010
  • Weekly 5th Place November 17, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

This is my first shot at trying hand-drawn animation. I wanted to try a short video to test out something I saw before. It's basically the "illusion" of movement with very little real animated movement. I think it came out alright.

Anyway, hopefully you'll enjoy the video. Whether you're a fan of Pokemon or not, you might get a small laugh out of it. Enjoy!

[Edit] Daily First and Front Page? You are too kind Newgrounds audience. Thanks for all the positive feedback :D Also, for anyone wondering why Oak didn't record what was happening, that's the point. They haven't tried recording it in the anime, so I'm poking fun at that fact here.

Reviews


JazLyteJazLyte

Rated 2 / 5 stars November 23, 2010

"Clever, smart, and fresh." - Toasterz

Not so impressive, I don't think comedy is done properly if you know the ending in the first 20 seconds. As soon as Oak starts going off on how he's waiting to see the egg laying process, I knew automatically that Ash was there to distract him from it. Clever. My metapod knows String Shot and Harden, can you guess what I named it? NOOO, it couldn't be... he wouldn't have possibly named him penis. Gasp, he did! Smart. Overdone internet memes!? Dude we never see those! Fresh. The graphics and voice acting didn't really hold all that well either. But you have appealed to one major thing 13-year-old boys love on Newgrounds: predictability. Keep making flashes like this, you'll be a sensation in no time, and no I'm not being sarcastic.



SunshinethefoxSunshinethefox

Rated 2 / 5 stars June 24, 2012

Nope, sorry.

While I enjoy the old Pokemon series greatly, nothing about this flash movie was worth my time watching. The art and voice acting was rather poor and the animation was choppy at times. Most of the jokes were immature and just 4Chan memes that we've all seen on the internet a hundred million times before. The only thing I actually chuckled at was when Ash said "I wish they could discover a saiyan type Pokemon, so he could shoot lasers!". Which I admit was original and funny, but was quickly overshadowed when the annoying Shoop Da Whoop meme appeared afterwords.

All in all, I'm only giving the submission a 2/5 stars. (Which is a higher rating than you gave my Chaos Emerald Z flash.) How you got Weekly 5th Place and over 200,000 views for this is beyond me...


People find this review helpful!
remixV4 responds:

Are you still butthurt about that? I told you why I gave it a poor review.


zombiekillermikezombiekillermike

Rated 2 / 5 stars November 23, 2010

Wow! I'm stunned!

I know there is a lot of times that animators and artists put out work that is made for entertainment. Style and look isn't a concern it is more what is gotten from the work versus what is made.

This wasn't good. This was mediocre at best.

The animation was passable.
The voice acting was horrendous and Professor Oake and Ash both sounded exactly the same, it would have been better to use a midi program to tweak them so they were clearly different.
It looks like it was made by a 12 year old. The art is REALLY bad. REALLY REALLY BAD.
I understand people have trouble with proportions and how to draw a character, that is why there are classes. Take them. Take them immediately. If you want to make a career out of this kind of stuff then you are going to need a lot of work to be done. At least you have the effort to make something.



orangeskyaboveorangeskyabove

Rated 2 / 5 stars November 16, 2010

Meh

I thought it was ok. Considering the style was much like the Professor Layton Cartoons, I didn't find it too funny. The animation wasn't all that great either. I have no idea how this got Daily Feature, but congrats anyway. Would have been funny to see a red colored egg and the male squirtle getting pissed.



KeiyosKeiyos

Rated 1.5 / 5 stars November 21, 2010

wasn't bad per se

but it wasn't overly fantastic. my main problem was the seriously generic jokes that where visible from a kilometre away.