Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Nov 7, 2010 | 2:49 PM EST
  • Daily 3rd Place November 8, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Teacher's Pet 5 Points Complete World 1.
Half Way There 25 Points Complete World 4.
Disgusting Gold Star 50 Points Complete World 8.
Patience Breaker 100 Points Narrow your overall death count down to 400 after beating the game.

Author Comments

14/11/10 - Customize page fixed.

13/11/10 - Thanks a lot for the front page! :D

There were two problems when trying to fix the controls: One was that it was generally a pain to get a lot of basic collision working with them, the other was that even if I got the new controls to work flawlessly, a lot of the later levels would be nigh impossible to complete. Both of these problems could have been avoided had I sorted the controls before proceeding with the game and so this is just another mistake I'll have to learn from next time!

9/11/10 - Thanks a lot for the great feedback and for getting me a Daily 3rd award everyone! I'm going to be updating the game with a few adjustments as a thanks!

~ I'll be looking in to adjusting the controls to people's liking, I think this is the main cause behind people finding the game more difficult than it was intended.
~ I will be editing the Customize page so that hats require a number of coins before they can be used, as opposed to medals. Medals will still be available for bragging rights.
~ I will see about adding an auto-save which saves the level you were last on before you quit a world.

Thanks again everyone, clearly this time was well spent!

---

Vertigo is a flash game that has been in production for over a year, everything in the game (except for the music) was created solely by me.

BACK-STORY

Llama Land is struck by a golden meteor which has desecrated the environment and encased the llamas in gold. You play as a llama who somehow managed to evade this but at the cost of winding up many miles away from home.

Your objective is to travel through the bizarre and unusual realms the lie between you and your home, your ability to walk on ground and ceiling should come in handy.

---

MAIN FEATURES:

~ 100 Hand-drawn Levels
~ 8 Main Worlds, 2 Bonus Worlds
~ Powerups in most of the worlds
~ Advanced mode for those who complete the game
~ Plenty of rewards and challenges

CONTROLS:

~ Arrow or WASD keys to move and jump
~ Space to 'switch' (alternate between walking on ground and ceiling)
~ X to use your Powerup
~ M to toggle music
~ P to Pause (followed by Q or Esc to quit the world)
~ Keys specific to the page/area of the game you're on are indicated

---

There may be a few bugs but I've done my absolute best to make sure that this game be as solid as possible before releasing it, I'm very pleased to finally be releasing it and if any bugs do emerge I will get rid of them as quickly as I can.

Thanks for playing and hope you enjoy it!

Reviews


unknown-factorunknown-factor

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars November 13, 2010

fixer upper

is it possible to jump higher than your usual way to jump high?



gugfug928gugfug928

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars November 13, 2010

pretty good

some things could be better (like the controls) but otherwise its great


People find this review helpful!

sagessages

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars November 20, 2010

nice

this game is nice...



Dingo-atchour-babyDingo-atchour-baby

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars November 16, 2010

Bug report

On the main menu, if you attempt to click the blanked out trophies selection, none of the buttons work anymore.
I don't know if a bunch of people try this, but I figured "what the hey" and I had to refresh.


People find this review helpful!
Jindo responds:

Strange, I'll get that fixed ASAP!


Prid-OutingPrid-Outing

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars November 16, 2010

JUST AWESOME!

THE GAME AUTO-SAVES

Wow man, I felt like I was playing a real game. I mean, you've worked really hard on this game - I can see that! It's got 8 Worlds + 2 Bonus Worlds (just like Super Mario games), it has got 10 levels on each world, it has got rewards, it has got medals, it has got alot of difficult-to-earn achievements (enough to keep someone busy for hours), it has got awesome kickass music, it has got powerups, and so much more that makes it resemble like a real game ^^

I really enjoyed playing this game, but the controls were a little off and the game was too hard, but the powerups and the level design for each world made me want to beat the whole game to test out all of the cool stuff :)

I just beat all the 8 worlds after 1+ hour and found out that there were 2 more worlds. It is just too bad that you have to play the game over again to complete taskes to earn Trophies to unlock those worlds, but that's okay (you could make it like New Super Mario Bros Wii, that you have to collect 3 Star Coins or something similar on every single level on all the main worlds to unlock the secret ones)!

- REVIEW -

PRESENTATION: 9
Nice and simple story for this game. Starts with simple levels with nice graphics :)

GRAPHICS: 10
Very-well designed levels with good enough graphics to see what's going on. 10 Worlds, where each world have got an unique season -- that's so cool! Nice animation and effects, and excellent unique powerups for each of the main 8 worlds -- gotta love those :D

SOUND: 10
Outstanding choice of music which fits perfectly with the gameplay ^^

GAMEPLAY: 8
Clever level designs. Some requires skills, while others, perfect timing. Some might even have enough luck to pass a level without following what you're supposed to do. The controls can be abit hard, and you might even fall off a platform at the edge of it, even if you're standing on it! Some levels can be really difficult, but overall, nice level maps ;)

NG MEDALS: 7.5
The Newgrounds Medals are very well picked. The first 3 medals can simply be earned by beating the game. However, the last one is quite hard to aquire because some levels are intensely hard to beat, and you'd be a master not to lose 30-50 lives on those ones. And I don't know if people would want to beat the whole game again for the last medal, after spending an hour or more beating it! But as I mentioned before -- good choice of medals.

IN-GAME ACHIEVEMENTS: 7
After beating the game, you can earn Trophies by completing random tasks to unlock World 9 and 10 -- that's a great way to keep the player even more busy, but as I pointed out before, you could've thought of a better way to unlock Worlds 9 and 10, so that a random player could enjoy the game even more right after beating it, if he/she didn't want to spend more time re-beating it. I don't know what the reward for getting all the 8 Golden Llama Achievements is, but if it something special, then I don't think anyone at all can get it. It's just IMPOSSIBLE to beat all the worlds without diying, that's totally mindblowing O_O

LASTING APPEAL: 9.5
If you really want to play the game, which you most likely will after learning the fact that there are super cool powerups in each world, you'll spend approximitely 1 Hour to beat the game, unless you've got poor skills -- I don't think you would ever beat the game. If you are really into the game and want to collect all the coins in each world, you'd probably spend less than 2 hours beating the game. Once the game is beaten, Trophies will be unlocked to be unlocked by executing difficult stuff to unlock 2 more worlds (20 more levels with different level design/theme), Advanced Mode (Hard Mode) will be available, and 8 Golden Llama Achievements will also be unlocked to be achieved by not losing a single life in each world - and if you literally would want to earn all of those, you'd spend a whole day playing this game!

OVERALL: 9
A game very well made, solely, with lots of great features. This person really wants to make a real game, and he already has enough skills to make a real Flash-game


People find this review helpful!
Jindo responds:

Amazing review, thanks a lot!

The golden llama heads were something I added last minute for bragging rights, I have no idea if anyone is insane enough to beat the game to that extent but I thought I'd add them in case people could and wanted recognition for it ;P