Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Nov 3, 2010 | 9:42 AM EDT
  • Daily Feature November 4, 2010
  • Weekly 4th Place November 10, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

I'm a Survivor 5 Points Survive 3 waves in the unlockable survival mode.
A UEN Commander 10 Points A medal given to UEN generals. Complete Stage 3.
Bloody Hybrids 10 Points Eliminate 125 Hybrid targets throughout the campaign and survival mode.
Medal of Honor 10 Points A medal given to the bravest of UEN fighters. Complete the campaign
Lord of War 25 Points Unlock all weapons, abilities and units in the unlockable survival mode.
I'm Deus Ex Machina 50 Points Survive 10 waves in the unlockable survival mode.
Never Give Up 50 Points Have Yuki to Rick'Roll you over the radio.
Adventurer Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Bukakke Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Echoes is an action-strategy game. It's set in an extensive universe on a torn Earth almost three-hundred years in the future. It joins the famous real-time strategy genre with many elements from the third person shooter genre, in a side-scrolling environment.

Please note this game is loaded with action, and may load on your cpu. If you have any slow frame rates try to lower the graphic settings. Also note Echoes is a heavy story-teller, with scenes and dialogues. If you're in only for the action, there's always a skip button in the corner.

Follow echoes on facebook: http://facebook.com/echoe sgame/
More about the universe: http://echoesgame.com/

Combat mode:
- Mouse - aim, shoot
- W,A,S,D - movement
- Shift - sprint
- Q - command, drag for select units
- E - action circle
- 1-6 - activate abilities
- Z,X,C,V,B - select weapon
- Space - switch to Strategy mode
P, ESC - Pause game
Strategy mode:
- W,A,S,D - camera movement
- Shift - faster camera movement
- Mouse drag - select units
- Mouse click - order units to move
- Ctrl + Mouse click - order units to attack-move
- Hold shift while selecting units to select additional units.
- Space - switch to Combat mode.
- Ctrl + 1-5 to group a few units together.
P, ESC - Pause game

Reviews


ShabambShabamb

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars November 11, 2010

I really have mixed fealings about this...

I love the concept and I think the dialogue is pretty good, so don't get the wrong impression by what I'm about to say, but I have noticed a lot of game play mechanics that were annoying me:

* The 'hop' doesn't work for me when I want it to, and randomly jerks me around when I only hit A or D ONCE.
* When I toggled auto-run on, it didn't work.
* Scrolling the mouse wheel ( at least while in the windowed Newgrounds viewer ) only moves the page behind the game up/down, not scrolling through your weapons.
* The general AI of my units seems rather low, while the enemies seem to have no problem maneuvering and destroying all of my men. This makes it really hard to keep control over the battlefield as you have to manage them and DEM at the same time.
* Where you can actually place buildings seems to be totally random at times. You'd think that you could construct one just far away from another so they weren't overlapping, but sometimes that isn't the case and sometimes it is.
* The fourth level seems unbalanced, with the enemies appearing as an almost continuous stream. Maybe increasing the time between waves or having less enemies spawn would be better. It'd also be nice to know how many waves I'm supposed to survive. For the longest time I thought I wasn't completing some goal, as wave after wave kept appearing.
* As for the last level, I haven't beaten it yet. I really have no idea what I'm supposed to do. John keeps telling me to run up the robot's arm, but when I do I either fly straight off or can't damage the boss.

There also appeared to be some issues with the cutscenes, things like text and speech not matching up or several seconds of nothing that appeared between people speaking ( but this part could be on me ). You might want to check that out just incase.

Some things I'd like to see:
* An actual "select all units" button, rather than the "select all units on screen". Or if you don't do that, at least give it a hotkey.
* Easy-normal-hard difficulties would be nice.

Otherwise, good job on the game! ;D


People find this review helpful!

LOOYLOOY

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars November 4, 2010

Remove the base building.

This was so close to being a great game, it just asks you to do too much at once. Just focus on controlling troops and using abilities next time, reinforcements could be called in while in RTS mode without buildings.

That or RTS mode should pause the game so you can actually do two things at once.



eyzemeyzem

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars November 4, 2010

poor selection of a control and movespeed

good idea but the character's movespeed is too slow(even while holding the shift) and using the mouse wheel as a control for changing weapons is not a good idea because the page is being affected(scrolling).

I hope you will be able to read this review


People find this review helpful!

MagnakMagnak

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars November 6, 2010

Well...

After rading what Ghostwish said, it's pointless for me to write my own personalized comment.

Yet just for fun I'll say it again: great idea... the concept is there but you are lacking the gameplay side of the equation.

Also a small bug I encountered (and maybe it was just me): when you changed the run option in the settings to 'Auto-run', it doesn't do it, so I was stuck with the 'shift' run and that just ruins a chunk of the gameplay for me.

Although the chunky loading gave me an idea how packed this flash game was... really nice move with the cinematic and long story line, which brings me to the 'while in game' radio communications. I know they are there for someone who did not hear what one of them said, but maybe having an option of turning it off or making it go away would be a suitable way to tackle the issue... and with the amount of work that went into it, I doubt it would've been much trouble at all.

On that note, hope to see an ameliorated version of this (most probably will since this is Act 1).



Bigpapa360Bigpapa360

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars November 4, 2010

Awesome but...

I really like the direction you took with this game. Its surprisingly deep as far as story and reminds me of other space epics. It was somewhat slow though with all the cutscenes and and the game was a bit sluggish, the latter of which could have just been my laptop. I also think that it should be converted straight to an RTS and less a combination of action shooter/ RTS. Otherwise I think this is an awesome game.