Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Nov 3, 2010 | 9:42 AM EDT
  • Daily Feature November 4, 2010
  • Weekly 4th Place November 10, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

I'm a Survivor 5 Points Survive 3 waves in the unlockable survival mode.
A UEN Commander 10 Points A medal given to UEN generals. Complete Stage 3.
Bloody Hybrids 10 Points Eliminate 125 Hybrid targets throughout the campaign and survival mode.
Medal of Honor 10 Points A medal given to the bravest of UEN fighters. Complete the campaign
Lord of War 25 Points Unlock all weapons, abilities and units in the unlockable survival mode.
I'm Deus Ex Machina 50 Points Survive 10 waves in the unlockable survival mode.
Never Give Up 50 Points Have Yuki to Rick'Roll you over the radio.
Adventurer Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Bukakke Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Echoes is an action-strategy game. It's set in an extensive universe on a torn Earth almost three-hundred years in the future. It joins the famous real-time strategy genre with many elements from the third person shooter genre, in a side-scrolling environment.

Please note this game is loaded with action, and may load on your cpu. If you have any slow frame rates try to lower the graphic settings. Also note Echoes is a heavy story-teller, with scenes and dialogues. If you're in only for the action, there's always a skip button in the corner.

Follow echoes on facebook: http://facebook.com/echoe sgame/
More about the universe: http://echoesgame.com/

Combat mode:
- Mouse - aim, shoot
- W,A,S,D - movement
- Shift - sprint
- Q - command, drag for select units
- E - action circle
- 1-6 - activate abilities
- Z,X,C,V,B - select weapon
- Space - switch to Strategy mode
P, ESC - Pause game
Strategy mode:
- W,A,S,D - camera movement
- Shift - faster camera movement
- Mouse drag - select units
- Mouse click - order units to move
- Ctrl + Mouse click - order units to attack-move
- Hold shift while selecting units to select additional units.
- Space - switch to Combat mode.
- Ctrl + 1-5 to group a few units together.
P, ESC - Pause game

Reviews


randomdeathrandomdeath

Rated 4 / 5 stars November 4, 2010

not bad

well, first let me start by saying that the game looks great, the story is pretty solid, and the voice acting is great, but there are a few problems with it.
first thing i noticed is the overall difficulty, it seems like you need overwelming numbers just to take out a hybrid group and not get your ass kicked.
level 4 is also a good example of this. the hybrid pretty much dominate me by destroying all my buildings, and throwing bombs from a distance. when all was said and done it was just me and strickmen (who cant die) with my back up against an HQ recharging my bettery with my shield up. that level does become much simplier when you get the extra weapons, but thats from survival mode, which cant be unlocked untill you beat the game.
however this isnt enough to turn me away, and im sure these problems will be fixed in upcomeing acts. i look forward to the next one.


People find this review helpful!

TheManWhoLaughsTheManWhoLaughs

Rated 4 / 5 stars November 3, 2010

Well great idea but...

jesus christ I had so many frustrations with this game. For one thing having left click as interactions with everything is incredibly bad planning... when i'm trying to move units I sometimes accidentally deselect them (by selecting something else like a building) then have to reselect them and that takes time. Also whenever an update happens, such as the hero being revived, it deselect units which is also extremely annoying. In a game this basic I also have an issue with simply being attacked on two sides. It seems like a silly complaint, but realistically you NEED your hero to win skirmishes, and dividing up you units is hard when you have so little, so running them back and forth seems like the only way to ensure victory but its extremely tedious to do (and difficult with the selection problems I noted). Also dealing with the mortars is stupid, because their shots seem to follow (they shoot when I'm stationary and I start moving and they still hit dead on wtf?) and dealing with the knockback of explosions in large skirmishes is stupid as my hero can sometimes be constantly on the ground recovering until hes dead. also having the scroll bar switch weapons scrolls my window, so that's bad design (maybe there is a way to fix that but idk it?). Also there seemed to be different caps for energy production and unit production dependant on the level... I think that should be noted to the player so they don't got building 12 factories when they cant support that gain or whatever.

I'm still giving you a high score since this game has great graphics, dialogue, and the gameplay still is good, and you obviously put tons of work into this, but personally I just find it far too frustrating to deal with. I'll wait until there is a polished 360 version of this (which I totally think you could make a 360 arcade game with this).


People find this review helpful!

LordAizenLordAizen

Rated 4 / 5 stars November 6, 2010

That's good

But you've put too much details and it's a flash game after all.....
But good job with out a doubt.



HueqortHueqort

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars November 8, 2010

Rather ingenious game concept, yet severly lacking

This is quite a flash game. It's a pioneer of gaming, and is setting its own path in the gaming world with the rather unique strategy and side-scrolling shooter aspects combination.
However I find that there are still numerous problems in the system.

At several points in the game I found that switching between strategy and combat mode was difficult, the button was stuck and it was necessary to click the mouse to allow me to simply play. The buildings and units are ridiculously expensive and make it impossible to survive in strategy mode without all of the machina powers and weapons.
Further more it's frustrating constantly scrolling back to a vehicle depot or a barracks to purchase more units, when instead it is arguably simpler to switch the lower selection screen from buildings to units. Because of the fact that a player will want to buy units while watching the battle progress so that he can keep an eye on his health. Then once he has finished purchasing reinforcements he can then buy more buildings after deselecting the production facility.
Why is it impossible to build turrets in front of the resource points? Survival mode is hard enough as it is, and frankly it doesn't make much sense that the resource node prevents ANY buildings from landing near it. Its reasonable if a barracks or depot can't land there but a small turret? Nonsense, they're smaller than the humvees and thus full capable of landing almost anywhere.
Units should be capable of anticipating the enemy, instead of constantly reacting to their attacks. It's very frustrating when my missile launchers die from a tank because they're to dumb to act on their own initiative.
The force field shouldn't block your own units fire. It doesn't make you invincible and rapidly consumes your batter making it marginally useful at best. Therefore it should be upgraded to allow your men to shoot past. Especially tanks and rocket men.
While fun, being thrown about from explosions becomes very tiresome surprisingly quickly. Either increase dodge or turn the throwback from an explosion into a random chance equation. Something like 15%, which also applies to NPC units and grunts as well. This should include thralls.
The missile launcher upgrade is utterly useless in-that I can kill a group of thralls or a tank, at a faster rate than a missile launcher. That's absurd.

The voice acting and dialogue are rather inexperienced. Honestly they're far to cliched and fake to be taken seriously. Particularly the main characters attempted growl, and Colonel Strickmans sore throat. Please improve these.

Your dialogue should be far less redundant. Military personnel are far more crisp and straightforward, they've no time to be subtle they're to busy doing their jobs to waste time.

I've predicted your story from this one episode, and it is interesting however I feel that you shouldn't turn Diabolus -whose name is almost a vulgar pun- into starscream from transformers. Otherwise all he will amount to is a cliched alien who acts like starscream. Alot.

Overall I think this game is amazing you've a lot to work with, and work on. Your idea is original, amusing and inventive. Still there's room for improvement. Iron out the side scroll option so that people can skip sections they abhor and watch the ones they love. Good luck because you can make it, but only if you don't break it. Otherwise the people will pick apart the bones of your ideas.

Inspire them instead. ;)


People find this review helpful!

PentiamPentiam

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars November 4, 2010

Great overall, but could use some minor tweaks.

Great graphics and overall game play. The different modes really showcase the different aspects of the game, and I liked the feel of combat mode and the focus on skill and timing to help an overall push. To further emphasize that, I think you had just the right number of weapons and abilities: enough to have options, but not so much that you're swamped deciding what to use. There's definitely been a lot of effort and hard work put into this, and it's obvious; the decent voice-acting and stats screen are also appreciated.

On that note, I have to say that there were numerous flaws each on a small scale that kind of took away from the enjoyment of the game. The story was a bit short, so it leaves the game a bit lacking, especially since the only other mode you have is Survival, which after a few waves becomes pretty monotonous. Maybe I just didn't try enough keys, but for cut scenes and dialogue a skip for individual lines would be nice since it wouldn't continue until the subtitles finished - which tended be long after the actual character stopped speaking.

For variety, I'd consider some other modes such as Custom or even 'Challenge' missions of some sort. Suggestions for survival and any similar modes to follow in the sequel: a kill count and an elapsed time. I could be the only one who likes having that visible though, so perhaps make it an option you can turn on? While I thought it was just right, it's always nice to have choices so consider implementing a difficulty setting as well.

Again, I thought the game was great overall, just look at ways that you can expand upon what you already have going for you while working on the little things. 7/10. I need room to give a higher score for the sequel, right?