Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Nov 3, 2010 | 9:42 AM EDT
  • Daily Feature November 4, 2010
  • Weekly 4th Place November 10, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

I'm a Survivor 5 Points Survive 3 waves in the unlockable survival mode.
A UEN Commander 10 Points A medal given to UEN generals. Complete Stage 3.
Bloody Hybrids 10 Points Eliminate 125 Hybrid targets throughout the campaign and survival mode.
Medal of Honor 10 Points A medal given to the bravest of UEN fighters. Complete the campaign
Lord of War 25 Points Unlock all weapons, abilities and units in the unlockable survival mode.
I'm Deus Ex Machina 50 Points Survive 10 waves in the unlockable survival mode.
Never Give Up 50 Points Have Yuki to Rick'Roll you over the radio.
Adventurer Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Bukakke Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Echoes is an action-strategy game. It's set in an extensive universe on a torn Earth almost three-hundred years in the future. It joins the famous real-time strategy genre with many elements from the third person shooter genre, in a side-scrolling environment.

Please note this game is loaded with action, and may load on your cpu. If you have any slow frame rates try to lower the graphic settings. Also note Echoes is a heavy story-teller, with scenes and dialogues. If you're in only for the action, there's always a skip button in the corner.

Follow echoes on facebook: http://facebook.com/echoe sgame/
More about the universe: http://echoesgame.com/

Combat mode:
- Mouse - aim, shoot
- W,A,S,D - movement
- Shift - sprint
- Q - command, drag for select units
- E - action circle
- 1-6 - activate abilities
- Z,X,C,V,B - select weapon
- Space - switch to Strategy mode
P, ESC - Pause game
Strategy mode:
- W,A,S,D - camera movement
- Shift - faster camera movement
- Mouse drag - select units
- Mouse click - order units to move
- Ctrl + Mouse click - order units to attack-move
- Hold shift while selecting units to select additional units.
- Space - switch to Combat mode.
- Ctrl + 1-5 to group a few units together.
P, ESC - Pause game

Reviews


AvianarAvianar

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 11, 2010

Great all-around package.

The amount of work you guys put into this really shows. Let's break it down!

Graphics: Beautifully drawn sprites all around, making the game seem almost surreal.
Gameplay: A great idea with a combination between strategy and action. I do have 1 complaint though. When you do the hop by double tapping a direction button, or by pressing W while moving, your firing stops. While not a problem towards the end, I did have a bit of a problem with it to begin with in larger firefights.
Story: This game did a great job establishing it's backstory for new players, and on keeping the story going. I felt like the story, although short, was what really made this game come together.
Sound/Music: The sounds fit perfectly with the game, with none being overly annoying or repetitive. The voices fit each character perfectly, although I have to say that some of the acting felt forced. The music fit very well with the game and was what really sealed the deal with me. It was dark, slow, but still great to have a firefight to.
Overall, I'm highly impressed! I'd like to see more of this series, any ideas as to when Act 2 will be hitting?
5/5 10/10 and a very high recommendation!


People find this review helpful!

BistanderBistander

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 20, 2011

Wow!

It gives a new meaning to the work EPIC!

Here I thought de Flash platform couldn't handle such large-scale games, bothbecause of CPU overhead limiting graphic and AI capacities, and because the devellopment environment is just too painfully limiting to create large-scale software.

The graphics & plot line are up to par with circa 2k real-time game that run native on the home CPU, and get to access a DVD for cut sceens & extra graphics. The only concession to Flash/browser-based gaming seems to be the side-scrolling model as opposed to a 3D or top-down view of a 2D battlefield map.

Said graphics & plot are indicative of a professional design team approach, which in turn speak of a considerable development budget & state of the art development equipment. (Well, $$$ or WAY LOADS of time & patiences) That's a lot of trouble for a free to play game.

You have raised the bar for flash games!

This said, I have a few interface glitches I'd like to point out:

Walking/running: there needs to be a way to TOGGLE, i.e. lock in the run mode.

Selecting units & View scrolling: You need a way to make different units quick-selectable (at least one on each front) and jump the view quickly to them.

Dem needs to have a auto-move feature so you can set him running to another front while doing strategic work on the said front, in response to incomming attacks.

The spacebar toggle from strategic to tactic controls sometimes leaves Dem locked up an unresponsive. It seems to work differently from mouse-clicking on the on-screen tabs for the same toggle and/or the tutorial dialog somehow interferes.

Said tutorial and plot dialogs kick in _during_ ongoing attacks, whit for a beginner on your interface means I have to ignore one or the other... a frustrating choice to make!!! ;-)

A mission restart or mid-point save option should be directly on the esc menu. (I spend a while trying to find the level select menu because of missing on-screen dialog, then found that it jumps back much farther than I expected, i.e. beyond the last pause in battle. :-( )

Lastly, there are ways to skip cutscene dialog for re-players, but not the in-battle dialog. combined with the lack of mid-point saves, that's a pain!

Despite the glitches, this is _Epic_ & _Professional_ work. I'm really wondering how you pull it of on a free to play budget! (Please PM me to tell me of your work-arrangement, dev budget & man hours invested, etc... As an analyst, not knowing this aspect of your dev recipe is _KILLING_ me! ;-p )

Looking forward to see your sequel and 3rd iteration of this!


People find this review helpful!

Ultima227Ultima227

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 2, 2012

One of my favourite games ever



dargoondargoon

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 27, 2011

cool

u can shoot while down



GraduationGraduation

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 13, 2011

review

While there were a bit too many cutscenes (I could have just watched this as a movie) what matters is that there was really a lot of work put into this. The graphics are pretty good and the voice acting is great. It is a new kind of game for me to play with and it is certainly hard to get used to. Nonetheless, you guys all came together to really create a world of your own. While not the most original of ideas, it uses its gameplay well to entertain the player. It is rather fun to go around and select people like that.


People find this review helpful!