Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 25, 2010 | 2:27 AM EDT
  • Daily 5th Place October 26, 2010
  • Weekly 4th Place October 27, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Progression 5 Points Unlock your first door or elevator
Redemption 5 Points Slay the Savior
Renovation 5 Points Turn a wall into a door
Consternation 10 Points Kill the Clown
Completion 25 Points Finish the game
Exploration 50 Points Finish the game with 100% map explored
Ammunition Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Information Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Medication Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Collection Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

= = = NEWS = = =
- Version 1.5.8 approved by NG admin on 11/02/10!
- Medals approved by NG on 11/09/10! Hurrah!
- If I haven't replied to your PM's, it's simply because I'm busy at work on the sequel to this game. Hopefully I can put in as many features that you guys suggested. Happy gaming everyone!
- Someone pointed out that there are fan-made walkthrough vids for this game on Youtube. If you really need help and the guide isn't helping, search "Madness Retaliation" in Youtube.com.

= = = IF YOU'RE STUCK = = =
... CHECK THE GUIDE AT http://revolverroach.newg rounds.com/news/post/5313 85
(remove the spaces. sorry, HTML links aren't allowed in NG descriptions)

= = = BIG THANKS = = =
...to all the Newgrounds players, voters, and reviewers who helped this game get daily 5th, weekly 4th, and front page! It's hard to keep up with the reviews but I do read through all of them. Thank you for the praise, suggestions, and also the many criticisms that help me make improvements to the game.

= = = LATEST UPDATE 1.5.8 = = =
- Fixes to Medal system. (Medals still pending NG approval)
- Fixed some spelling errors and inconsistencies in equip description
- Increased efficiency of JHP ammo stun to 75%.

= = = PREVIOUS UPDATE 1.5.7 = = =
- Some save system bugfixes. Again, saves are local to your PC, NOT your NG account.
- Added new ability for the Savior Halo that will help exploration.
- Medals created (Pending NG approval)

= = = GAME DESCRIPTION = = =
You command a team of 4 specialists infiltrating an AAHW cloning facility. You must retrieve vials of DNA that the Auditor is using to create stronger agents. You must shoot and stab your way through masses of ever improving enemies. Collect weapons, armor, and items to help you reach the Auditor's tower and complete your mission.

= = = GAME PLAY TIPS = = =
- This is a turn-based strategy game that uses AP (Action Point) mechanics. Fans of Fallout 1 and 2 will be familiar with the game-play.
- In each battle, try to defeat all enemies as quickly as possible. Each of your characters has a limited amount of AP that are used to move and attack.
- Moving horizontally, forward or backward, takes 1 AP per tile. Moving vertically needs no AP.
- If you have no more AP, press the End Turn button. You'll to regain some AP but your enemies will have a chance to attack you.
- There is no "Level-up" System. Your HP, damage, AP, and other stats are determined by the armor and weapons.
- Some equipment have special abilities which are displayed in their description. Figuring out how best to use them, is entirely on you.
- You cannot change your character's classes. Learn to optimize their use.
- Armor is subtle and relies partly on luck, but it can be invaluable in many situations.
- Certain enemies drop items which will help out in difficult battles.
- You don't NEED to explore the entire facility... but it does help quite a bit.
- If you lose a man, the Higher Powers will resurrect him after you finish the battle. Assuming, of course, that you win.
- Save often. Srsly.

= = = ABOUT THIS GAME (it's quite lengthy) = = =
The inspiration for this game was the "kill-team" dynamic between Deimos and Sanford, as opposed to the "one-man army" feel of Hank. I want players to feel like they're constantly upgrading and improving their team. I've also tried to replicate the weapons and armor used in the Madness series as Krinkels portrayed them, then added a twist of my own art-style. I had planned this for Madness Day 2010, but it my estimated 2 week production time became 2 months. Still, I'm quite happy with the result and hope you enjoy it!

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = = =
MUSIC CREDITS: http://revolverroach.newg rounds.com/news/post/5306 60
HINT SHEET: http://revolverroach.newg rounds.com/news/post/5303 3

Reviews


alacayalacay

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 13, 2011

AWSOMEAWSOMEAWSOME

SO EPICLY AWSOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


People find this review helpful!

LashmushLashmush

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 3, 2010

Excellent work!

The gameplay is solid and the whole thing just radiates Heroes of Might and Magic combat and Metroid exploration elements!

Have a couple of hours ready if you're getting into this!

Also, concerning killing the clown: You do not kill clown. Clown kills YOU!



RJM639RJM639

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 17, 2011

Pure brilliant mahn.

Madness has gotta be the best series of games and movies ever made.



PopCornTesterPopCornTester

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 26, 2010

An epic game

This game was completely awesome, I loved the system of only having weapons and armor to make your characters stronger. There are only 2 issues I could find with the game: 1) Enemies drop flashbang and smoke grenades a bit to often ( I usually have 20-30 of each at all times, and that makes would-be tough battles very easy), and 2)The shadow dash ability doesn't seem to work for hank's head gear (either that or I don't know how to use it properly (if so, please explain how it works)).

Also, I never experienced the disappearing weapon glitch, so you must have fixed it properly this time.

Once again great job!


People find this review helpful!
revolverroach responds:

i'm happy that someone has an issue with something being too easy :D the constant item drops are really so that the game isn't obscenely difficult.

as for the shadow dash, it only works if you manually click a tile to move. does not work if you attack-move by double clicking an enemy. in the next update, that will be fixed so that the dash and tricky jump are always used, but i still have to wait for admin approval before the update goes online.

glad you liked the game and thanks for the review! and i am SOOOOO happy you didn't have the item glitch. that thing is haunting me.


benjaminth2000benjaminth2000

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 29, 2010

pretty addicting strategic game ,thumbs up

the game has many levels difficulties and armor ect. i can say honestly i havent beaten jebus yes his name is jebus so i will keep playing you to forum and guys dont use too many meelee weapons and shotgun trust me dont zombies will be affected not regualar atp or 1337 troops bye thanks for whaatchin


People find this review helpful!