Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 25, 2010 | 2:27 AM EDT
  • Daily 5th Place October 26, 2010
  • Weekly 4th Place October 27, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Progression 5 Points Unlock your first door or elevator
Redemption 5 Points Slay the Savior
Renovation 5 Points Turn a wall into a door
Consternation 10 Points Kill the Clown
Completion 25 Points Finish the game
Exploration 50 Points Finish the game with 100% map explored
Ammunition Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Information Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Medication Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Collection Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

= = = NEWS = = =
- Version 1.5.8 approved by NG admin on 11/02/10!
- Medals approved by NG on 11/09/10! Hurrah!
- If I haven't replied to your PM's, it's simply because I'm busy at work on the sequel to this game. Hopefully I can put in as many features that you guys suggested. Happy gaming everyone!
- Someone pointed out that there are fan-made walkthrough vids for this game on Youtube. If you really need help and the guide isn't helping, search "Madness Retaliation" in Youtube.com.

= = = IF YOU'RE STUCK = = =
... CHECK THE GUIDE AT http://revolverroach.newg rounds.com/news/post/5313 85
(remove the spaces. sorry, HTML links aren't allowed in NG descriptions)

= = = BIG THANKS = = =
...to all the Newgrounds players, voters, and reviewers who helped this game get daily 5th, weekly 4th, and front page! It's hard to keep up with the reviews but I do read through all of them. Thank you for the praise, suggestions, and also the many criticisms that help me make improvements to the game.

= = = LATEST UPDATE 1.5.8 = = =
- Fixes to Medal system. (Medals still pending NG approval)
- Fixed some spelling errors and inconsistencies in equip description
- Increased efficiency of JHP ammo stun to 75%.

= = = PREVIOUS UPDATE 1.5.7 = = =
- Some save system bugfixes. Again, saves are local to your PC, NOT your NG account.
- Added new ability for the Savior Halo that will help exploration.
- Medals created (Pending NG approval)

= = = GAME DESCRIPTION = = =
You command a team of 4 specialists infiltrating an AAHW cloning facility. You must retrieve vials of DNA that the Auditor is using to create stronger agents. You must shoot and stab your way through masses of ever improving enemies. Collect weapons, armor, and items to help you reach the Auditor's tower and complete your mission.

= = = GAME PLAY TIPS = = =
- This is a turn-based strategy game that uses AP (Action Point) mechanics. Fans of Fallout 1 and 2 will be familiar with the game-play.
- In each battle, try to defeat all enemies as quickly as possible. Each of your characters has a limited amount of AP that are used to move and attack.
- Moving horizontally, forward or backward, takes 1 AP per tile. Moving vertically needs no AP.
- If you have no more AP, press the End Turn button. You'll to regain some AP but your enemies will have a chance to attack you.
- There is no "Level-up" System. Your HP, damage, AP, and other stats are determined by the armor and weapons.
- Some equipment have special abilities which are displayed in their description. Figuring out how best to use them, is entirely on you.
- You cannot change your character's classes. Learn to optimize their use.
- Armor is subtle and relies partly on luck, but it can be invaluable in many situations.
- Certain enemies drop items which will help out in difficult battles.
- You don't NEED to explore the entire facility... but it does help quite a bit.
- If you lose a man, the Higher Powers will resurrect him after you finish the battle. Assuming, of course, that you win.
- Save often. Srsly.

= = = ABOUT THIS GAME (it's quite lengthy) = = =
The inspiration for this game was the "kill-team" dynamic between Deimos and Sanford, as opposed to the "one-man army" feel of Hank. I want players to feel like they're constantly upgrading and improving their team. I've also tried to replicate the weapons and armor used in the Madness series as Krinkels portrayed them, then added a twist of my own art-style. I had planned this for Madness Day 2010, but it my estimated 2 week production time became 2 months. Still, I'm quite happy with the result and hope you enjoy it!

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = = =
MUSIC CREDITS: http://revolverroach.newg rounds.com/news/post/5306 60
HINT SHEET: http://revolverroach.newg rounds.com/news/post/5303 3

Reviews


ryphosryphos

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 26, 2010

Awesome!

It's really a shame you didn't make it in time for madness day, if you had this much completed and had submitted it, I'm sure you would've won first place. This was fucking amazing!


revolverroach responds:

yeah, on Madness Day I only had about 50% of the game done. even though i didn't get a chance to join the contest, i would've hated releasing a half-baked game.

i'm not sure about winning first place because i really liked the Madness Premeditation game. but i'm pumped that you think i would've won. thanks a ton!


slipknot283slipknot283

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 26, 2010

very well done

i would love to see a second one of this :D but with greater detail and better animation with lots more weapons and armors this really deserved front page


People find this review helpful!
revolverroach responds:

well if enough people like the game i'll eventually get front page. i hope this gets nominated into the madness collection. in any case, i'm 80% sure that i'll make a second one and for sure if i do, i'll make a butt-ton more gear. thanks for the review!


SlayerBlade128SlayerBlade128

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 26, 2010

Mega badass

Haven't played a stragty turn based game that is this good. and FF tactic games suck. kinda stinks we got no badges to earn. but do hope to see a few more updates of improvement.


revolverroach responds:

working on the badges thing. this is my first time programming with the newgrounds system so it might take a while but definitely will happen :D thanks for the review!


cyberkidejcyberkidej

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 26, 2010

cool

wow people have long comments but all of i can say to this so verry awsome keep up the good work ^^



VoltageVoltage

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 26, 2010

this is the longest game I have ever played on NG

this is the best madness game ever made. I say this because it's exactly what Madness can be like with multiple characters. I think the game needs a lot of polishing, but that's what sequels are for, right?

personally there were 4 major concerns that turned me off. one of them being the uselessness of gaining more weapons that you already have that you aren't using anymore; it's a pain getting 2 of the same coat that I had when I started the game off

another one was the repetition of battle. while it wasn't really a problem, it got aggravating, clearing room after room that I already cleared five times before. a possible chance of battle when entering the room of cleared enemies? for instance, the more progress you gain, the less likelihood for enemies spawning

the third issue was that these characters had their perks and all, but CQC x 2, assault, and heavy were pretty limiting (though possibilities were unlimited). the ability to change each characters class or choose classes like that from old RPGs (like choosing a heavy, sniper, assault, scout, CQC, medic, to get an idea) would of been sweet.

my final concern is that the game is good, it feels like there should be an upgrade system of some sort. it's cool the characters upgrade through discovery of powerups (as it makes the player look for stuff), upgrading HP, AP, or damage would be a sweet addition

I have been in the madness community for well over 5 years and I will give you my stamp of approval. I'd also like to offer my animation/graphic services should you want to make a sequel, because I'd like to see one.

I also beat this before the game had any fixes, so my review might be old and void :P


People find this review helpful!