Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 25, 2010 | 2:27 AM EDT
  • Daily 5th Place October 26, 2010
  • Weekly 4th Place October 27, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Progression 5 Points Unlock your first door or elevator
Redemption 5 Points Slay the Savior
Renovation 5 Points Turn a wall into a door
Consternation 10 Points Kill the Clown
Completion 25 Points Finish the game
Exploration 50 Points Finish the game with 100% map explored
Ammunition Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Information Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Medication Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Collection Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

= = = NEWS = = =
- Version 1.5.8 approved by NG admin on 11/02/10!
- Medals approved by NG on 11/09/10! Hurrah!
- If I haven't replied to your PM's, it's simply because I'm busy at work on the sequel to this game. Hopefully I can put in as many features that you guys suggested. Happy gaming everyone!
- Someone pointed out that there are fan-made walkthrough vids for this game on Youtube. If you really need help and the guide isn't helping, search "Madness Retaliation" in Youtube.com.

= = = IF YOU'RE STUCK = = =
... CHECK THE GUIDE AT http://revolverroach.newg rounds.com/news/post/5313 85
(remove the spaces. sorry, HTML links aren't allowed in NG descriptions)

= = = BIG THANKS = = =
...to all the Newgrounds players, voters, and reviewers who helped this game get daily 5th, weekly 4th, and front page! It's hard to keep up with the reviews but I do read through all of them. Thank you for the praise, suggestions, and also the many criticisms that help me make improvements to the game.

= = = LATEST UPDATE 1.5.8 = = =
- Fixes to Medal system. (Medals still pending NG approval)
- Fixed some spelling errors and inconsistencies in equip description
- Increased efficiency of JHP ammo stun to 75%.

= = = PREVIOUS UPDATE 1.5.7 = = =
- Some save system bugfixes. Again, saves are local to your PC, NOT your NG account.
- Added new ability for the Savior Halo that will help exploration.
- Medals created (Pending NG approval)

= = = GAME DESCRIPTION = = =
You command a team of 4 specialists infiltrating an AAHW cloning facility. You must retrieve vials of DNA that the Auditor is using to create stronger agents. You must shoot and stab your way through masses of ever improving enemies. Collect weapons, armor, and items to help you reach the Auditor's tower and complete your mission.

= = = GAME PLAY TIPS = = =
- This is a turn-based strategy game that uses AP (Action Point) mechanics. Fans of Fallout 1 and 2 will be familiar with the game-play.
- In each battle, try to defeat all enemies as quickly as possible. Each of your characters has a limited amount of AP that are used to move and attack.
- Moving horizontally, forward or backward, takes 1 AP per tile. Moving vertically needs no AP.
- If you have no more AP, press the End Turn button. You'll to regain some AP but your enemies will have a chance to attack you.
- There is no "Level-up" System. Your HP, damage, AP, and other stats are determined by the armor and weapons.
- Some equipment have special abilities which are displayed in their description. Figuring out how best to use them, is entirely on you.
- You cannot change your character's classes. Learn to optimize their use.
- Armor is subtle and relies partly on luck, but it can be invaluable in many situations.
- Certain enemies drop items which will help out in difficult battles.
- You don't NEED to explore the entire facility... but it does help quite a bit.
- If you lose a man, the Higher Powers will resurrect him after you finish the battle. Assuming, of course, that you win.
- Save often. Srsly.

= = = ABOUT THIS GAME (it's quite lengthy) = = =
The inspiration for this game was the "kill-team" dynamic between Deimos and Sanford, as opposed to the "one-man army" feel of Hank. I want players to feel like they're constantly upgrading and improving their team. I've also tried to replicate the weapons and armor used in the Madness series as Krinkels portrayed them, then added a twist of my own art-style. I had planned this for Madness Day 2010, but it my estimated 2 week production time became 2 months. Still, I'm quite happy with the result and hope you enjoy it!

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = = =
MUSIC CREDITS: http://revolverroach.newg rounds.com/news/post/5306 60
HINT SHEET: http://revolverroach.newg rounds.com/news/post/5303 3

Reviews


SmallellsSmallells

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 29, 2010

It's rare for me to give ten stars

This is one of the best flash games I've played, period. Let's get started!
Advantages:
-The difficulty level is perfect. It's hard but not impossible. Coming from someone who usually hates strategy games, it's great for trial and error and doesn't necessarily require a brilliant amount of thinking.
- The gameplay is always fresh and different. You add new things every now and then and don't let it stagnate.
- Bugs and glitches are few and far apart.
- The weapons and armor changes are brilliant. Doing it on the spot means that if you fail constantly, you get a chance to try something else.
- Everything works well together. For example (to avoid spoilers) the item you get after you kill the clown has an excellent use in the final battle.
- Great artwork, very madness-esque without feeling like a rip-off.
- Great animation too, nothing is ever clunky

Disadvantages
- The amount of times enemies respawn is annoying. By all means keep the base mechanic in there, but perhaps reduce how many you encounter in the early rooms as you unlock more rooms (if you catch my drift xD)
- Try having more powerful base weapons - pistols, smg's, etc. Machine guns dominated the end game and I felt slightly disappointed by that.
- Moving up and down in combat is annoying if a character is above you. Perhaps assign a button that ignores characters such as SHIFT so it goes straight to the floor.

I feel like working on the disadvantages would just sand off an otherwise perfect game. Well done. I hope to see more, even non-madness related. Please. I need more. NOW! =D


People find this review helpful!

gwatkin2010gwatkin2010

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 29, 2010

just brilliant

this is by far the best rpg i have played on newgrounds its very well made and i hope you make a sequel cos this game is just so much fun



megadestroyerKmegadestroyerK

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 29, 2010

yayyay

best ever game



Rivalx7Rivalx7

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 29, 2010

Madness Retaliation 2?

this game was so dope, i really hope you keep up the good work in the 2nd one



AeshiAeshi

Rated 4 / 5 stars October 29, 2010

Good, but could be great

My only real complaints are:

a) The game seems to rely more on luck rather than skill since the armour thing is a % to block (a % of damage reduction would probably work better)

b) The enemies seem to get a bit cheap later on (like the zombies, who can turn your whole sqaud in to mush in one turn if they kill even one person)

c) The enemies seem to become partially immue to Flashbangs and Smoke Grenades as you carry on, as I have seen stunned enemies move and seen enemies hit while under the influence of smoke grenades.

However in the end these are small issues in an otherwise good game.