Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 25, 2010 | 2:27 AM EDT
  • Daily 5th Place October 26, 2010
  • Weekly 4th Place October 27, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Progression 5 Points Unlock your first door or elevator
Redemption 5 Points Slay the Savior
Renovation 5 Points Turn a wall into a door
Consternation 10 Points Kill the Clown
Completion 25 Points Finish the game
Exploration 50 Points Finish the game with 100% map explored
Ammunition Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Information Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Medication Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Collection Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

= = = NEWS = = =
- Version 1.5.8 approved by NG admin on 11/02/10!
- Medals approved by NG on 11/09/10! Hurrah!
- If I haven't replied to your PM's, it's simply because I'm busy at work on the sequel to this game. Hopefully I can put in as many features that you guys suggested. Happy gaming everyone!
- Someone pointed out that there are fan-made walkthrough vids for this game on Youtube. If you really need help and the guide isn't helping, search "Madness Retaliation" in Youtube.com.

= = = IF YOU'RE STUCK = = =
... CHECK THE GUIDE AT http://revolverroach.newg rounds.com/news/post/5313 85
(remove the spaces. sorry, HTML links aren't allowed in NG descriptions)

= = = BIG THANKS = = =
...to all the Newgrounds players, voters, and reviewers who helped this game get daily 5th, weekly 4th, and front page! It's hard to keep up with the reviews but I do read through all of them. Thank you for the praise, suggestions, and also the many criticisms that help me make improvements to the game.

= = = LATEST UPDATE 1.5.8 = = =
- Fixes to Medal system. (Medals still pending NG approval)
- Fixed some spelling errors and inconsistencies in equip description
- Increased efficiency of JHP ammo stun to 75%.

= = = PREVIOUS UPDATE 1.5.7 = = =
- Some save system bugfixes. Again, saves are local to your PC, NOT your NG account.
- Added new ability for the Savior Halo that will help exploration.
- Medals created (Pending NG approval)

= = = GAME DESCRIPTION = = =
You command a team of 4 specialists infiltrating an AAHW cloning facility. You must retrieve vials of DNA that the Auditor is using to create stronger agents. You must shoot and stab your way through masses of ever improving enemies. Collect weapons, armor, and items to help you reach the Auditor's tower and complete your mission.

= = = GAME PLAY TIPS = = =
- This is a turn-based strategy game that uses AP (Action Point) mechanics. Fans of Fallout 1 and 2 will be familiar with the game-play.
- In each battle, try to defeat all enemies as quickly as possible. Each of your characters has a limited amount of AP that are used to move and attack.
- Moving horizontally, forward or backward, takes 1 AP per tile. Moving vertically needs no AP.
- If you have no more AP, press the End Turn button. You'll to regain some AP but your enemies will have a chance to attack you.
- There is no "Level-up" System. Your HP, damage, AP, and other stats are determined by the armor and weapons.
- Some equipment have special abilities which are displayed in their description. Figuring out how best to use them, is entirely on you.
- You cannot change your character's classes. Learn to optimize their use.
- Armor is subtle and relies partly on luck, but it can be invaluable in many situations.
- Certain enemies drop items which will help out in difficult battles.
- You don't NEED to explore the entire facility... but it does help quite a bit.
- If you lose a man, the Higher Powers will resurrect him after you finish the battle. Assuming, of course, that you win.
- Save often. Srsly.

= = = ABOUT THIS GAME (it's quite lengthy) = = =
The inspiration for this game was the "kill-team" dynamic between Deimos and Sanford, as opposed to the "one-man army" feel of Hank. I want players to feel like they're constantly upgrading and improving their team. I've also tried to replicate the weapons and armor used in the Madness series as Krinkels portrayed them, then added a twist of my own art-style. I had planned this for Madness Day 2010, but it my estimated 2 week production time became 2 months. Still, I'm quite happy with the result and hope you enjoy it!

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = = =
MUSIC CREDITS: http://revolverroach.newg rounds.com/news/post/5306 60
HINT SHEET: http://revolverroach.newg rounds.com/news/post/5303 3

Reviews


OmegaHunterOmegaHunter

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 31, 2010

Omega's Thoughts

I must say, this has to be one of the best Madness games I've yet to play. I normally like to give at least one good thing and one constructive thing with each review I write, but there really is no bad thing I can think of as I play.

The world is very immersive, the controls are simple but still don't interfere with the complexity of the turn-based RPG strategies. The AP system works very well and there's lots of weapons and armor to make the best of each character. The graphics hail closely to the world Krinkels has masterfully created, and the music and sounds work with the graphics in unison.

If there's one constructive thing I could leave with, it is perhaps to allow players to choose the classes of the four characters. This would let the player experiment with both bad and good methods of character strategy. But then again, two CQBs, an Assault, and a Heavy is not a bad combination. Still, that one flaw dulls in comparison with how much time and effort was put into this game, as it is clearly shown with each room I clear.

Excellent job.



deathshadow805deathshadow805

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 31, 2010

100000/10 stars but a glitch

if u throw allot of smokes a theres 1 enemy lleft u will miss 90% of the tim no matter what



WOPRWOPR

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 31, 2010

by far one of the best

this is hands down by far one of the best flash games I've ever played, sure it's simple, sure it doesn't have the "best" graphics

but it's a great job of madness, the AP system was very well done (and I'm glad to see it again [Fallout 1 fan])

there are many many items

there's many secrets

honestly if I could compare this to other games I'd have to say someone took Fallout and threw it into an industrialized version of Symphony of the Night

My only complaint is the ending maze

Yes I understand it's supposed to be challenging but you could at least throw in some hints and stuff, or quiz us about the references you made to fine the right path (and you used a LOT of references)



MA0MAN45MA0MAN45

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 31, 2010

YEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEAAAAHHHH

IIIIIIIIIIIIIIGHT DIS GAME........ IS KANG LMAO XDDDDDDD WHOOOOOOOOOO



VentusEagleVentusEagle

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 31, 2010

Man this is hella good.

The end, the boss fight, the game system is simply genius. the weps, armors, descriptions (BEST SHORTS EVER; #@7^$ING SHORTS; %$#&ING MONOCLES) are hilarious, and the storyline plot is very epic too.

I personally liked the fighting system and the rewards and loot lockers XD
it's madness+rpq and the result is not a piece of shit, and that is AWESOME.

I didn't give 10/10 cuz of a few reasons... I think the PID is too random... the facility is pretty dam big... uhh.. more elevators plz? and only 2 smgs? oh...and I think deimo's gear and sanford's give a little too less hp. And dun get me started on the bugs...

BUUUUUUUUUUUUUUT! OVERALL! IT'S AN EPIC GAME! THOSE REASONS UP THERE HAVE NOTHING TO DO WITH THE GAME'S AWESOMENESS (maybe a bit) BUT STILL, GO MAKE SEQUEL AND MAKE EVERYONE HAPPY AGAIN!!!!

Tips/Suggestions:
hook=good cuz it stuns and pulls ppl close for ur cqb to savior-sword.
clown-hit him wit a cqb...always
medkits-give them to mainly ur heavy and cqbs, the assualt isn't THAT importnat (i think)
that's it

cuz i gtg...


People find this review helpful!