Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 25, 2010 | 2:27 AM EDT
  • Daily 5th Place October 26, 2010
  • Weekly 4th Place October 27, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Progression 5 Points Unlock your first door or elevator
Redemption 5 Points Slay the Savior
Renovation 5 Points Turn a wall into a door
Consternation 10 Points Kill the Clown
Completion 25 Points Finish the game
Exploration 50 Points Finish the game with 100% map explored
Ammunition Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Information Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Medication Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Collection Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

= = = NEWS = = =
- Version 1.5.8 approved by NG admin on 11/02/10!
- Medals approved by NG on 11/09/10! Hurrah!
- If I haven't replied to your PM's, it's simply because I'm busy at work on the sequel to this game. Hopefully I can put in as many features that you guys suggested. Happy gaming everyone!
- Someone pointed out that there are fan-made walkthrough vids for this game on Youtube. If you really need help and the guide isn't helping, search "Madness Retaliation" in Youtube.com.

= = = IF YOU'RE STUCK = = =
... CHECK THE GUIDE AT http://revolverroach.newg rounds.com/news/post/5313 85
(remove the spaces. sorry, HTML links aren't allowed in NG descriptions)

= = = BIG THANKS = = =
...to all the Newgrounds players, voters, and reviewers who helped this game get daily 5th, weekly 4th, and front page! It's hard to keep up with the reviews but I do read through all of them. Thank you for the praise, suggestions, and also the many criticisms that help me make improvements to the game.

= = = LATEST UPDATE 1.5.8 = = =
- Fixes to Medal system. (Medals still pending NG approval)
- Fixed some spelling errors and inconsistencies in equip description
- Increased efficiency of JHP ammo stun to 75%.

= = = PREVIOUS UPDATE 1.5.7 = = =
- Some save system bugfixes. Again, saves are local to your PC, NOT your NG account.
- Added new ability for the Savior Halo that will help exploration.
- Medals created (Pending NG approval)

= = = GAME DESCRIPTION = = =
You command a team of 4 specialists infiltrating an AAHW cloning facility. You must retrieve vials of DNA that the Auditor is using to create stronger agents. You must shoot and stab your way through masses of ever improving enemies. Collect weapons, armor, and items to help you reach the Auditor's tower and complete your mission.

= = = GAME PLAY TIPS = = =
- This is a turn-based strategy game that uses AP (Action Point) mechanics. Fans of Fallout 1 and 2 will be familiar with the game-play.
- In each battle, try to defeat all enemies as quickly as possible. Each of your characters has a limited amount of AP that are used to move and attack.
- Moving horizontally, forward or backward, takes 1 AP per tile. Moving vertically needs no AP.
- If you have no more AP, press the End Turn button. You'll to regain some AP but your enemies will have a chance to attack you.
- There is no "Level-up" System. Your HP, damage, AP, and other stats are determined by the armor and weapons.
- Some equipment have special abilities which are displayed in their description. Figuring out how best to use them, is entirely on you.
- You cannot change your character's classes. Learn to optimize their use.
- Armor is subtle and relies partly on luck, but it can be invaluable in many situations.
- Certain enemies drop items which will help out in difficult battles.
- You don't NEED to explore the entire facility... but it does help quite a bit.
- If you lose a man, the Higher Powers will resurrect him after you finish the battle. Assuming, of course, that you win.
- Save often. Srsly.

= = = ABOUT THIS GAME (it's quite lengthy) = = =
The inspiration for this game was the "kill-team" dynamic between Deimos and Sanford, as opposed to the "one-man army" feel of Hank. I want players to feel like they're constantly upgrading and improving their team. I've also tried to replicate the weapons and armor used in the Madness series as Krinkels portrayed them, then added a twist of my own art-style. I had planned this for Madness Day 2010, but it my estimated 2 week production time became 2 months. Still, I'm quite happy with the result and hope you enjoy it!

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = = =
MUSIC CREDITS: http://revolverroach.newg rounds.com/news/post/5306 60
HINT SHEET: http://revolverroach.newg rounds.com/news/post/5303 3

Reviews


ProtOtypEeeProtOtypEee

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 1, 2011

nice

i really love this game


People find this review helpful!

PeridianPeridian

Rated 4 / 5 stars January 31, 2011

Incredible, but too "worky" (epic review)

This review will be big. Take your time to read it. = )

All I'm gonna say now is just my opinion on the game. Take or reject the suggestions as you will.

I'll start with a few tips and things I thought could improve:
- A XP system could improve and smooth out the flow of the game. I felt that the "frustration/fun" compass changes too much too quickly.

- If there was someway to organize a formation for your characters, you could provide the possibility for strategies to be created, improving gameplay.

- The Access Level symbols on the map could either disappear or fade out a bit, once you've unlocked them. It was kind of hard to tell wether I've had gone through some place or not, later in the game.

- The fights were the thing that turned me off the most. Not the gameplay, they were just too freaking many! Going anywhere was a pain, because I knew there'd be an army of enemies waiting to attack almost every room I passed by! And it got worse near Tricky, which is where I gave the game up. This is where a XP system would be most efficient: Those fights wouldn't a simple pain in the ass, you'd get something out of it. In my opinion, either the fight's quantity should be toned down or we should get something more out of them. Call me a pussy if you want, that's my opinion.

- Since the characters have numbers from 1 to 4 tagged on their little button on the top of the screen, why not make the characters selectable by the numbers on the number row or the number-pad of the keyboard? Think about it. ; P

- Sorry if I missed, but were there anything telling that walking between rooms heals you?

- I felt that a damage indicator jumping out after the damage was dealt was much lacking. If there was a "Missed" and a "Blocked", why not a red "5"?

- I admit that this one is out of my stupidity, but a marker on the map to which rooms you've passed by that had closed lockers would be a help for the more distracted people, like me, because of the above mentioned struggle of getting to places, amidst the fights you encounter.

- A pop-up window or something like it that enabled a faster and more certain comparison of stats between gears would be such a delight! = )

- The letter's font size could increase a little bit.

- The two instructions at the top of the screen could go away after a time of playing.

- The last thing I have to say (Yay!) is that, later in the game, you'll be taking a whole lot of crap you won't be using anymore along the way with you, because the best things you have are already being used. I feel like though this could be used for something else.

THAT ALL BEING SAAAAAAID, this game rocked my bottoms.

I clicked on it and one other game to play and I still didn't come around at playing the other game. It clutched me for some serious hours. Even made me lose sleep yesterday.

The graphics are excellent, the gameplay is engaging, the soundtrack is fantastic, the itens and their descriptions are great, the length of the game is good.

Overall, this is a game that deserves to be put in the "Madness" section.

Just the fights that pissed me off a bit.


People find this review helpful!

SvampfestSvampfest

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 31, 2011

One of the Best on Newgrounds

I have to say I was very surprised when i first started playing, I didn't think i would be playing it that long and now look almost 3-4 hours later and I'm writing a review!
Best game i have played in a long time. Very time consuming but it is so fun you lose track of time playing. I would love to see a sequel where maybe you get to choose your team types, more weapons,armor and such. Graphics are very well done and the animation is very fluid. I have to say THE BEST game i have played on newgrounds, hell I would even say this is better then some of the console games i have played lately. Again good job!



fishbeinbfishbeinb

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 30, 2011

I really love this game

Is great nice job



GodDemothGodDemoth

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 30, 2011

WOOOOHOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

I LOVED IT, replayed it 19 times, make the sequil fast. btw great armor