Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 16, 2010 | 6:16 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature October 17, 2010
  • Weekly 5th Place October 20, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

UPDATE: Daily Feature AND front page!!! Wow. This is my first one. Something I've been working at for a long time. Thanks everyone for the great feedback and votes!

Also, a few of the rather constructive critical reviews have pointed out that the "running" shot looked a bit off. So I have touched it up and made it a bit smoother. Thanks for the reviews everyone. Keep em' comin'. I love feedback.

Well, where to begin...

I came up with the idea for this project shortly after seeing "The Dark Knight". I thought it would be cool to show how Batman handles the fact that he's become a fugitive. This was supposed to be a three month project but took about six. I wanted to combine elements of "The Dark Knight" and "Batman: The Animated Series". I also bought a draw pad (finally) so I could really get the illustrations down. It was illustrating the city that was the hard part. I actually built a clay model of the city so I could get all the perspectives right. No easy task.

Just so everyone knows, there's a "Return to Menu" button in the bottom left corner of the screen while to movie is playing. Just in case you can't see it.

I'd also like to thank all of my voice actors for helping me with this project. I think they really added alot to it.

And one more thing. I do not own the rights to any of the music used in this movie, nor do I claim to. It's all primarily from Batman Begins and The Dark Knight.

Anyway, ENJOY!!!

-Matt Hunter

Reviews


Zero863Zero863

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 17, 2010

Wow

This animation was great, the lines, the music (Hans Zimmer anybody? BOOOOMMM) the animation at times was a little wonky, but it worked out in the end, as did the sound.

This is probably what christopher noland was thinking when he was told to do another batman, and hopefully he'll work off of that idea.

One problem, I didn't like the voice of Gordon. Not to be a jerk, but it didn't work well with his character, the dectective was great, but gordon, not so good.



LfanLfan

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 17, 2010

Great job...

Okay, this was simply amazing. The artwork was good, could have been better, but overall good. The voice acting was above and beyond what I had anticipated before watching this. I wasn't exactly sure what it was before looking at the "authors comments" part, but afterwards, it was pretty clear to me. I was very amazed when I saw Detective Bullock, it's nice to see some elements from the old show I grew up on, also interesting to see Commissioner Gordon's design based off the show design as well. I like the way you think out the possibilities of what happens to Batman after "The Dark Knight", just simply well thought out. This simply is the best fanfic animation I've ever seen, and I love your way of thinking about it, but I have to give this a 9/10 just because of the artwork. The running sequence lost it a bit for me, the legs need to move a bit further apart next time, so I hope you take that into consideration. If it weren't for the small animation bits, this is a 10/10. Other than that, keep up the good work, and always try to improve your art skills, no matter how well they may be. "No matter how good you are, there is always room for improvement." Great work, and keep it up. :)


People find this review helpful!

thom175thom175

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 17, 2010

Very great

It wasa direct seuel to "The Dark Knight" with a touch of the original animated series. Awesome man!!! It'd be great if you did more.



JakBaronKingJakBaronKing

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 17, 2010

You sir MUST finish this Please!

I question whether the next Batman will be just as good as Dark Knight, but Nolan has a way with making movies.

However your director's viewpoint is amazing as well.

I also like how you've brought back Detective Bollock from the Batman Animated series.

You've re-captured the beauty of this movie.

I always wondered how the Batman will re-inspire the faith in the people of Gotham.

Good animation and incredible voice acting!



JinsokuManJinsokuMan

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 17, 2010

Good stuff!

Gave you a 5, but a 9 mainly on your one flaw with sound effects, and I gotta say the stock footstep sound you used from Counter-Strike took me out of the experience. Bear in mind you don't always have to use sound to portray walking or running. You used the sound when the camera shot was pointing straight down and Bats was running across the rooftop to jump to the next building, and that honestly should have had no footstep sound accompanying that.

If you can re-upload this with some sort of different foot-step sound effect, or maybe make your own, I think it would seal the deal. Also, when Gordon was giving his monologue, it seemed like the VA was just reading along with no emotion. Just saying.

Otherwise, good, good stuff. I can definitely tell you used your clay-city model to good use, because those city shots were gorgeous. Work on some of the robotic animations, (Bats running in the end, looks like he had no joints), and you'll be kicking more ass!