Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 13, 2010 | 4:53 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 20, 2010
  • Daily Feature October 14, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Blunt Force Trauma 5 Points Do a 4 hits combo with zombies only
Hood Shaker 5 Points Knock an enemy off your hood by hitting the side walls
Flip Flop 10 Points Hit 16 enemies, alternating between zombie and soldier or vice versa
Gunslinger 10 Points Shoot an enemy off your hood with the pistol
Hydroficial Intelligence 10 Points Use a water jug to put off your burning engine
Meticulous 10 Points Kill 10 zombies at low speed
Don't Need Wheels 25 Points Drive 3 KM with all 4 tires blown
No Mercy 25 Points Hit 25 civilians
Quick Draw 25 Points Shoot a soldier while he's pointing his gun at you and before he shoots
Road Dominator 25 Points Hit 50 highway soldiers
Road Warrior 25 Points Defeat a helicopter
Wise Man 25 Points Avoid 10 mutated zombies
Close Encounters 50 Points Get all 5 enemy types off your hood
Nuke Watcher 50 Points Exit the city with at least 15 seconds to spare
Pinball 50 Points Do a 3 hits vehicle collision combo
Speed Racer 50 Points Drive 0.5 KM at maximum speed
Tank 50 Points Buy all the upgrades
Time To Spare 50 Points Reach up to 45 seconds bonus time in Dead On Time
Top Gun 50 Points Dodge 10 carpet bombings
Zombie Sniper 50 Points Do 30 zombie splatter hits
Dead On Time 100 Points Drive 10 KM in Dead On Time
Hell's Angel 100 Points Beat Highway To Hell
One Man Army 100 Points Drive 10 KM in Police State
Survivor 100 Points Beat The Great Escape

Author Comments

Hey people! SickDeathFiend, me and the rest of the team are very excited to bring you our first game: Road of the Dead!

Escape the quarantined city by driving through a highway filled with ravenous undead, carnage and chaos while the military tries to stop you!

With 4 game modes, 24 medals and up to 1000 newgrounds point (OMFG!!!!), we hope you greatly enjoy Road of the Dead!

PERFORMANCE NOTE:
Keep in mind the Q key to toggle the quality for people with slower computer, it is a pretty graphic intensive game :D
The newgrounds Dimming Lights and Popup options can also help get better performance.

Leave comments and tell us what you think of it!
Cheers!

Reviews


haiz123321haiz123321

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars October 20, 2010

Good but still has a few flaws.

This game is pretty awesome, it's what I've been looking for and what I like, driving a car and running over zombies. However, there are a few things that in my opinion, has to be changed.
1) Too many stages. For a game like this, I think 5 stages would be plenty if we consider the distance for each map.
2) The indicator below the speedmeter is slightly inaccurate. I'd have to be about at a tenth of the next bar before they saved my checkpoint at the beginning of a new area.
3) The point system should be adjust to give slightly more RP.
4) A choice for game difficulty would be good.
5) There should be an indicator for the driver's health so that we know how close we are to dying.
6) Helicopter's gatling should be tweaked a little. The chopper was pretty far to my right yet his bullets managed to hit me.
7) Perception requires some time to get used to but is an intresting concept and useful once mastered.
8) There was a minor bug(I think) when the jets attempted to bomb me. They missed as I dodged but hit a car in the process and they reported that the bombs hit, I'm aboslutely positive that I did not get hit as the car sent me further away from the bombing path.
9) We don't get the description of the final upgrades. I don't know if it was bugged or intended but there should be some form of information on the final upgrades we bought.
10) The military radio intreraction or however you call it is very good. It's just like what you would expect in a movie. Very realistic as the general slowly loses his nerves and messes up on commanding the units. The impersonations of military generals were very well done.
11) Variations of common infected would be good, kinda like Left 4 Dead.

Overall, this is a very good game but the downfall is that it gets repetitive very quickly and requires some time to complete it due to numerous retries.


People find this review helpful!

BobmcbobatronBobmcbobatron

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars April 24, 2011

pretty good. definate room for improvement

when the game lags the car over steers like none other.



OmegaTails1OmegaTails1

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars October 23, 2010

its alright but...

it gets a little repetitive, the soldiers only shoot at your character, and you cant wash the blood off the dashboard with water like you can the windshield.



Satarix2010Satarix2010

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars November 3, 2010

Great game.

The story and gameplay are nearly flawless, but the voice acting could use work. Every time I die, I wince at the main character's monologue. "It's gonna be total chaos out there. I'll need mad skills to make it." The voice of the man in the shop also sounds different from the voice when driving. The police scanner gets repetitive, too. I heard "I'm behind cover, target is approaching" "Use the element of surprise" literally three times in a row. With some fine-tuning, this game would be amazing. Good work.



misterwiggglesmisterwigggles

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars October 17, 2011

I really love this game.

But it's also really loud. I'd wish if there was a volume control, more then on or off.


Evil-Dog responds:

Your computer has a volume control.