Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 13, 2010 | 4:53 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 20, 2010
  • Daily Feature October 14, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Blunt Force Trauma 5 Points Do a 4 hits combo with zombies only
Hood Shaker 5 Points Knock an enemy off your hood by hitting the side walls
Flip Flop 10 Points Hit 16 enemies, alternating between zombie and soldier or vice versa
Gunslinger 10 Points Shoot an enemy off your hood with the pistol
Hydroficial Intelligence 10 Points Use a water jug to put off your burning engine
Meticulous 10 Points Kill 10 zombies at low speed
Don't Need Wheels 25 Points Drive 3 KM with all 4 tires blown
No Mercy 25 Points Hit 25 civilians
Quick Draw 25 Points Shoot a soldier while he's pointing his gun at you and before he shoots
Road Dominator 25 Points Hit 50 highway soldiers
Road Warrior 25 Points Defeat a helicopter
Wise Man 25 Points Avoid 10 mutated zombies
Close Encounters 50 Points Get all 5 enemy types off your hood
Nuke Watcher 50 Points Exit the city with at least 15 seconds to spare
Pinball 50 Points Do a 3 hits vehicle collision combo
Speed Racer 50 Points Drive 0.5 KM at maximum speed
Tank 50 Points Buy all the upgrades
Time To Spare 50 Points Reach up to 45 seconds bonus time in Dead On Time
Top Gun 50 Points Dodge 10 carpet bombings
Zombie Sniper 50 Points Do 30 zombie splatter hits
Dead On Time 100 Points Drive 10 KM in Dead On Time
Hell's Angel 100 Points Beat Highway To Hell
One Man Army 100 Points Drive 10 KM in Police State
Survivor 100 Points Beat The Great Escape

Author Comments

Hey people! SickDeathFiend, me and the rest of the team are very excited to bring you our first game: Road of the Dead!

Escape the quarantined city by driving through a highway filled with ravenous undead, carnage and chaos while the military tries to stop you!

With 4 game modes, 24 medals and up to 1000 newgrounds point (OMFG!!!!), we hope you greatly enjoy Road of the Dead!

PERFORMANCE NOTE:
Keep in mind the Q key to toggle the quality for people with slower computer, it is a pretty graphic intensive game :D
The newgrounds Dimming Lights and Popup options can also help get better performance.

Leave comments and tell us what you think of it!
Cheers!

Reviews


PoloPancakePoloPancake

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars October 30, 2010

Meh.

It's just a nice 2.5D game. I didn't really enjoy it as much, it could've had more features and stuff.



snoodstersnoodster

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars November 2, 2010

Meh

I really wasnt that impressed with this game at all i found it really boring, but as far as flash games go its fairly good :D new areas wopuld be much appreciated i think this game could have been alot better than it is.



c052794c052794

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars July 1, 2012

tons more upgrades



Genesis11Genesis11

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars October 15, 2010

This game is fail but it's still good

What the hell... You go 150 and the speeds aren't even close to real...
You go 150 kmh for 5 mins and go only 2 km ...What the FUCK...

That aside... :D Great game, I love zombie apocalypses, car upgrades = awesome



GungaDGungaD

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars October 25, 2010

Good, Not Great

While I did enjoy playing this game, after a while I realized that everything about the game is good. But I really can't say anything about the game is great. To run down a few elements:

Story: bad-ass good guy tries to flee a zombie apocalypse. OK, I understand that the whole "zombie" genre doesn't lend itself to much originality. The part of the story that kept me interested was hearing how the miliary reacted to the zombie hordes. Additional elements would have made it more interesting.

Controls: pretty fluid once you add a few upgrades. I did have a glitch with the default controls. I couldn't use the handbrake and drift left. This problem corrected itself when I customized the controls.

Graphics. Not bad, not great. Very little variety to the backgrounds, the NPCs, and objects on the road.

Gameplay: It's pretty simple: dodge some objects, hit other objects. But there were only six basic objects: zombie, civilians, vehicles, military, copters, and spikes. The sensation of speed wasn't there. When my game speedo said I was doing 150, it didn't seem much different than going 80. There isn't a noticeable difference in the car's handling at higher speeds. Anyone who has driven a car knows it is more sensitive to steering at higher speeds than lower speeds. The distance travelled didn't seem proportionate to the actual speed and play time. And the game only offers a straight road. What city in the US has a road this straight? Des Moines? With buildings aflame and crumbling in the background, how is it there isn't damage to the roadway?

Sound: the voice effects were well done, as were the sound effects.

At the end of the day, what makes this game playable is the upgrades. Remove those elements and this is a well-made driving game that offers nothing new or special. After seeing the file size, high score and reading a few reviews I was expecting something a lot better. I liked it, but it's not a game I would bookmark and come back to.


People find this review helpful!