Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 13, 2010 | 4:53 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 20, 2010
  • Daily Feature October 14, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Blunt Force Trauma 5 Points Do a 4 hits combo with zombies only
Hood Shaker 5 Points Knock an enemy off your hood by hitting the side walls
Flip Flop 10 Points Hit 16 enemies, alternating between zombie and soldier or vice versa
Gunslinger 10 Points Shoot an enemy off your hood with the pistol
Hydroficial Intelligence 10 Points Use a water jug to put off your burning engine
Meticulous 10 Points Kill 10 zombies at low speed
Don't Need Wheels 25 Points Drive 3 KM with all 4 tires blown
No Mercy 25 Points Hit 25 civilians
Quick Draw 25 Points Shoot a soldier while he's pointing his gun at you and before he shoots
Road Dominator 25 Points Hit 50 highway soldiers
Road Warrior 25 Points Defeat a helicopter
Wise Man 25 Points Avoid 10 mutated zombies
Close Encounters 50 Points Get all 5 enemy types off your hood
Nuke Watcher 50 Points Exit the city with at least 15 seconds to spare
Pinball 50 Points Do a 3 hits vehicle collision combo
Speed Racer 50 Points Drive 0.5 KM at maximum speed
Tank 50 Points Buy all the upgrades
Time To Spare 50 Points Reach up to 45 seconds bonus time in Dead On Time
Top Gun 50 Points Dodge 10 carpet bombings
Zombie Sniper 50 Points Do 30 zombie splatter hits
Dead On Time 100 Points Drive 10 KM in Dead On Time
Hell's Angel 100 Points Beat Highway To Hell
One Man Army 100 Points Drive 10 KM in Police State
Survivor 100 Points Beat The Great Escape

Author Comments

Hey people! SickDeathFiend, me and the rest of the team are very excited to bring you our first game: Road of the Dead!

Escape the quarantined city by driving through a highway filled with ravenous undead, carnage and chaos while the military tries to stop you!

With 4 game modes, 24 medals and up to 1000 newgrounds point (OMFG!!!!), we hope you greatly enjoy Road of the Dead!

PERFORMANCE NOTE:
Keep in mind the Q key to toggle the quality for people with slower computer, it is a pretty graphic intensive game :D
The newgrounds Dimming Lights and Popup options can also help get better performance.

Leave comments and tell us what you think of it!
Cheers!

Reviews


hellgman666hellgman666

Rated 4 / 5 stars October 16, 2010

about that heli

that STEEL PSYCHOMOCOPTER is kicking my ass but it is good



shteelmanshteelman

Rated 4 / 5 stars October 5, 2011

Great flash game, 20mb+ size justified (just)

I was thinkin' this better be good while I was waiting 5 hours for the 24mb to download. I was not disappointed. Deservedly ranked on newgrounds, you have an atmospheric, addictive, well animated zombie escape classic here.

Its annoying that you "crash" and get shoved to the other side of the road even when you seemingly just miss a wreckage as you drive past, and I think the helicopters are a little too hard to beat - you need a little luck to beat the harder levels but it is doable.
Also sometimes the road is completely blocked by zombies and cars and shit and its competely impossible to get past without taking massive damage. On the other hand it makes the game more enjoyable that it is hard, though I think it could be easier in parts. Please do make a sequel - maybe you could add parts where you can run around and kill zombies as well as drive and perhaps have a birds eye driving view mode like GTA, which would be awesome. As good as it is I think you can add even more to it.


People find this review helpful!

GentleDementiaGentleDementia

Rated 4 / 5 stars October 16, 2010

Helicopters...

Great game, just two issues.

No matter what the upgrade level, the windshield is tissue paper, I have never had it last even 10% of a level.
Helicopters, god-damned helicopters, please make them move faster, it always boils down to two options, sit there for ten seconds of elephant-killing bullets to get them to hit a sign, or dodge, then move into the sign only to watch them lazily drift over and miss the sign, shooting you all the while.

Other than those two frustrations, it's an amazing game. love the graphics and gameplay both.


People find this review helpful!

Hec182Hec182

Rated 4 / 5 stars October 30, 2010

Really great game

it has nice graphics, the gameplay is addictive and tha ability to upgrade your car is a nice touch.
the only reason im giving it an 8 is because of the music, sorry but the epic choir doesnt work so well for me in a zombie game



michal1996michal1996

Rated 4 / 5 stars November 6, 2011

how many is road

great escape have "levels"road

how many is that