Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 13, 2010 | 4:53 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 20, 2010
  • Daily Feature October 14, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Blunt Force Trauma 5 Points Do a 4 hits combo with zombies only
Hood Shaker 5 Points Knock an enemy off your hood by hitting the side walls
Flip Flop 10 Points Hit 16 enemies, alternating between zombie and soldier or vice versa
Gunslinger 10 Points Shoot an enemy off your hood with the pistol
Hydroficial Intelligence 10 Points Use a water jug to put off your burning engine
Meticulous 10 Points Kill 10 zombies at low speed
Don't Need Wheels 25 Points Drive 3 KM with all 4 tires blown
No Mercy 25 Points Hit 25 civilians
Quick Draw 25 Points Shoot a soldier while he's pointing his gun at you and before he shoots
Road Dominator 25 Points Hit 50 highway soldiers
Road Warrior 25 Points Defeat a helicopter
Wise Man 25 Points Avoid 10 mutated zombies
Close Encounters 50 Points Get all 5 enemy types off your hood
Nuke Watcher 50 Points Exit the city with at least 15 seconds to spare
Pinball 50 Points Do a 3 hits vehicle collision combo
Speed Racer 50 Points Drive 0.5 KM at maximum speed
Tank 50 Points Buy all the upgrades
Time To Spare 50 Points Reach up to 45 seconds bonus time in Dead On Time
Top Gun 50 Points Dodge 10 carpet bombings
Zombie Sniper 50 Points Do 30 zombie splatter hits
Dead On Time 100 Points Drive 10 KM in Dead On Time
Hell's Angel 100 Points Beat Highway To Hell
One Man Army 100 Points Drive 10 KM in Police State
Survivor 100 Points Beat The Great Escape

Author Comments

Hey people! SickDeathFiend, me and the rest of the team are very excited to bring you our first game: Road of the Dead!

Escape the quarantined city by driving through a highway filled with ravenous undead, carnage and chaos while the military tries to stop you!

With 4 game modes, 24 medals and up to 1000 newgrounds point (OMFG!!!!), we hope you greatly enjoy Road of the Dead!

PERFORMANCE NOTE:
Keep in mind the Q key to toggle the quality for people with slower computer, it is a pretty graphic intensive game :D
The newgrounds Dimming Lights and Popup options can also help get better performance.

Leave comments and tell us what you think of it!
Cheers!

Reviews


thesuperbthesuperb

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 16, 2010

Great!

It is a great game that is increddibly (sorry for bad spelling) addicting!
I went to my computer to play WOW but play this instead!(for hours)



blindforesightblindforesight

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 7, 2010

Addictive, fast paced, challenging, great story.

So yeah. When you think of Zombies and "Escaping the City" most folks don't jump into a '09 Ford Mustang with a battering ram spot welded on the front.

But what would have been one of the first things I wouldn't have chosen to do if the Z-contagion ever broke-out (akin to say, going to a hospital), you have managed to turn into a ridiculously fantastic game.

This is well animated, well coded (excellent hit boxes--I love *just* clipping a Zed or trooper and getting the hit), has clever use of sound effects and the car and items (windshield wipers? but jeez do they ever get used--especially if there isn't a water barrel around), deploys frantic and kinetic physics which feel spot-on... I could just go on and on and on.

By far the best aspect of this game is the surprisingly fascinating characters, whom you only HEAR. The use of the radio to listen in on the military's conversations with each other, about you the player, and about the scale of the apocalypse grounds this flash game in a heady, fast paced environment. It's addictive, challenging, and a highly entertaining story.

This game is HARD. I constantly wanted the windshield last a longer. I found myself punching it out once it got too cracked to see through clearly. And really that just makes it more challenging. Ugh-and dodging pedestrians. I started from the beginning when I was about 2/3rds through, to earn more RPs, and killed 10? by accident and it subtracted 1500 RPs! I probably played this for 3+ hours before I managed to actually beat it.

There's not much more I can say. If I had any request, I'd appreciate the ability to control the level of the sound volumes (not just on or off), but I know that's kind of hard to do. That and "Hell-Fire" sounds like he's on meth... :D

All in all, fantastic. I'm probably going to fail out this semester from playing this game.

Cheers,

blindforesight

(Sequel?)


People find this review helpful!

boredomkills7boredomkills7

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 9, 2011

Very Lovely.

I'm addicted to smashing into zombis! I still havn't had a military guy hop on my hood yet, but I'm trying!



FUNNYJACK1FUNNYJACK1

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 17, 2010

lol!

best hit and drive zombie game i have ever played nice work dude :-)



JimiHendrixFSJimiHendrixFS

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 22, 2011

@planet15

go under a highway sign on the left or right, the helicopter should hit it, and you need to do it 3 times to take it down.


People find this review helpful!