Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 13, 2010 | 4:53 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 20, 2010
  • Daily Feature October 14, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Blunt Force Trauma 5 Points Do a 4 hits combo with zombies only
Hood Shaker 5 Points Knock an enemy off your hood by hitting the side walls
Flip Flop 10 Points Hit 16 enemies, alternating between zombie and soldier or vice versa
Gunslinger 10 Points Shoot an enemy off your hood with the pistol
Hydroficial Intelligence 10 Points Use a water jug to put off your burning engine
Meticulous 10 Points Kill 10 zombies at low speed
Don't Need Wheels 25 Points Drive 3 KM with all 4 tires blown
No Mercy 25 Points Hit 25 civilians
Quick Draw 25 Points Shoot a soldier while he's pointing his gun at you and before he shoots
Road Dominator 25 Points Hit 50 highway soldiers
Road Warrior 25 Points Defeat a helicopter
Wise Man 25 Points Avoid 10 mutated zombies
Close Encounters 50 Points Get all 5 enemy types off your hood
Nuke Watcher 50 Points Exit the city with at least 15 seconds to spare
Pinball 50 Points Do a 3 hits vehicle collision combo
Speed Racer 50 Points Drive 0.5 KM at maximum speed
Tank 50 Points Buy all the upgrades
Time To Spare 50 Points Reach up to 45 seconds bonus time in Dead On Time
Top Gun 50 Points Dodge 10 carpet bombings
Zombie Sniper 50 Points Do 30 zombie splatter hits
Dead On Time 100 Points Drive 10 KM in Dead On Time
Hell's Angel 100 Points Beat Highway To Hell
One Man Army 100 Points Drive 10 KM in Police State
Survivor 100 Points Beat The Great Escape

Author Comments

Hey people! SickDeathFiend, me and the rest of the team are very excited to bring you our first game: Road of the Dead!

Escape the quarantined city by driving through a highway filled with ravenous undead, carnage and chaos while the military tries to stop you!

With 4 game modes, 24 medals and up to 1000 newgrounds point (OMFG!!!!), we hope you greatly enjoy Road of the Dead!

PERFORMANCE NOTE:
Keep in mind the Q key to toggle the quality for people with slower computer, it is a pretty graphic intensive game :D
The newgrounds Dimming Lights and Popup options can also help get better performance.

Leave comments and tell us what you think of it!
Cheers!

Reviews


IronRaptorIronRaptor

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 14, 2010

No words can properly describe my feelings

This game is awesome. I want more!



tigerace2tigerace2

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 14, 2010

Suggestion

Hey can make the gun aim with the mouse so that it will be awesome P.S. Good game


People find this review helpful!

RXDimARXDimA

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 14, 2010

Great game!

The 3D-ish look is awesome! But a little note for you, tougher tires means less grip(in real life), so it would be nice if you made us to choose between different kinds of tires...

facebook.com/topic.php?uid=1755335177 10&topic=12423



elvira3elvira3

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 14, 2010

One of the best games

One of the best games.
Game graphics and animation, storyline and ... zombies!

Now do not disturb, I play.



FatKidWitAJetPakFatKidWitAJetPak

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 14, 2010

Incredible!

The chaos that protrudes from my screen as I smash my car through zombies, avoid people running around screaming in terror, and slide through carpet bombs is an eyegasm of pure adrenaline and an example of the finest audio mixing and programming I have ever seen on Newgrounds. From the very start, I was amazed at the 3D actionscript engine created, and enjoyed the frame by frame PNG imaging that SickDeathFiend used for optimal graphic quality. I have always enjoyed his work ever since I discovered him in 2007. He deserves this recognition.

I was amazed at the cluster of sound clips you had in here. There were so many sounds going on at once! Explosions, screaming, bombing, helicopter flying, smashing, crashing, grinding, shooting, zombie moaning, and the constant radio gargle of the military. I enjoyed all of the voice acting on here, and thought to myself of how wonderful this team is. The music is just HARDCORE. It makes me want to go as fast as possible, getting zombie combos along the way. My favorite voice would have to be the all star general that takes over near the end of the game.

As for plot, it isn't anything special or original, but it is simply entertaining and being generically entertaining isn't anything bad. I thought it was enjoyable, and was glad that you didn't include any cheesy lines. I liked it when a soldier said, "We will be there in... 5 minutes..." as soon as my atomic bomb counter started for 2 minutes.

I very much enjoyed the difficulty of this game. It is rare to find something that is so difficult, but so possible at the same time. There is SO much chaos that I wonder to myself, how in the hell did I just beat that? Pro tip: BUY ALL THE UPGRADES. :)

Grand job guys. Faved, 10/10!


People find this review helpful!