Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 13, 2010 | 4:53 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 20, 2010
  • Daily Feature October 14, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Blunt Force Trauma 5 Points Do a 4 hits combo with zombies only
Hood Shaker 5 Points Knock an enemy off your hood by hitting the side walls
Flip Flop 10 Points Hit 16 enemies, alternating between zombie and soldier or vice versa
Gunslinger 10 Points Shoot an enemy off your hood with the pistol
Hydroficial Intelligence 10 Points Use a water jug to put off your burning engine
Meticulous 10 Points Kill 10 zombies at low speed
Don't Need Wheels 25 Points Drive 3 KM with all 4 tires blown
No Mercy 25 Points Hit 25 civilians
Quick Draw 25 Points Shoot a soldier while he's pointing his gun at you and before he shoots
Road Dominator 25 Points Hit 50 highway soldiers
Road Warrior 25 Points Defeat a helicopter
Wise Man 25 Points Avoid 10 mutated zombies
Close Encounters 50 Points Get all 5 enemy types off your hood
Nuke Watcher 50 Points Exit the city with at least 15 seconds to spare
Pinball 50 Points Do a 3 hits vehicle collision combo
Speed Racer 50 Points Drive 0.5 KM at maximum speed
Tank 50 Points Buy all the upgrades
Time To Spare 50 Points Reach up to 45 seconds bonus time in Dead On Time
Top Gun 50 Points Dodge 10 carpet bombings
Zombie Sniper 50 Points Do 30 zombie splatter hits
Dead On Time 100 Points Drive 10 KM in Dead On Time
Hell's Angel 100 Points Beat Highway To Hell
One Man Army 100 Points Drive 10 KM in Police State
Survivor 100 Points Beat The Great Escape

Author Comments

Hey people! SickDeathFiend, me and the rest of the team are very excited to bring you our first game: Road of the Dead!

Escape the quarantined city by driving through a highway filled with ravenous undead, carnage and chaos while the military tries to stop you!

With 4 game modes, 24 medals and up to 1000 newgrounds point (OMFG!!!!), we hope you greatly enjoy Road of the Dead!

PERFORMANCE NOTE:
Keep in mind the Q key to toggle the quality for people with slower computer, it is a pretty graphic intensive game :D
The newgrounds Dimming Lights and Popup options can also help get better performance.

Leave comments and tell us what you think of it!
Cheers!

Reviews


PaddedSandalsPaddedSandals

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 14, 2010

Outstanding

This game is a truly extraordinary achievement and easily one of the most immersive I have ever played. What impressed me most was the strenght of the narritive and surprizing ammount of characterisation from such a small quantity of dialogue. Give yourselves a pat on the back for this one.



skychaseskychase

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 14, 2010

All my 10

belong to this



beakerboybeakerboy

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 14, 2010

very fun

wow. AWESOME...



russman087russman087

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 14, 2010

Like playing a movie

Awesome job, there can never be too many zombies!



SFS1313SFS1313

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 14, 2010

Simply awesome!

I signed up for newgrounds based on this submission. And as a huge zombie fan, this is by far the best zombie game I've played on the internet. A few suggestions though (if there is to be a sequel)...

1: A damage meter: I wasn't sure how much power was left in the car. Sometimes I'd hit a bus and explode. Other times, I'd hit two busses, a truck, get shot at, then finally the car would burst into flames. A damage meter would help out a lot.

2: Hit detection: Sometimes when driving, I thought I'd have enough room between cars, but would ultimately hit them and pinball all over the road.

3: More blue barrels! I kept bursting into flames with no way to put out the fire!

4: Hit combos. Maybe a little more time before they ran out. I could only get up to 9 in a row. Every time I was nearing 10, the combo would run out.

Those are only small suggestions, in no way to they take away from the game as it stands now. Just makes it harder on a guy like me who's none too great when it comes to games.

Keep up the awesome work!


Lots of people find this review helpful!