Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 13, 2010 | 4:53 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 20, 2010
  • Daily Feature October 14, 2010

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Blunt Force Trauma 5 Points Do a 4 hits combo with zombies only
Hood Shaker 5 Points Knock an enemy off your hood by hitting the side walls
Flip Flop 10 Points Hit 16 enemies, alternating between zombie and soldier or vice versa
Gunslinger 10 Points Shoot an enemy off your hood with the pistol
Hydroficial Intelligence 10 Points Use a water jug to put off your burning engine
Meticulous 10 Points Kill 10 zombies at low speed
Don't Need Wheels 25 Points Drive 3 KM with all 4 tires blown
No Mercy 25 Points Hit 25 civilians
Quick Draw 25 Points Shoot a soldier while he's pointing his gun at you and before he shoots
Road Dominator 25 Points Hit 50 highway soldiers
Road Warrior 25 Points Defeat a helicopter
Wise Man 25 Points Avoid 10 mutated zombies
Close Encounters 50 Points Get all 5 enemy types off your hood
Nuke Watcher 50 Points Exit the city with at least 15 seconds to spare
Pinball 50 Points Do a 3 hits vehicle collision combo
Speed Racer 50 Points Drive 0.5 KM at maximum speed
Tank 50 Points Buy all the upgrades
Time To Spare 50 Points Reach up to 45 seconds bonus time in Dead On Time
Top Gun 50 Points Dodge 10 carpet bombings
Zombie Sniper 50 Points Do 30 zombie splatter hits
Dead On Time 100 Points Drive 10 KM in Dead On Time
Hell's Angel 100 Points Beat Highway To Hell
One Man Army 100 Points Drive 10 KM in Police State
Survivor 100 Points Beat The Great Escape

Author Comments

Hey people! SickDeathFiend, me and the rest of the team are very excited to bring you our first game: Road of the Dead!

Escape the quarantined city by driving through a highway filled with ravenous undead, carnage and chaos while the military tries to stop you!

With 4 game modes, 24 medals and up to 1000 newgrounds point (OMFG!!!!), we hope you greatly enjoy Road of the Dead!

PERFORMANCE NOTE:
Keep in mind the Q key to toggle the quality for people with slower computer, it is a pretty graphic intensive game :D
The newgrounds Dimming Lights and Popup options can also help get better performance.

Leave comments and tell us what you think of it!
Cheers!

Reviews


MANIFOLDMANIFOLD

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 16, 2010

Very Well Done!

The 3D effect was very well executed. The artwork was spot on. The voice acting was superb, and it really made the game. Without it, the game could have gotten boring. The general's voice was especially well done. He brought in a simple, but great story element as the game progressed. The music was well chosen for this too. Great excitement level.
Possible suggestions: If you do make another one, how about giving the option to take other routes, with different objectives? One person suggested picking up pedestrians. I thought that was a good idea and could add to the story. Also, more breaks could be added to add more cinematic elements. Over all, very well done. Keep up the good work.


People find this review helpful!

ThatGuyOnABikeThatGuyOnABike

Rated 4 / 5 stars October 16, 2010

almost perfect

this so great, the action, music, the idea is brilliant.

but i'd like to see more difference from town to town, it can get a bit boring after a while.

you have to play for ages to get rp forall but the first tier upgrades, and though it gets easier with the upgrades purchased already, it's just too repetative after a while.

the soldiers really piss me off, i guess they are meant to but after you've lost the windsheild it very hard to play for long after with so many shots coming at you. there should be a way to gain some health back, for example stopping by a ambulance, jumping out and grabbing supplies.

have you considered perhaps having it go dark for a while every hour or so, driving with lights, an extra thing to upgrade.

like someone siad below, at times even when going very slowly it is hard to avoid obstacles becuase you think you've driven past but then collide.
i don't know if you trid to do something with clipping obstacles and head on collisiions but both seem to b the same which is a bit dumb, clipping an obstacle should cuase some damage and cuase you to swerve a bit but not so much. there should be a reverse (but i wouldn't add one just improve turning) becuase at times i get stuck with no option but to collide. the trouble is the cars turning is crap, it only goes side to side but can't actually turn.

you should maybe try a birds eye veiw but at a slight agnle, sort of looking over the car, and add controls to turn a bit better.

pedestrians are so hard to avoid and the horn doesn't help much, when they here it they should actually jump n' roll to side , i would, rather then try to run to the side only to get clipped by the side.

otherwise great great game, should be on Xbox (with more controls and stuff of course). love the feel of the game and the way the zombies splatter.

oh but one more thing, ramming the side wall doesn't shake zombies or soldiers off??????? you have to either shoot your own screen (?) or collide with something. why can't you drive side to side very fast and fences and some of the "medium" weight obstacles don't work (why not?!) braking very harshly definatly should work but doesn't...

yeh like i said almost perfect.



tacobroskitacobroski

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 16, 2010

Great job!!

He's like marcus fenix, but with a car...



FreewilFreewil

Rated 4 / 5 stars October 16, 2010

First impressed, later upset...

I found it was a great flash game actually, no matter the gameplay, music, sound effect, voice. (10/10)
However, I was pissed off for the SUPERhelicopter in Chinatown (hard mode) becoz it's nearly impossible to beat it without getting hit, i was always in very danger after defeating the heli. then thanks to the soldiers for they will kill me right the way. I wonder how can a person with average luck can beat the hard mode (-2) :(


People find this review helpful!

Origin21Origin21

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 16, 2010

Absolutely Amazing!

Besides all the great things that have already been said, I think this game has the best audio quality of any flash game I have ever seen!


People find this review helpful!