Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 13, 2010 | 4:53 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 20, 2010
  • Daily Feature October 14, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Blunt Force Trauma 5 Points Do a 4 hits combo with zombies only
Hood Shaker 5 Points Knock an enemy off your hood by hitting the side walls
Flip Flop 10 Points Hit 16 enemies, alternating between zombie and soldier or vice versa
Gunslinger 10 Points Shoot an enemy off your hood with the pistol
Hydroficial Intelligence 10 Points Use a water jug to put off your burning engine
Meticulous 10 Points Kill 10 zombies at low speed
Don't Need Wheels 25 Points Drive 3 KM with all 4 tires blown
No Mercy 25 Points Hit 25 civilians
Quick Draw 25 Points Shoot a soldier while he's pointing his gun at you and before he shoots
Road Dominator 25 Points Hit 50 highway soldiers
Road Warrior 25 Points Defeat a helicopter
Wise Man 25 Points Avoid 10 mutated zombies
Close Encounters 50 Points Get all 5 enemy types off your hood
Nuke Watcher 50 Points Exit the city with at least 15 seconds to spare
Pinball 50 Points Do a 3 hits vehicle collision combo
Speed Racer 50 Points Drive 0.5 KM at maximum speed
Tank 50 Points Buy all the upgrades
Time To Spare 50 Points Reach up to 45 seconds bonus time in Dead On Time
Top Gun 50 Points Dodge 10 carpet bombings
Zombie Sniper 50 Points Do 30 zombie splatter hits
Dead On Time 100 Points Drive 10 KM in Dead On Time
Hell's Angel 100 Points Beat Highway To Hell
One Man Army 100 Points Drive 10 KM in Police State
Survivor 100 Points Beat The Great Escape

Author Comments

Hey people! SickDeathFiend, me and the rest of the team are very excited to bring you our first game: Road of the Dead!

Escape the quarantined city by driving through a highway filled with ravenous undead, carnage and chaos while the military tries to stop you!

With 4 game modes, 24 medals and up to 1000 newgrounds point (OMFG!!!!), we hope you greatly enjoy Road of the Dead!

PERFORMANCE NOTE:
Keep in mind the Q key to toggle the quality for people with slower computer, it is a pretty graphic intensive game :D
The newgrounds Dimming Lights and Popup options can also help get better performance.

Leave comments and tell us what you think of it!
Cheers!

Reviews


OpusFreilingOpusFreiling

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars November 15, 2010

Awesome game, hope to see more like this!

Haha, did anyone else think the female military dispatcher's voice was Nagase's from Ace Combat 4? Damn near accurate! Kept waiting for her to be the one to talk about the helicopter instead.
I think you should consider using this same 'engine' in another game, do you remember an ancient Win95 game called Megarace for instance? Yeeeah. A game where for whatever reason the military was after you with their own cars, APCs, and tanks, and you could upgrade weapons too...just a fun thought there. Could also flip it and have you as the military and being chased by a drug cartel or something ala a first-person Spy Hunter. Just a couple fun ideas.
Good to see I am not the only one who is having trouble saving, I believe for whatever reason the game is possibly saving itself into cache instead of wherever flash savgames typically go, you may want to look at this for the next game. I don't mind it for this however, since it only takes about 25 minutes of zombie shooting to force it back to maximum. Easy yet boring 'exploit.' Another thing you may consider, it's easy to get stuck with an unkillable helicopter due to random car or other hazard placement in front of street signs. Another way to kill helis would be appreciated, perhaps knocking barrels at it (6 hits as opposed to 3) I once had to pass up 6 signs in a row due to heavy car placement, and being on fire yet with high health. It brought me down low enough that a couple pop-out soldiers took me out farther down the line.

Finally: 2 New mode ideas, Race To Freedom. I don't know how hard it would be to implement a second car, but it works like this. Both of you are invincible, however being shot, bombed, or running into other cars aside from your rival slow you down, and you're trying to get the best time+most points by escaping the city before the CPU driver. Since you can't be killed, wheel repairs would spawn in place of water barrels when you're on or near rims, the way wing repairs on star fox spawn when you have lost a wing.

Second idea: I R Legend: Military replaced by death cultists, you've discovered a cure for the virus and are delivering vials of the cure to military dropoff points every few km, receiving a new batch each time. Hitting cars, feasters, or landmines not only damages your car, but has a chance to break vials. The more vials delivered, the more points, car gets repaired a tiny bit at each stop. Missing a stop incurs a penalty and causes more zombies to spawn on the next route.


People find this review helpful!

PrinnyMiggyPrinnyMiggy

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 15, 2010

Nice one

Really cool game , hope you make more.



somthineyaknowsomthineyaknow

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 15, 2010

awesome!!!

bets game ive played on newgrounds yet


People find this review helpful!

KloudmuttKloudmutt

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 15, 2010

Awesome!!!

i love zombie games, and this one has won a place among my favs with the last stand series, the animation is great, it has a very nice story and a great gameplay, music is also great along with the voice cast.

it migth be a little bit repetitive but as you advance the military forces will get serious, the route will be cramped with obstacles and zombies, i say the las pert of the game really brings out the escense, with hundreds of zombies, obstacles everywhere and heavy fire, you will have to run to safety on flames, with no windshield and drenched in blood



bannon88bannon88

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 14, 2010

SPLAT!

its so awsome just to ram the zombies and watch the explode on the windshield.