Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 13, 2010 | 4:53 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 20, 2010
  • Daily Feature October 14, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Blunt Force Trauma 5 Points Do a 4 hits combo with zombies only
Hood Shaker 5 Points Knock an enemy off your hood by hitting the side walls
Flip Flop 10 Points Hit 16 enemies, alternating between zombie and soldier or vice versa
Gunslinger 10 Points Shoot an enemy off your hood with the pistol
Hydroficial Intelligence 10 Points Use a water jug to put off your burning engine
Meticulous 10 Points Kill 10 zombies at low speed
Don't Need Wheels 25 Points Drive 3 KM with all 4 tires blown
No Mercy 25 Points Hit 25 civilians
Quick Draw 25 Points Shoot a soldier while he's pointing his gun at you and before he shoots
Road Dominator 25 Points Hit 50 highway soldiers
Road Warrior 25 Points Defeat a helicopter
Wise Man 25 Points Avoid 10 mutated zombies
Close Encounters 50 Points Get all 5 enemy types off your hood
Nuke Watcher 50 Points Exit the city with at least 15 seconds to spare
Pinball 50 Points Do a 3 hits vehicle collision combo
Speed Racer 50 Points Drive 0.5 KM at maximum speed
Tank 50 Points Buy all the upgrades
Time To Spare 50 Points Reach up to 45 seconds bonus time in Dead On Time
Top Gun 50 Points Dodge 10 carpet bombings
Zombie Sniper 50 Points Do 30 zombie splatter hits
Dead On Time 100 Points Drive 10 KM in Dead On Time
Hell's Angel 100 Points Beat Highway To Hell
One Man Army 100 Points Drive 10 KM in Police State
Survivor 100 Points Beat The Great Escape

Author Comments

Hey people! SickDeathFiend, me and the rest of the team are very excited to bring you our first game: Road of the Dead!

Escape the quarantined city by driving through a highway filled with ravenous undead, carnage and chaos while the military tries to stop you!

With 4 game modes, 24 medals and up to 1000 newgrounds point (OMFG!!!!), we hope you greatly enjoy Road of the Dead!

PERFORMANCE NOTE:
Keep in mind the Q key to toggle the quality for people with slower computer, it is a pretty graphic intensive game :D
The newgrounds Dimming Lights and Popup options can also help get better performance.

Leave comments and tell us what you think of it!
Cheers!

Reviews


TheOnlyDibbsTheOnlyDibbs

Rated 3 / 5 stars December 16, 2010

It could be better!

Keep working on these games. I had a great time playing it, but firstly I was hardly able to upgrade my vehicle even through the first two parts of the game, and steering was just... well, pathetic. You can hardly navigate through the hordes and the soldiers' ammunition is basically unavoidable, but kudos to the reality of it. Work on the movement ability of the vehicle, make upgrades a LITTLE bit less stingy and you may have absolute gold, my friend.


People find this review helpful!
Evil-Dog responds:

My guess is you're not using the handbrake (space)


TheSlainDreamerTheSlainDreamer

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 16, 2010

Great game!

Nice story and character, i also loved the graphics and music. The voice acting was perfect. It just needs more and cheaper upgrades and the controls were kinda crappy.


People find this review helpful!

CodeBloodRedCodeBloodRed

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars December 15, 2010

Pretty cool but..

The hitboxes for the vehicle are too "wide" you can't squeeze your car in between gaps you normally would be able to. It's almost as if you've never driven a car before. Fix it?


People find this review helpful!

Playfordeath001Playfordeath001

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 15, 2010

Damn.

I wish I could give you more than 10 bro, you deserve it..


People find this review helpful!

Critical-TortoiseCritical-Tortoise

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 15, 2010

Best Zombie/Driving/Dodging/Time trial game EVAR.

What's not to love about this game? It's so original and innovative!

Pros:
-Great soundtrack
-Highly detailed graphics
-Cool hazards
-Useful upgrades
-IT HAS AN ENDGAME.
-Cool game modes
-Replayability
-Nice story
-Immersive display (AKA your dashboard and windshield)
-No lag! (At least on my piece-of crap comp. It only has like 2 gigs RAM, and it's bogged down with tons of services and processes. Ugh.)

Cons:
-Kinda crappy controls, I would have made it so that it's arrow keys to steer, Z X C V and B for everything else but pausing.
-Too hard at some points.
-There needs to be some way to repair your car in-game. I know that isn't exactly realistic, but it would make the game way better. And it's already a 10 out of 10.
-Less civilians. Srsly.
-Give us some kind of upgrade for our weapon besides ammo. For instance, upbrage that fist to a pocket knife so that we can attack zombies without ammo (but it would still take a while to kill them.), or give us a sub-machine gun. Furthermore, we should also be able to stick our hand out the car window and fire at hazards. in addition to firing at things on our hood. Also, can't I fire around my windshield?? Like, stick my left arm outside, bend it right when it's past the windshield and THEN fire instead of having to break it? The tradeoff could be, say, a chance of missing. Or, better yet, give us the ability to get a passenger that acts like a gunner. I mean, I realize the point of the game is to not have to shoot in the first place, but still....
-Possibly have more checkpoints? Okay, I understand that the game should be challenging, but that could be solved by having to types of checkpoints: Major checkpoints, where you caan, say, get more ammo (but not repair your car, or vice-versa) and save your game, and then minor checkpoints (of which there are more) where you simply respawn if you die, but can't do anything else.
-Changes in scenery would be a bit nice. I mean other than the gradual destruction of the buildings in the background, of course.

But yeah, great game!


Lots of people find this review helpful!