Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 9, 2010 | 5:55 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 13, 2010
  • Daily Feature October 10, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Bad Doggy 5 Points Race the wolf... and lose
Between a Rock and a Hard Rock 5 Points Get crushed
Big Brother 5 Points Rescue Gretel
Free Bird 5 Points Teach hansel how to fly
Frosty Impaler 5 Points Be too greedy
Got Wood? 5 Points Suffer the stickman's wrath
Gut Busting 5 Points Step on the trap
Here Doggy! 5 Points Give a dog a bone
Metal Meal 5 Points Get Hansel to eat the scissors
Never Hit an Old Man 5 Points Disrespect your elders
Revenge 5 Points Beat a dead horse
Saviour 5 Points Keep both dinner guests alive
Sensory Overload 5 Points Reveal the bridge
Slayer 5 Points Slay the beast
Snip Snip 5 Points Get cut
Spiked 5 Points Get the pit death
Ssssssurprise! 5 Points Try and cross the swamp without Hansel
Swan Dive 5 Points Go for a swim
Weather Master 5 Points Solve the weather puzzle
Where's My Arm? 5 Points Pet the teddy
A Trusty Hat 10 Points Give Rufus back his hat
A Woman's Tears 10 Points Free Emma
Till Part 3... 10 Points Complete the game
Grimm Master 2 25 Points Beat the game after getting all the deaths
Birdie Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Headless Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Liberal Animation Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Sorceress Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Your Head Essplode! Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Holy Shhhhhh Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

1 million views!! Thanks everyone!

Secret Medals 2 and 5 are NOT working right now, they will be soon!

Thank you everyone for the wonderful comments and feedback! Still trying to crush the rest of the bugs, but they should be all fixed soon!

Ok so its FINALLY HERE. After a solid year of work, we happily present to you part 2 of Gretel and Hansel.
Much longer and more involved than the first game, this took our blood sweat and tears for many sleepless nights.

Very special thanks to Tom and the Newgrounds crew for sponsorship and support during this very trying week as we made the changes necessary to launch.

Thanks to Jess Cron, our new music maestro. He composed all of the new music for the game, and I'll be the first to say how amazing it all is. Also thanks to Mike Rudolph for our wonderful theme music.

Controls are the same as Part One, use the arrow keys or the ASDW keys to move around, mouse to click and use your inventory items. Also the game saves automatically so don't worry about having to do it all in one sitting.

Being a massive game I'm sure there are still plenty of bugs i've missed. I know for a fact one achievement isn't working properly. Please let me know when you find them and i'll squash them ASAP. All other comments are appreciated as well. Enjoy!

Makopudding and Team Gretel

walkthroughs can be found here:

Part 1:

http://makopudding.newgro unds.com/news/post/525345

(remove the space in the link)

Part 2:

http://makopudding.newgro unds.com/news/post/525360

(remove the space in the link)

Reviews


beiabeia

Rated 4 / 5 stars October 20, 2010

NOOOOOO!!!!

I LOVE THIS GAME but damn i can't finish it cuz i can't give the lady that mirror....this is sooooooooo painfull -_-



BlazerconzBlazerconz

Rated 4 / 5 stars January 3, 2011

???

there's a problem, I can't give the mirror to the woman cause the inventry is in the way



Image01Image01

Rated 4 / 5 stars May 5, 2011

Dark and fun and lots

I enjoyed playing the first Gretel and Hansel despite the controls being difficult and the game being short so I was glad to see a 2nd part is so much better.

One criticism is that it's a bit glitchy, I wondered off to the corner of the screen in the swamp and it was then that I couldn't get the character back on the screen although I could still click things.

This was a pain in the ass because it meant restarting all over again and I'm lazy.



ForteGSForteGS

Rated 4 / 5 stars October 23, 2010

Great game.

I've just got one problem, really:
Items disappear after being used for the last *required* time.

This means that if I wanted to 'give the dog a bone', for example, but had already gotten the arrow, I could not--because since I got the arrow, I don't have the torch, and that means I can't get the bone.
Additionally, the game autosaves, which means it just saved a game in which I can't do what I had in mind. Incidentally, this caused me to panic after killing the 'beast' (I hadn't been killed by it yet) and hit the menu button to see if I could reset before the game saved. It didn't work, but it DID cost me the medal that I would've gotten for doing so.



ClebsClebs

Rated 4 / 5 stars January 8, 2011

Won't stop Moving!

Hey, i don't know if this happens for anyone else, but I keep losing control of Gretel.

What I mean is she is won't stop walking in a certain direction whether I move her or not. This leads to her walking into walls/traps etc and I can't stop it. Is there a way to stop this? I keep having to start again and I've tried at least 12 times now. It's such a shame because I really want to finish the game.

Apart from that I think the game is wonderful. It's engaging, atmospheric and the artwork is beautiful!