Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 9, 2010 | 5:55 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 13, 2010
  • Daily Feature October 10, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Bad Doggy 5 Points Race the wolf... and lose
Between a Rock and a Hard Rock 5 Points Get crushed
Big Brother 5 Points Rescue Gretel
Free Bird 5 Points Teach hansel how to fly
Frosty Impaler 5 Points Be too greedy
Got Wood? 5 Points Suffer the stickman's wrath
Gut Busting 5 Points Step on the trap
Here Doggy! 5 Points Give a dog a bone
Metal Meal 5 Points Get Hansel to eat the scissors
Never Hit an Old Man 5 Points Disrespect your elders
Revenge 5 Points Beat a dead horse
Saviour 5 Points Keep both dinner guests alive
Sensory Overload 5 Points Reveal the bridge
Slayer 5 Points Slay the beast
Snip Snip 5 Points Get cut
Spiked 5 Points Get the pit death
Ssssssurprise! 5 Points Try and cross the swamp without Hansel
Swan Dive 5 Points Go for a swim
Weather Master 5 Points Solve the weather puzzle
Where's My Arm? 5 Points Pet the teddy
A Trusty Hat 10 Points Give Rufus back his hat
A Woman's Tears 10 Points Free Emma
Till Part 3... 10 Points Complete the game
Grimm Master 2 25 Points Beat the game after getting all the deaths
Birdie Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Headless Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Liberal Animation Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Sorceress Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Your Head Essplode! Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Holy Shhhhhh Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

1 million views!! Thanks everyone!

Secret Medals 2 and 5 are NOT working right now, they will be soon!

Thank you everyone for the wonderful comments and feedback! Still trying to crush the rest of the bugs, but they should be all fixed soon!

Ok so its FINALLY HERE. After a solid year of work, we happily present to you part 2 of Gretel and Hansel.
Much longer and more involved than the first game, this took our blood sweat and tears for many sleepless nights.

Very special thanks to Tom and the Newgrounds crew for sponsorship and support during this very trying week as we made the changes necessary to launch.

Thanks to Jess Cron, our new music maestro. He composed all of the new music for the game, and I'll be the first to say how amazing it all is. Also thanks to Mike Rudolph for our wonderful theme music.

Controls are the same as Part One, use the arrow keys or the ASDW keys to move around, mouse to click and use your inventory items. Also the game saves automatically so don't worry about having to do it all in one sitting.

Being a massive game I'm sure there are still plenty of bugs i've missed. I know for a fact one achievement isn't working properly. Please let me know when you find them and i'll squash them ASAP. All other comments are appreciated as well. Enjoy!

Makopudding and Team Gretel

walkthroughs can be found here:

Part 1:

http://makopudding.newgro unds.com/news/post/525345

(remove the space in the link)

Part 2:

http://makopudding.newgro unds.com/news/post/525360

(remove the space in the link)

Reviews


RAproductionsRAproductions

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 13, 2010

Love <3

Great art. challenging.
Lovely.



EnnuisEnnuis

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 13, 2010

All of what you liked about Part 1, except more.

This is a sequel as it should be. Still retaining the gorgeous-yet-eerie art style and music, the game is almost as enjoyable just to look at and listen to as it is to play. I loved the unique designs of the fairies and the Stick Man, in particular. The deaths are just as gory and creative, and as before, they don't hinder the game play. An improvement to this over its predecessor is that it saves your game and the deaths you've discovered, so getting the Grimm Reaper 2 medal isn't as much of a trial.
Details that I liked in this latest part are first, the addition of the map. With a game this size and the necessity of having to go back and forth between different places, being able to open the map and click where to go was very useful.
I also liked how there is a portion where you actually don't play as Gretel. It's a nice change of pace, and it's nice to see Hansel working to help Gretel for a change. I felt it really showed and supported that sibling bond they share.
Lastly, I really liked the inclusion of the face-stealing spirits and the use of the glasses to review memories. Specifically, the scene that plays after Emma is freed is beautifully portrayed.
Speaking of trial, a number of the puzzles in the game are, as before, trial and error. This is all well and good when there's a reaction to when you do something right or when there's something in the game that gives a subtle hint as to what needs to be done. While certain extra puzzles for side achievements can be more esoteric, a puzzle like the one by the white eye-covered tree should give a bit more of a hint, even if it's a slight discoloration in the roots that changes back to its default state when something goes wrong.
Besides that, given the size of the game, there will be some bugs. After leaving the Stick Man's house, I found myself frozen at the left side of the screen, unable to move. A similar freezing also occurred in the room of the Ice Witch. Thankfully, these problems can be fixed with a simple refresh with it loading where you left off. You may be in a different location (I usually loaded at the crossroads where the bunny is located), but all acquired items should still be there.
To conclude, regardless of sometimes irksome puzzles and touchy glitches, this is well worth the wait and the minor criticism I have presented. It's a wonderful continuation from Gretel and Hansel 1, and if Part 3 is even on par with this latest addition, I will be hard-pressed to find a game or series of its kind better than this one.


People find this review helpful!

semiderangedparrotsemiderangedparrot

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 13, 2010

Are you trying to give us nightmares?

What a cruel yet beautiful world your mind is!


People find this review helpful!

thegirlwthecatearsthegirlwthecatears

Rated 0 / 5 stars October 13, 2010

WOW!

amazing game :D
very original and challenging, and also a bit scary :O
i love the music! any chance i can buy/download the soundtrack for the game?



deathandsequinsdeathandsequins

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 13, 2010

Great game

Difficult at first, but really addictive once you get the hang of it. Better than the original, and the music is great too.