Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 1, 2010 | 2:49 AM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 6, 2010
  • Review Crew Pick October 6, 2010
  • Daily Feature October 2, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Larry
    Larry The Little Freakin' Knight!

Author Comments

After 4 months of hard work, voice acting, story boarding, animating, and refining, with a helpful team of friends at hand, I bring you the second installment of the LARRY series!

We are now introduced to several new and important characters, and reunite with some recognizable ones too!

Thanks go to:
Zach Striefel - Sound Effects
David Orr - Music
Shad Brooks - Writing Assistance
Tom Fulp - Awesome Support

A heck of a lot of hard work, thought and sweat went into this so my only sincere hope is that you watch and enjoy! thanks!

-Jazza

Reviews


ProfoundAntProfoundAnt

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 1, 2010

wow

I was just gonna say it was amazing but after jameslee03 that just sounds pretty underwhelming


People find this review helpful!
Jazza responds:

I know, right? I'm still blushing! Lol. Thanks for the score :)


pordingospordingos

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 1, 2010

Well...............................SCHME

This is the best flash animation I've seen in my entire LIFE!!!!!!This is the best series on Newgrounds!!!Also,HOW on earth do you do ALL of these voices???!!!!!I saw the Youtube videos too(Yeah,I also enjoy watching others voice act)and I was surprised of the Youtubers!Don't they watch the most awesome series in the world??!!



JamesLeeJamesLee

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 1, 2010

Just freaking awesome.

Jazza, I knew this was going to be great, but it really exceeded my expectations on all fronts: art, story, humor, acting, music. Each area was really well polished, and everything just worked.

Structurally, each scene did feel like a small film in itself, but it did flow quite nicely and for quite a long animation, the pacing was great all throughout. The small action pieces (which were very dynamic) gave nice breaks between the comedy.

One thing that really stands out to me is how alive the characters feel. It's such a difficult thing to achieve (even when there's nice drawings and nice movement). I think the fact that you voice the characters yourself helps greatly with this. There's a lot of small gestures and unique facial expressions that have translated well onto the characters.

There was a couple of very small things I noticed, which I thought I'd share even though they're only very minor. In one scene I noticed the line thickness in the background was quite thick compared to the characters. it slightly breaks the sense of space and dimension (which I think overall was handled very well with the various blurs and camera parallax effects). It's something that I see creep up in my own work a lot, and I think it has mostly to do with working zoomed too far out.

With regards to backgrounds, this is probably just a personal opinion, but I think at times there was a bit too much contrast in the lineart. The black in the background matches the black in the characters and I think there would be slightly more clarity if it was reduced to darkish grey or even coloured lines (time consuming, but I think it would look really damn awesome in your style). The way you've blurred the background works great at reducing the contrast and separating the characters, I think it could be accentuated with more detailed colour selection in the lineart.

Having said that though, these suggestions really are minor when considering the whole film. There's been so much thought put into the subtle details, so I figured that's where a critique could possibly be the most usefull.

This is one of the best I've seen on Newgrounds, and I look forward to Larry 3.


People find this review helpful!
Jazza responds:

My friend it is an honor to have such a cool review from ya. I appreciate it.

Yeah backgrounds tends to be one of my weaker points, your suggestions are really helpful so thank you!

I never really gave voice acting a good go until this series and with each episode find myself doing more and more of the characters because I really enjoy it now!

Once again thanks for taking the time, was sweet to chat to you last week and I look foreword to hanging out in brissey with you and Hania in January for a day!

NOW GO MAKE TARBOY 2! Lol jk. Trust me I know how those comments feel lol.


RequenRequen

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 1, 2010

Awesome

I have always enjoyed your flashes. This new series looks like it will get better as it goes along so I am interested in what your ideas for the next one will be. Also, I would hope that somewhere near the end of the series that Larry becomes a little more kickass... please tell me he's not a whinny wimp the whole story.



propaininsane88propaininsane88

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 1, 2010

Wow...

Are you really just 21? Makes me feel like I should pick up the slack some, because all your animations are some of the best I've seen. Can't wait to see if the wizard ever gets angry enough to make the staff give a middle finger salute to someone. It'd be pretty amusing. Please keep the good work up (if you call art "work").