Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Sep 25, 2010 | 9:04 PM EDT
  • Daily 3rd Place September 27, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Fragification 5 Points Kill Something with a Grenade
Pacification 5 Points Let the Creators Live!
Vermification 5 Points Defeat Agness
Blobination 25 Points Defeat Claudette
Cooptation 25 Points Unlock Complete Arsenal
Premeditation 50 Points Beat the Game

Author Comments

Thanks Newgrounds for choosing this game as the Madness Day 2010 Winner!
========
Update: Sept 27th 2010 - Click or press direction to skip intro & countdown - Fixed boss grenade bug & grenade replenishment bug
Update: Sept 26th 2010 - Increased Tricky's health, this will ruin previous Tricky level replays :(
========
Plan Hank's moves through a strange area of Nevada. Make sure to think 4th dimensionally!
========
Controls:
Astral Projection Mode: Arrows
Shot Planning/Menus: Mouse

HINTS:
=======
The sensors on level 3 remove the lasers blocking the doorway
2 handed weapons (shotgun and AK) only fire forward
Remove assigned shots by clicking on an already-placed node
Broken glass shards can interfere with your shots, so wait a while after shooting out glass to take aim again

========
Author Commentary:

BoMToons: This was intended for Madness Day 2010, but was slightly delayed. I had this gameplay idea while watching some Madness cartoons. It's gone through a lot of revisions based on lots of player feedback (thanks Coaly and Jacksmack!). I hope you give it a chance! There are tons of other gameplay features we wish we had time to add like smarter AI, more stealth rewards, smarter reloading constraints, more balanced guns, the ability to watch all your replays in a row, etc...maybe for a sequel? As always, it's a pleasure to work with Luis, his take on my ugly level mock-ups brought a richness and fun to the story that I never would have included. P.S. This was coded "Somewhere in Nevada" where I live!

Luis: This is a strategy/puzzle game, kinda like chess. Enjoy!

Reviews


113420113420

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars September 26, 2010

Excellent concept, comptetent execution.

I've never quite seen this particular take on a madness-like game. I find it immensely refreshing and quite fun to boot. What i would recommend making user-defined checkpoints, so that after performing one action they have time to think about the next. Perhaps make a minimum time between checkpoints, so that players can't abuse it. Next, as the down key has no real function, i would take out the rather annoying feature of having the timer run even when standing still, and replace it with the ability to advance time (while holding still) by pressing the down key. Even more, make it so that while you do this, you can dodge a few shots fired from an enemy (but not a salvo). This would work particularly well if you could combine this with the ability to predict enemy actions, even if only vaguely.

More ideas... hand to hand combat, for both the player and the enemy. Make it so that it seemed like a last resort, which it is. Maybe engineer it so that you can only take out an enemy after they try to attack you, as hank usually does in the movies. And add in enemies that spawn as the battle progresses, instead of having them all on the screen ahead of time.

All these ideas spinning through my head... i wish i could make them a reality myself.


People find this review helpful!
BoMToons responds:

I like your ideas!


RyabovRyabov

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 26, 2010

Knock Out The Bastards ID: 23375

Yep. I liked to kill you both Luis and Nick with grenades. Look for yourself. ID: 23375.
It's fucking awesome, isn't it?


BoMToons responds:

Ha ha, that IS very cool. I didn't even think about someone hitting us with grenades at the same time :-D


JACK-IN-THE-DARKJACK-IN-THE-DARK

Rated 4 / 5 stars September 26, 2010

asdasd

Awesome concept, not to good execution, wen i started the game i though "Woly shit, look like i will be able to do stuff in this game like in the movies, kill 30 guys with all kinda of cool moves and weapons" but for the most part i think i could do a better job killing the mobs if it was a regular shotter game.
My suggestion is that you can see the enemies pattern, you can buy weapons one time and keep them forever, enemies shoot you, you can steal enemies weapons, can use hand atacks on enemies, more enemies per level


BoMToons responds:

Lots of good ideas, thanks for the review :)


FoolioloFooliolo

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars September 26, 2010

Concept could have been executed better

The first and last boss fight were kinda awkward in that you didn't really know what kind of pattern to expect, making it like a "play once or twice and expect to die" kind of deal.

Maybe I was blind, but you could probably allow the player to edit the movement path after it was finished, just in case you realized you did something stupid. (and I'm not talking about during the movement phase where a reset button actually exists)

Use a grenade, it will never come back, even if you reset the scene. I do believe this is a glitch. If it matters, I tried fragging the dance floor with the only grenade I bought.


BoMToons responds:

I'll look into the grenade glitch, thanks.


IconicStemageIconicStemage

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 25, 2010

Lovely, excellent game

Great game all around, bit of a hard concept to grasp but after the 3rd level it gets quite enjoyable, especially the expirement idea, which might I add was a excellent twist instead of the shoot the next thing that moves idea, overall.
Excellent, loved the uniqueness of the step by step node system, definatly the first time I've ever play'd a game like this, however, fun fun fun.

And to Davidxtrem, you sir must look at other objects on the third level to advance into the next room, you nimrod, and try looking at the damn description.

Anyway just happy enough to play a game with different approaches. :D


BoMToons responds:

thanks, we know there's a lot more we could do with this gameplay mechanic, glad you appreciated the uniqueness :)