Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Sep 25, 2010 | 9:04 PM EDT
  • Daily 3rd Place September 27, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Fragification 5 Points Kill Something with a Grenade
Pacification 5 Points Let the Creators Live!
Vermification 5 Points Defeat Agness
Blobination 25 Points Defeat Claudette
Cooptation 25 Points Unlock Complete Arsenal
Premeditation 50 Points Beat the Game

Author Comments

Thanks Newgrounds for choosing this game as the Madness Day 2010 Winner!
========
Update: Sept 27th 2010 - Click or press direction to skip intro & countdown - Fixed boss grenade bug & grenade replenishment bug
Update: Sept 26th 2010 - Increased Tricky's health, this will ruin previous Tricky level replays :(
========
Plan Hank's moves through a strange area of Nevada. Make sure to think 4th dimensionally!
========
Controls:
Astral Projection Mode: Arrows
Shot Planning/Menus: Mouse

HINTS:
=======
The sensors on level 3 remove the lasers blocking the doorway
2 handed weapons (shotgun and AK) only fire forward
Remove assigned shots by clicking on an already-placed node
Broken glass shards can interfere with your shots, so wait a while after shooting out glass to take aim again

========
Author Commentary:

BoMToons: This was intended for Madness Day 2010, but was slightly delayed. I had this gameplay idea while watching some Madness cartoons. It's gone through a lot of revisions based on lots of player feedback (thanks Coaly and Jacksmack!). I hope you give it a chance! There are tons of other gameplay features we wish we had time to add like smarter AI, more stealth rewards, smarter reloading constraints, more balanced guns, the ability to watch all your replays in a row, etc...maybe for a sequel? As always, it's a pleasure to work with Luis, his take on my ugly level mock-ups brought a richness and fun to the story that I never would have included. P.S. This was coded "Somewhere in Nevada" where I live!

Luis: This is a strategy/puzzle game, kinda like chess. Enjoy!

Reviews


RuckloRucklo

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars September 27, 2010

First time I tried it out...

...I quit after only two levels. But once you get the hang of it, it's really a fun concept.

I guess the big problem, like many seem to have pointed out, is the first threshold of understanding the game. Alot of people are like me, if they don't understand at once they'll give up and move on to something else, which is a real shame.

I think the most important issue could be dealt with by being alot more clear of what to do. F.ex. at the Claudette boss, the side-brains do glow slightly when entering the room, but it's possibly not enough. The glow could be a little more clear, f.ex. have some "glow-shadow" going on - dunno if you know what I mean, but visually make it a little more clear.
Making things more clear could also be advantegous to have sound come along with it, sublte "beeps" when the brain-areas glow would attract the gamers attention.

Claudette is just a simple example, I think that these little things is something that alot of the stages are in need of. Point with the whole hand what to do in some areas, simply.
Another thing that could be implemented is a "hint/lazyass suckah" button. When clicked, some score-penalty could be made, and when you o"premeditate" you would not only move yourself, but you would see everything else (or a few selected things) that moves too, in a shaded visualization. Or perhaps just have a few trainee-levels with the above "real-time shaded" concept going on.

The music gets boring after a while, a simple suggestion would be to fade out and pause the music inbetween each level - or perhaps even let the music, if only one tune, consist of say 4 loops. Once one loop starts, it'll keep playing the "full song", but the entry-point would be different between each stage.

In some games you'll see the "inbetween-levels" have a short loop, some only have some background-noise. In this game I think some distant screams and "futuristic techy noises" would've made a good ambience. Perhaps some distant machine rumble or so too.

More tunes would bring diversity, of course. What happened to the boss-tune btw? :)

In conclusion:
- The game is visually great. The overall gameplay-feeling is good, but it lacks claity of what to do. There could be more work with audio, which could add alot to said clarity, it would ease the first threshold of "what the hell am I supposed to do here" feeling that alot seem to get at first.

Don't be shy to hook me up if you guys want some custom-made music&sfx and feedback from an audio-guy's point of view if there's a next project in the future! :)


People find this review helpful!
BoMToons responds:

I completely forgot about your boss track with the rush to release, I'll add it in when I get some time


Skorpion234Skorpion234

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 27, 2010

Great game.

When i first played,I nodded. I knew how to play this game since there was a game that everything was the same. (Expect for no madness dudes,Of course)
I like it that you can replay and share your gameplay on a level.



PhobotechPhobotech

Rated 4 / 5 stars September 27, 2010

Great idea!

It's very, very trial and error, but it's still a very fun game. AP is pretty slow to accumulate, but maybe that's a good thing.

A glitch, unfortunately, ruined my gaming experience. Y'see, by the time I got to the worm right after the two sentry guns, I died from the worm once for not moving. No lie, on the second try, I sprinted ahead, shot twice behind me, and chucked a grenade in the bottom right corner. The timing was so perfect, that the grenade exploded and destroyed the worm in the bottom right. I had survived, standing on the crate in the middle, boss's health was depleted, explosion animation, sound effect, all that jazz...but it told me I had failed.

...What? I killed the worm and lived to tell about it. How did I fail?

I retried the game from the very start. Frustrated I couldn't repeat my lucky grenade hit, I devoted that 1 AP to the other pistol...and in my continued frustration, realizing I'm having a pretty bad time with the FIRST BOSS, I basically rage-quit. One thing I can't complain about is it's certainly not easy, so the challenge is a plus!

Additionally, it would be most useful if you could remove the targeting nodes after you've placed them, instead of having to restart and maneuver your way around level again. It's a pretty brilliant system, with how it's layed out, and it does a good job not to over power Hank...but perhaps he might be a little underpowered.

The atmosphere, characters, and all-around artistic style looked awesome! Sound effects were all good, and the music was appropriate for the mood, but not very interesting and never grabbed my attention. As far as programming goes, it felt very nice! Hank was reliably weighty, and I pulled off the wall-jump well, the targeting system is accurate, and I suppose disallowing targeting nodes to be close together makes sense for recoil, but they should still be easily removed should the player make a mistake. And what's the deal with those grenades? Was my boss mishap a similar result to SangerZonvolt's (below me) deal?

I'm still voting highly regardless of it because it was a good lookin', good feeling game, with a good idea; it's evident you guys spent some time on this. Happy belated Pico Day! Voted 5.


People find this review helpful!
BoMToons responds:

you can remove nodes by clicking on them after they're placed (then clicking an "x" in the gun assignment menu), I'll look into the worm boss grenade bug, thanks!


godyousuckgodyousuck

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars September 27, 2010

Oh, I was having a great time...

Till about one or two after the creators scene. First attempt at it, I got a wall jump perfect but failed because I was shot in the head, I then spent well over a dozen more times just TRYING to get a damn wall jump. EFF YOUR WALL JUMP MECHANISM.


BoMToons responds:

push into the wall to wall jump


SangerZonvoltSangerZonvolt

Rated 4 / 5 stars September 27, 2010

Grenade bug?

The game itself was good, would have got a 10 from me, but there´´s one thing bothering me: I buy a grenade, use it in a level, lose the level, and the granade is gone. WTF? I could understand if you could use a grenade only once and you don´´t have it in the next level (though the last boss seems unbeatable if you spent Arsenalpoints that way), but using it and don´´t even have it for a retry? That´´s either a bug or a really shity feature. Fix that and the game would be way better.


People find this review helpful!
BoMToons responds:

that is a bug, I thought I fixed it, but I guess not :-P I'll look into it