Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Sep 25, 2010 | 9:04 PM EDT
  • Daily 3rd Place September 27, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Fragification 5 Points Kill Something with a Grenade
Pacification 5 Points Let the Creators Live!
Vermification 5 Points Defeat Agness
Blobination 25 Points Defeat Claudette
Cooptation 25 Points Unlock Complete Arsenal
Premeditation 50 Points Beat the Game

Author Comments

Thanks Newgrounds for choosing this game as the Madness Day 2010 Winner!
========
Update: Sept 27th 2010 - Click or press direction to skip intro & countdown - Fixed boss grenade bug & grenade replenishment bug
Update: Sept 26th 2010 - Increased Tricky's health, this will ruin previous Tricky level replays :(
========
Plan Hank's moves through a strange area of Nevada. Make sure to think 4th dimensionally!
========
Controls:
Astral Projection Mode: Arrows
Shot Planning/Menus: Mouse

HINTS:
=======
The sensors on level 3 remove the lasers blocking the doorway
2 handed weapons (shotgun and AK) only fire forward
Remove assigned shots by clicking on an already-placed node
Broken glass shards can interfere with your shots, so wait a while after shooting out glass to take aim again

========
Author Commentary:

BoMToons: This was intended for Madness Day 2010, but was slightly delayed. I had this gameplay idea while watching some Madness cartoons. It's gone through a lot of revisions based on lots of player feedback (thanks Coaly and Jacksmack!). I hope you give it a chance! There are tons of other gameplay features we wish we had time to add like smarter AI, more stealth rewards, smarter reloading constraints, more balanced guns, the ability to watch all your replays in a row, etc...maybe for a sequel? As always, it's a pleasure to work with Luis, his take on my ugly level mock-ups brought a richness and fun to the story that I never would have included. P.S. This was coded "Somewhere in Nevada" where I live!

Luis: This is a strategy/puzzle game, kinda like chess. Enjoy!

Reviews


MusicalPheonixMusicalPheonix

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars September 27, 2010

Great game

The clown is a little annoying, but hey! its the clown! XD to the guy below me....seriously the game would be tooooo easy. you have to have quick thinking...jeez its not that difficult either, no need to be a buzzkill either. I was able to beat everything first try. BUT IT IS INSANELY FUN to try and do cool moves. GREAT GAME! im awaiting a sequel. ^__^



RogueDragonKnightRogueDragonKnight

Rated 0 / 5 stars September 27, 2010

UGH!!!!!

I'm reding the reviews and I'm seeing all these 10's and high marks...I guess if you jut slap the "Madness" label on a game during Madness Day people just give it a high score beause of the name and nothing else. Seems like all the Madness games this year really sucked and this one might be the WORST!!!

I did like the fact that you had a "Premeditation" aspect so that you could set up moves/kills first and then just watch the carnage...BUT...my happiness was quickly squashed when I realized that I had just over 2 seconds to set up moves and kills. I hardly got my movement path set before time ran out.

If you're going to have a "Premeditation" aspect on a game give the player TIME TO PLAN HIS ROUTE AND KILLS!!! How can you set up where you're going to move and plot out multiple kills all while trying to GUESS where you targets are going to move to make the aforementioned kills in just over 2 seconds?!?

If I were you I'd suggest redoing the entire game and just take out the timer alltogether. I mean you need to PLAN...that's the whole purpose of "Premeditation" If this game actually gave you time to plan out your moves and kills like you think it's going to only to be presented with a "you have just over 2 seonds to do all your premiditation planning" game.

Redo it, take out the timer and resubmit it and maybe then it'll be worth all the 10's you got just for having the Madness name on a terrible game.



Vegeta9090Vegeta9090

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 27, 2010

Epic win

I disagree with you Jaxfirebus, the shotgun is great for moving targets. And its not an AK-47, it's more of an M-16 or 18. But its great for head shots and boss fights. And those aren't machine guns, its a MAC-10 and an Uzi. You don't know your firearms very well, do you?

Anyway, on to the review.
PROS: I loved the firearms and being allowed to use 2 at the same time. I also enjoyed the graphics and the walk in the dark feature of not knowing who was going to move where. I also appreciated how you showed us what some of the bosses would do. I did notice that you didn't do that for the clown, but as the end boss, that's understandable. I also like the unlimited lives with a restart button. The controls are also amazing and easy to follow.

CONS: I do have a few things I would like to see fixed or changed. On occasion, the wall jump would glitch and I'd fall off. I don't like how the two handed firearms would only let you shoot in one direction, a person can turn around in midair. I also didn't like having to pay precious AP for frag grenades, which you pretty have no choice but to against the guy with the mini-gun on level 7. The other issue I had was the flamethrowers on level 5, it took me quite some time to get the right timing with them. I also think the shotgun should be able to fire up and downwards, it made it a bitch when i accidentally forgot to change weapons and had to restart the whole game. Now, the last thing, and this may be a glitch I'm having, sometimes when i failed a level and went to arsenal and changed my weapons, it wouldn't allow me to start with those weapons, I'd start as if i never visited the arsenal page.

UPDATES I'D LIKE TO SEE: More firearms, some non-firearm weapons like bats or knives, different types of grenades, character customization, and possibly enemy customization (except for the bosses of course). Hopefully these could be made for Madness Day 2011?

All in all, it was a great game, keep up the good work!
10/10

AS A SIDE NOTE! I know it seems that there are more cons then pros, but that's because I wanted to put detail into the cons so you knew more about what I was talking about.


BoMToons responds:

Yes, melee would be a good addition, thanks for the detailed review, glad you can see the potential in this approach!


yhnmkyhnmk

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars September 27, 2010

Decent

The View Scenes did not work for me, tho im not holding that against this game, to short ak/shotgun are 2 op, clown never hit me once ever... even when I tried to get him to. Would be better with a destructible or more interactive enviroment besides from glass. Melee Weps would be much obliged as well, hope you make a second installment.


People find this review helpful!
BoMToons responds:

Melee is a definite for a sequel. Also, throwing weapons when they're out of bullets :)


JaxfirebusJaxfirebus

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 27, 2010

The Shotgun and AK47 is USELESS

All you'll need is just those two Machine guns which can be fired in any direction...