Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Sep 25, 2010 | 9:04 PM EDT
  • Daily 3rd Place September 27, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Fragification 5 Points Kill Something with a Grenade
Pacification 5 Points Let the Creators Live!
Vermification 5 Points Defeat Agness
Blobination 25 Points Defeat Claudette
Cooptation 25 Points Unlock Complete Arsenal
Premeditation 50 Points Beat the Game

Author Comments

Thanks Newgrounds for choosing this game as the Madness Day 2010 Winner!
========
Update: Sept 27th 2010 - Click or press direction to skip intro & countdown - Fixed boss grenade bug & grenade replenishment bug
Update: Sept 26th 2010 - Increased Tricky's health, this will ruin previous Tricky level replays :(
========
Plan Hank's moves through a strange area of Nevada. Make sure to think 4th dimensionally!
========
Controls:
Astral Projection Mode: Arrows
Shot Planning/Menus: Mouse

HINTS:
=======
The sensors on level 3 remove the lasers blocking the doorway
2 handed weapons (shotgun and AK) only fire forward
Remove assigned shots by clicking on an already-placed node
Broken glass shards can interfere with your shots, so wait a while after shooting out glass to take aim again

========
Author Commentary:

BoMToons: This was intended for Madness Day 2010, but was slightly delayed. I had this gameplay idea while watching some Madness cartoons. It's gone through a lot of revisions based on lots of player feedback (thanks Coaly and Jacksmack!). I hope you give it a chance! There are tons of other gameplay features we wish we had time to add like smarter AI, more stealth rewards, smarter reloading constraints, more balanced guns, the ability to watch all your replays in a row, etc...maybe for a sequel? As always, it's a pleasure to work with Luis, his take on my ugly level mock-ups brought a richness and fun to the story that I never would have included. P.S. This was coded "Somewhere in Nevada" where I live!

Luis: This is a strategy/puzzle game, kinda like chess. Enjoy!

Reviews


bigboibjbigboibj

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars September 28, 2010

New Madness

I really like the originality of this game. I can't say much new besides what has already been said. I do have to say that it is kind of trial and error. On the second stage I kind of got frustrated because I missed the enemies the first time through because I had no idea that they moved. I get what Orosi was saying about it being like Hitman, but in that game there was no time limit and you could observe the enemy before making a move. Still, the concept is great and I really hope to see more.


People find this review helpful!

SecondswalkerSecondswalker

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars September 28, 2010

Problems with the shooting track

It's a very good game mechanic, I like it, and everything is really stylish. But there's a few problems that I've run into...
First, the timer seems to be there to be used to help time the actions of the enemies. But it counts down so quickly that it's barely of any use, that you have to guess at the time within a general space of a hundred or so.
Secondly, the motion track that you place the shooting on can overlap itself so much that you find yourself being forced to alter your strategy just so you don't get confused and put the dot on the wrong time in the track (or be unable to place it on the correct spot, the track auto-selecting the dot onto itself)
Last, I've discovered once or twice that the targeting track goes under the 'restart' button, right where I need to shoot.
Other than that though, swell game.


People find this review helpful!

kiobie420kiobie420

Rated 4 / 5 stars September 28, 2010

its good but..

1st of all i love madness games but this one could of been sooo much better
like you can add more features and maby a level up system but all in all its good looking foward to sequel keep up thegood work



IstvanOrosiIstvanOrosi

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars September 28, 2010

Overall good game with a few issues

Awesome graphics and I really like the action/puzzle gameplay! Not much to say about that.
Here are my issues:
You should put the "Hints" in the game in case some people don't read your description. I would've been completely lost on the third level because the sensors looked regular lights to me. Also, it was a bit lucky that I figured out the wall jumping.
The track can be hard to follow if you are going over the same path, or standing for some time. Also, it might be a good idea for the track not to leave the game screen and not cross any visual user interface elements (especially buttons).

I just looked at a few other people's comments and my badges were saved, so not sure what happened to Briarios.
About the "trial and error" approach ... I disagree. I think it's a bit more like the Splinter Cell or Hitman series where you have to observe and then future predict other people's movements. Yes, this can be a bit challenging with the bosses but to me that was the fun/puzzle part of the game. I guess they missed it ?
Now I'm off to collect the final 'complete arsenal' badge. Perhaps you could continue with a Pico Day "sequel"? ;)



BillyKLBillyKL

Rated 1 / 5 stars September 28, 2010

Did not like it, but...

I think the concept was very, very good, but to me it felt more like a trial-and-error / memorization thing than anything else. I understand that this is a strategy / puzzle game, but I shouldn't have to keep losing over and over again just to learn how an enemy moves / interacts. I understand difficulty is important, but to me this was just a cheap execution of an otherwise really good concept.

If you do make a sequel, I'd love to play it, because I do REALLY, REALLY like the concept of the game. I just think this particular execution was not the best. That being said, I really hope you make a sequel because I'll be the first one in line to play it.


People find this review helpful!