Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Sep 20, 2010 | 7:32 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature September 21, 2010
  • Weekly 4th Place September 22, 2010

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Read this before you vote/review
-------------------------
-------------------------
-----

[EDIT 4]
Front page!? Wow thanks for that :D

[EDIT 3]
Movie seems to load fine in Firefox

[EDIT 2]
Daily First? :O Thanks everyone :)

-----

-----

After a long year of very hard work (I tried, I really did), stuck using just flash happy mouse adventures because unfortunately I have no tablet or any other helpful programs to aid with the animation process, I finally present the first episode of RedHand.

!NOTE: The pieces in this episode weren't exactly animated in order, and the intro part was actually made last so you may notice a slight quality drop during the first piece, but the quality will pick up as the episode goes. Also: I haven't added the extras menu yet and the scene select/pieces menus
aren't yet working fully, plus there is an audio track missing along with a few sound effects, but this project has been delayed enough, though I will be sure to fix up and add those in ASAP.

It was one heck of an experience, both stressful and gratifying. I never expected this to be such a challenge. This would be my first decent animation in my 3 years of animating, but I wouldn't have gotten anywhere without the many months of constant support, advice, and guidance from Oscar as I did this project, thanks a million for all your help bro and to Yurlyn for helping me fix all the major problems with the movie :P

The adventure with getting all my collaborators was quite insane. I was turned down more times than I can tell you, mainly because the moment I told them I was animating with stick figures they completely shut me out, but I'm surprised how many incredible people agreed to help me in the end, especially Michael McConnohie, getting someone like him to do a voice was the LAST thing I every expected to happen. Its an incredible honor to feature him in my work.

This animation took much longer than I ever thought it would, because of many factors. One is I never made a storyboard, only a script, so sometimes I would think/work for hours, even days, to accomplish the perfect camera angle or character movements I thought would fit with the animation. And trying to draw decently without a tablet is not that easy...for me at least. Plus incredible collaborators don't just fall from the sky :)

I've also hid various easter eggs thought the movie, especially (but not just) quotes and references from various movies, games, shows, and animations, some obvious, some hard to find, some long and some short. (of course everything belongs to their respective owners^^, but i don't plan to do that kind of thing with quotes anymore) See if you can spot them all :P

Runtime is a little over 14 minutes, I hope you enjoy it!

Reviews


bubpunk515bubpunk515

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 27, 2010

Great job!

Fucking sweet man.



AngelNemesisAngelNemesis

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 21, 2010

perfekt job

Awesome work man! Hope to see more from you.
By the way how many parts are going to come?


Shayphis responds:

Not sure just yet, i'm still planning it all out


darkwave8892darkwave8892

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 22, 2010

HOLY !#&@

HOLY !#&@ THAT WAS SOO COOL AND AWSOMES YA



pinoyboyzpinoyboyz

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 27, 2010

nice

KEEP GOING. makes more episodes



snakeyjake666snakeyjake666

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 18, 2010

I smell an epic coming on!

This was a nice intro, and I'm already craving more! The animation was pretty fluid and the story so far is great. Nice job