Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Sep 20, 2010 | 7:32 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature September 21, 2010
  • Weekly 4th Place September 22, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Read this before you vote/review
-------------------------
-------------------------
-----

[EDIT 4]
Front page!? Wow thanks for that :D

[EDIT 3]
Movie seems to load fine in Firefox

[EDIT 2]
Daily First? :O Thanks everyone :)

-----

-----

After a long year of very hard work (I tried, I really did), stuck using just flash happy mouse adventures because unfortunately I have no tablet or any other helpful programs to aid with the animation process, I finally present the first episode of RedHand.

!NOTE: The pieces in this episode weren't exactly animated in order, and the intro part was actually made last so you may notice a slight quality drop during the first piece, but the quality will pick up as the episode goes. Also: I haven't added the extras menu yet and the scene select/pieces menus
aren't yet working fully, plus there is an audio track missing along with a few sound effects, but this project has been delayed enough, though I will be sure to fix up and add those in ASAP.

It was one heck of an experience, both stressful and gratifying. I never expected this to be such a challenge. This would be my first decent animation in my 3 years of animating, but I wouldn't have gotten anywhere without the many months of constant support, advice, and guidance from Oscar as I did this project, thanks a million for all your help bro and to Yurlyn for helping me fix all the major problems with the movie :P

The adventure with getting all my collaborators was quite insane. I was turned down more times than I can tell you, mainly because the moment I told them I was animating with stick figures they completely shut me out, but I'm surprised how many incredible people agreed to help me in the end, especially Michael McConnohie, getting someone like him to do a voice was the LAST thing I every expected to happen. Its an incredible honor to feature him in my work.

This animation took much longer than I ever thought it would, because of many factors. One is I never made a storyboard, only a script, so sometimes I would think/work for hours, even days, to accomplish the perfect camera angle or character movements I thought would fit with the animation. And trying to draw decently without a tablet is not that easy...for me at least. Plus incredible collaborators don't just fall from the sky :)

I've also hid various easter eggs thought the movie, especially (but not just) quotes and references from various movies, games, shows, and animations, some obvious, some hard to find, some long and some short. (of course everything belongs to their respective owners^^, but i don't plan to do that kind of thing with quotes anymore) See if you can spot them all :P

Runtime is a little over 14 minutes, I hope you enjoy it!

Reviews


Metroidman95Metroidman95

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 25, 2011

Reminds me of...

The Castle Series...in a "epic big budget movie" way



chidorealchidoreal

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 13, 2011

so kwel i ... just bhave not firĀ”gure that

i dont imagine what come next ...



nymixnymix

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars April 10, 2011

Fantastic!!!

I wish I'd found this sooner. Everything-- the art, the animation, the storyline-- is VERY well done. And don't even get me started on the script and the voice acting... the dialogue was extremely well crafted and fit with the mood of the story perfectly, as did the voices. It was just... really, really good.

I did have a few of the same problems as sixflab down there, however. The advancement of each piece was kind of screwy, and I had to mess with it a little before I could go back and watch each piece. I also agree with the eye thing; yeah, I could tell people apart by the color of their eyes, but they're all sort of the same shape and at times I couldn't differentiate between characters.

But whatever things that bothered me about this were most certainly overshadowed by all of the other awesome parts. You've got a real gem here. I'm really looking forward to the next installment! :)


People find this review helpful!
Shayphis responds:

thanks man :)


WereKittenWereKitten

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars April 7, 2011

Just wondering..

What is the credits song called? I really like it and want it but cant find it!!



mymonkeydiditmymonkeydidit

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 4, 2011

absolutely loved it

but i felt sum of the voice acting was a lil outta place sorta felt like one of them japanese arcad games hah if that makes any sense but nonetheless i enjoyed it very much great job


Shayphis responds:

lol thanks :D