Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Sep 20, 2010 | 7:32 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature September 21, 2010
  • Weekly 4th Place September 22, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Read this before you vote/review
-------------------------
-------------------------
-----

[EDIT 4]
Front page!? Wow thanks for that :D

[EDIT 3]
Movie seems to load fine in Firefox

[EDIT 2]
Daily First? :O Thanks everyone :)

-----

-----

After a long year of very hard work (I tried, I really did), stuck using just flash happy mouse adventures because unfortunately I have no tablet or any other helpful programs to aid with the animation process, I finally present the first episode of RedHand.

!NOTE: The pieces in this episode weren't exactly animated in order, and the intro part was actually made last so you may notice a slight quality drop during the first piece, but the quality will pick up as the episode goes. Also: I haven't added the extras menu yet and the scene select/pieces menus
aren't yet working fully, plus there is an audio track missing along with a few sound effects, but this project has been delayed enough, though I will be sure to fix up and add those in ASAP.

It was one heck of an experience, both stressful and gratifying. I never expected this to be such a challenge. This would be my first decent animation in my 3 years of animating, but I wouldn't have gotten anywhere without the many months of constant support, advice, and guidance from Oscar as I did this project, thanks a million for all your help bro and to Yurlyn for helping me fix all the major problems with the movie :P

The adventure with getting all my collaborators was quite insane. I was turned down more times than I can tell you, mainly because the moment I told them I was animating with stick figures they completely shut me out, but I'm surprised how many incredible people agreed to help me in the end, especially Michael McConnohie, getting someone like him to do a voice was the LAST thing I every expected to happen. Its an incredible honor to feature him in my work.

This animation took much longer than I ever thought it would, because of many factors. One is I never made a storyboard, only a script, so sometimes I would think/work for hours, even days, to accomplish the perfect camera angle or character movements I thought would fit with the animation. And trying to draw decently without a tablet is not that easy...for me at least. Plus incredible collaborators don't just fall from the sky :)

I've also hid various easter eggs thought the movie, especially (but not just) quotes and references from various movies, games, shows, and animations, some obvious, some hard to find, some long and some short. (of course everything belongs to their respective owners^^, but i don't plan to do that kind of thing with quotes anymore) See if you can spot them all :P

Runtime is a little over 14 minutes, I hope you enjoy it!

Reviews


BatzMatasanosBatzMatasanos

Rated 1.5 / 5 stars September 21, 2010

Too bugy

like Bum-Secks says pretty much
reloaded it several time, it get black in the middle and stop, and the select a sence jusy doesn't work
all the off it just destroyed the movie couse its not letting you enjoy it


Shayphis responds:

Bugs have been fixed now


FreeFunFreeFun

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars September 21, 2010

wow

Excellent work. Only comment I ahve is bug in the scene selection, it is not working when I click. Other then this, sometimes I must reload the screen but mabye this is my internet.

Congratulations too all



Bum-SecksBum-Secks

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars September 21, 2010

hmm

-PROGRAMMING: i had to reload the page 3 times just to watch it and still havn't seen the credits, also the scene select page doesn't work.
-LAYOUT: i hit play and i get another scene select page? why not just fix the one on the menu? i thought the movie was playing and couldn't understand why i was staring at 3 shards of glass.
-SCRIPT: not a fan, i like how mysterious narrators show up, it's kinda interesting. but overall the characters are all the freaking same, they all have a rediculously low voice like it's some kind of burly man contest, the episode didn't introduce anything that made me the least bit interested in any of the characters, or what they're doing, going to do, used to do, ect. Also, wtf... you took a quote directly out of "The last samurai". ugh why am i even complaining about originality, you're using katana wielding gun slinging stick figures for gods sake, whhhyyyyy.
-ART: i loved it, you can stick those stick figures up your ASS! but everything else was beautiful, except your use of gradients, some artwork was gradient filterfucked and would have looked fine with basic cell shading.
ANIMATION: fuck stick figures, but you did a good job for the most part.
OVERALL: i'm not going to watch the rest of the series, a bunch of stickmen having a burly man contest while using unoriginal quotes will make me cringe, but hats off to you for the hard work, and i'm sure lots and lots of katana wielding gun slinging stickmen fan children will love the series =)
*marks review as useless* might as well be the first...sigh


People find this review helpful!

Rosquilla94Rosquilla94

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 21, 2010

Amazing

The voices are really weel done, the animation too, OMG al the animation its really cool



trippyharetrippyhare

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 21, 2010

*truly

Pretty good animation, great voice acting. Nice job.


People find this review helpful!