Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Sep 20, 2010 | 7:32 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature September 21, 2010
  • Weekly 4th Place September 22, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Read this before you vote/review
-------------------------
-------------------------
-----

[EDIT 4]
Front page!? Wow thanks for that :D

[EDIT 3]
Movie seems to load fine in Firefox

[EDIT 2]
Daily First? :O Thanks everyone :)

-----

-----

After a long year of very hard work (I tried, I really did), stuck using just flash happy mouse adventures because unfortunately I have no tablet or any other helpful programs to aid with the animation process, I finally present the first episode of RedHand.

!NOTE: The pieces in this episode weren't exactly animated in order, and the intro part was actually made last so you may notice a slight quality drop during the first piece, but the quality will pick up as the episode goes. Also: I haven't added the extras menu yet and the scene select/pieces menus
aren't yet working fully, plus there is an audio track missing along with a few sound effects, but this project has been delayed enough, though I will be sure to fix up and add those in ASAP.

It was one heck of an experience, both stressful and gratifying. I never expected this to be such a challenge. This would be my first decent animation in my 3 years of animating, but I wouldn't have gotten anywhere without the many months of constant support, advice, and guidance from Oscar as I did this project, thanks a million for all your help bro and to Yurlyn for helping me fix all the major problems with the movie :P

The adventure with getting all my collaborators was quite insane. I was turned down more times than I can tell you, mainly because the moment I told them I was animating with stick figures they completely shut me out, but I'm surprised how many incredible people agreed to help me in the end, especially Michael McConnohie, getting someone like him to do a voice was the LAST thing I every expected to happen. Its an incredible honor to feature him in my work.

This animation took much longer than I ever thought it would, because of many factors. One is I never made a storyboard, only a script, so sometimes I would think/work for hours, even days, to accomplish the perfect camera angle or character movements I thought would fit with the animation. And trying to draw decently without a tablet is not that easy...for me at least. Plus incredible collaborators don't just fall from the sky :)

I've also hid various easter eggs thought the movie, especially (but not just) quotes and references from various movies, games, shows, and animations, some obvious, some hard to find, some long and some short. (of course everything belongs to their respective owners^^, but i don't plan to do that kind of thing with quotes anymore) See if you can spot them all :P

Runtime is a little over 14 minutes, I hope you enjoy it!

Reviews


ErichoEricho

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 21, 2010

Now that is art!

I loved watching this because it had some of the most fantastic animation I had ever seen here. The way the characters and everyone else moves is just so wonderful. It was great to have such an all-star voice cast and everyone else who worked on this too. That is really Adam Philips, the creator of the Brackenwood series? While this did not have much action, it was just gorgeous to look at. So many people worked so hard to make someone as flawless as this great masterpiece.


People find this review helpful!
Shayphis responds:

Thank you, your review means alot, and yes that's actually Adam Phillips :)


AesopianAesopian

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 21, 2010

Seems a lot like Castles

Draw any inspiration from it? The animation style is similar.


Shayphis responds:

Oscar helped and supported me for almost a year with this, so yes.


Dutch-SpitfireDutch-Spitfire

Rated 4 / 5 stars September 21, 2010

Very nice

I'm just curious. Why stick figures? I can understand that it is a style thing. But I don't agree with it, I associate sticks with over the top humor action. Not something (semi) serious like this.

On a different note, I have to say I really liked the writing. Great build up and setting the mood perfectly. It takes the animation to a higher level. Slight things that noticed me were some typos in the subtitles and sometimes odd sounding voices, partly because you can hear someone doing a different voice then their own. Partly a too quick cut with the sounds.

I might sound critical but I'd like to say 'two thumbs up'!


People find this review helpful!
Shayphis responds:

Its a fair review, thanks :)

And i just enjoy animating stickfigures in this kind of way, not just the side view fighting all the time.


KalasAlseifKalasAlseif

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars September 21, 2010

Woo Hoo!!

Thanks for sorting out the Playing problem. I can now click play all and that's exactly what it'll do :) It turns out I missed some parts. :P

Aside from the generic hard man voice that Yoro has, I believe that this has THE best Voice acting in an animation. Seriously, there's such a variety of voices in this. Vance and Xhast happen to be my favourite so don't go changing them :) The Enigmatic Voice is a brilliant little touch. TBH I haven't got a shit of an idea of what he's talking about but he's awesome nonetheless ^^

I'm sure someone said this before but I'll say it again :P The radio parts at the beginning were a little too OTT. I could barely make out what they were saying without the aid of the subtitles and if I turned it up all I got was a nasty SSSHHH sound :/ You might wanna work on that next time round. All so you shouldv'e put gun fire in the background, we will be able to set up a better picture in our minds that they are actually fighting something.

Erm..the running part, where the soldier are going to the evac point, was a little off. I mean, it could have just been my pc/internet or it was just generally jumpy and I could easily tell it was looped. (And I know jack shit about animating)

The execution of the story is obviously slow, which is a good thing I suppose but the whole scene cut thing was a bit annoying at times. It just seemed to cut to a new scene too often and I couldn't really get into a scene. It might be an idea to lengthen the scenes in the next one. Also the Enigmatic voice scenes need a little shortening. And by that I mean at the end. There were a couple of times I thought that the part had finished and so I missed out on seeing Shen and Nicco at the end. :(

The flash back thing needed a little more...exposure? Like, I think there need to be a clear cut scene of what Xhast and Yoro were doing instead of just showing little bits then fading back into the speech between them. The gun fire part was a bit weird with the bullet travelling diagonally up, instead of straight past his head. Also, where he cocks the gun in the 'Preparation' scene it seems to flash and disappear as he cocks it. Don't know if it happened for anyone else, could just be me :P

That made up design that was on, like, everything. Is that some sort of Egg?
I know that you've got a line from the Matrix Reloaded in there:
"Take a seat"
"I'll stand thanks"
"Fine, suit yourself"
:P Pow! You can't get anything past me if it's from the Matrix. I watch the trilogy at least 10 times a year ^^

One last problem ;) I was credited for VAing? I don't think you used the voice I did for the Veteran, unless you somehow edited it. But I don't think that's the case O.o
Finally, YAY! I'm in the Thanks list ^^ Woo Hoo!! However, Ima still give it a 9/10. It wasn't perfect but it wasn't the absolute worst thing in the world, and it's pretty damn good for a first major animation :D


People find this review helpful!
Shayphis responds:

Thanks Kalas :) and yea i did put alot of references and tributes everywhere :P


xtended12xtended12

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars September 21, 2010

RRR....

Sorry but I can't watch movie it's to buggy when the voice ended after death run it's over DARK SCREEN NO NOTHING..... I would love to watch move if everything plays fine.... Hope to see in Youtube....


Shayphis responds:

All the bugs have been fixed, and i'll put it on Youtube soon.