Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Sep 20, 2010 | 7:32 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature September 21, 2010
  • Weekly 4th Place September 22, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Read this before you vote/review
-------------------------
-------------------------
-----

[EDIT 4]
Front page!? Wow thanks for that :D

[EDIT 3]
Movie seems to load fine in Firefox

[EDIT 2]
Daily First? :O Thanks everyone :)

-----

-----

After a long year of very hard work (I tried, I really did), stuck using just flash happy mouse adventures because unfortunately I have no tablet or any other helpful programs to aid with the animation process, I finally present the first episode of RedHand.

!NOTE: The pieces in this episode weren't exactly animated in order, and the intro part was actually made last so you may notice a slight quality drop during the first piece, but the quality will pick up as the episode goes. Also: I haven't added the extras menu yet and the scene select/pieces menus
aren't yet working fully, plus there is an audio track missing along with a few sound effects, but this project has been delayed enough, though I will be sure to fix up and add those in ASAP.

It was one heck of an experience, both stressful and gratifying. I never expected this to be such a challenge. This would be my first decent animation in my 3 years of animating, but I wouldn't have gotten anywhere without the many months of constant support, advice, and guidance from Oscar as I did this project, thanks a million for all your help bro and to Yurlyn for helping me fix all the major problems with the movie :P

The adventure with getting all my collaborators was quite insane. I was turned down more times than I can tell you, mainly because the moment I told them I was animating with stick figures they completely shut me out, but I'm surprised how many incredible people agreed to help me in the end, especially Michael McConnohie, getting someone like him to do a voice was the LAST thing I every expected to happen. Its an incredible honor to feature him in my work.

This animation took much longer than I ever thought it would, because of many factors. One is I never made a storyboard, only a script, so sometimes I would think/work for hours, even days, to accomplish the perfect camera angle or character movements I thought would fit with the animation. And trying to draw decently without a tablet is not that easy...for me at least. Plus incredible collaborators don't just fall from the sky :)

I've also hid various easter eggs thought the movie, especially (but not just) quotes and references from various movies, games, shows, and animations, some obvious, some hard to find, some long and some short. (of course everything belongs to their respective owners^^, but i don't plan to do that kind of thing with quotes anymore) See if you can spot them all :P

Runtime is a little over 14 minutes, I hope you enjoy it!

Reviews


CruentoCruento

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars September 21, 2010

Very nice

i liked it alot, voices sounded pretty good they were clean and smooth for the most part, like the characters seem to have a deep feel to them, now for all those people saying it resembles castle, maybe cause some of the guys that did castle helped out with this animation. anyways real good cant wait for the next instalment. oh by the way the reason you get a 9/10 is caused you used "oscar mike".... i hate that phrase, not a real military phrase, but that just me...great job!



XenotoneXenotone

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars September 21, 2010

Pretty Good

The whole thing kinda feels like the Matrix world (the real one with the robots and shit, not the 'normal'/hohlgram one) with a whole bunch of charcoal gargaling Terminator Salvation John Connor wannabees...and somehow it works, would love to see more!



Travolta3335Travolta3335

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 21, 2010

No one can comprehend this manliness!

Manly stick figures...never thought I'd see the day. You, however, have brought the epicness that is RedHand to light, and I am quite impressed. What amazing animation, it's so vivid and detailed! I really like the music that was used, it seems to fit with every scene, especially those awesome credits. The voice acting was superb, everyone seemed to give it their all!

The only real thing I can complain about are, of course, the couple of random animation glitches, but you've obviously heard that too many times already. The only other thing is that the parts with the knife lack a sound effect, and being an editor myself that easily bugged me...but it is forgiven since this series is MANLY!


People find this review helpful!
Shayphis responds:

Cheers mate! :D


forsakenchild3000forsakenchild3000

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars September 21, 2010

interesting work

its a very good effort. Animation is very good, its got a pretty nice plot and good characters. But i can't help but notice its resemblence to castle. The voice acting could have been a little better.
But overall good work. Waiting for the next part



inziinzi

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars September 21, 2010

Well...

Huge resemblances to castle in this like the tentacle thing same eyes alota stuff needs work on originality but animations good and characters r sick