Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Sep 7, 2010 | 11:31 AM EDT
  • Daily Feature September 8, 2010
  • Weekly 5th Place September 8, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Evasion Expert (Bronze) 5 Points Don't get hit for 30 seconds.
High Score (Bronze) 5 Points Acquire a score of 100,000 or greater.
Slayer of the Peon King 5 Points Defeat the largest Peon.
Level Climber (Silver) 10 Points Reach level 10
Slayer of the Grunt King 10 Points Defeat the largest Grunt.
Slayer of the Miner King 10 Points Defeat the largest Miner.
Slayer of the Splitter King 10 Points Defeat the largest Splitter.
Slayer of the Waver King 10 Points Defeat the largest Waver.
Hardcore (Platinum) 25 Points Don't spend any skill points and reach level 10 or greater.
Marksman 25 Points Accurately land 50 shots without a single miss.
Mine Sweeper 25 Points Destroy 50 mines in a single game.
Platinum Chain 25 Points Reach a kill chain of 1000
Slayer of the Fume King 25 Points Defeat the largest Fume.
Slayer of the Seeker King 25 Points Defeat the largest Seeker.
Slayer of the Shield King 25 Points Defeat the largest Shield.
Slayer of the Vessel King 25 Points Defeat the largest Vessel.
Terminator (Gold) 25 Points Defeat 1000 enemies in a single game.
Bestiary Complete 50 Points Completely fill your bestiary by defeating 20 of each enemy in the game.
Master Trophy Collector 50 Points Acquire all Trophies.
Defender of Pixela-RT 100 Points 100% the game (Acquire a gold star on the main menu for both Trophy and the Bestiary buttons)

Author Comments

The world of pixels is in dark times, a purge is on the horizon...

Pixel Purge is an incredibly polished arcade shooter featuring fast-paced gameplay, tons of upgrades, stunning graphics and effects, 50 achievements, and more.

CONTROLS

WASD or Arrow Keys - Move Around

Space, Esc, or P - Pause / Upgrade Menu

Left-Click - Shoot

M - Mute

Special thanks to Francine Louise for the excellent voice talent!

Reviews


brincherbrincher

Rated 4 / 5 stars September 10, 2010

Good game but...

Like beakerboy said, "I don't like starting over. If i have to start over, I stop playing". Start over isn't cool, man!


EpicShadow responds:

Unlock trophies, they give you starting skill points. If you collect all trophies in a certain group (brozne), (silver), so on, you get awarded starting skill points. This makes your future plays much easier, and allows you to get further.


BloodgreyBloodgrey

Rated 4 / 5 stars September 7, 2010

Chaotic but nice

I give 8, the design and the story is so simple yet it's well played , theloop is nice, not annoying, the enemies are looking avesome and it'sa nice ide to get experience point from dopped pixels, I loved the medals also, I have to kept two points caused by some design elements which are not thought out, like shooting with the mouse and placing buttons on the screen, you can easily click on the help button or outside of the screen making the menu appearing, and there you can easily click on buttons by accident, I first quited from the game that way, so an are you sure to quit menu or making these options available by pressing buttons would have been better, also the great amount of pixells could easily distract you, and you can't make a difference between points and enemies making the screen looking chaotic.

I was thinking about giving 7, but over all it was made so vell I tought it deserves an 8, the narrator is a bit like GLaDOS. A bit unconfortable, but not really bothering.

The game is fine. Thank you for.


People find this review helpful!
EpicShadow responds:

Thanks for the in-depth review. As far as clicking buttons during gameplay, we highly suggest holding down the mouse to fire, not clicking. Overall, glad you enjoyed the game, look out for our future works.


bluegill3bluegill3

Rated 4 / 5 stars August 19, 2012

Very nice game. No bugs, no lag, just not my type of game. 4/5 Stars.



wolfthemdownwolfthemdown

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars September 17, 2010

refreshing and addictive gameplay

I really enjoyed playing pixel purge. The presentation of an oft used game play mechanic made it feel fresh and new, and the enemy animations are nicely done. The only quirk I encountered was trying to tap the space bar when frantically trying to avoid monsters. My only real face-palm moment was the music selection, which seems to be the go-to trance usually used for these types of games. Good work!


People find this review helpful!

SimplyBenSimplyBen

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars September 13, 2010

Huge Potential, but Ultimately Lacking

This game is the first game I have actually signed into to rate/review. That being said, I have played countless shooters and tower defense games. This game ranks high among and has the potential to be one of the best free shooter flash games I have ever played.

The core concept is really solid and works nearly flawlessly as is. Over polished pixels seems to bring a new age feel to old school classic gaming. Pixel Purges' fatal flaw seems to be in the transition of difficulty starting around when your ship reaches level 15. Strategy becomes incredibly linear late-game and demands a ridiculous luck factor, relying heavily on finding power-ups amongst a mess of explosions, overlapping enemies, pixel blocks, etc. Somehow I managed to reach level 30 with the following strategy which can only vary slightly if you hope to surpass a certain level:

Step 1: Level 1-2 Spread/Speed of Shot, Critical Strike, and Pierce first since it is so cheap and will advance you fast.
Step 2: Max Spread/Speed of Shot to keep up with the sheer amount of enemies and collect every power-up you come across, as they disappear too quickly to consider saving most of the time.
Step 3: Around level 12 to 15 increase Critical Strike and Pierce to level 4 to prepare for the strength of the higher level monsters.
Step 4: Begin to level Health Regeneration and Pixels per Monster to level 2 to 4. This will save you in tight situations when the inevitable monsters surrounding you since they appear from the SIDES of the map and you will be generally either cutting corners around the map or zigzag shooting with dual power-ups through the center at this point.
Step 5: Nothing matters now other than to finish maxing Critical Strike, Pierce, Pixel per Monster, Health Regeneration, and then if you are somehow still alive you may want to invest in the somewhat shitty magnet ability. This is up for debate since going for the points upgrade may be more entertaining since you absolutely need it to get a decent spot on the high scores.

My ideas for improvement are as follows:
-Change how the difficulty progresses to a timer or amount of monsters killed. Maybe even a combination such as level 1 (30 seconds or 30 monsters killed) whichever comes first, as this could add to strategy of upgrades and pace of killing.
-Make some scenery changes as you progress to further show or compliment the attackers that arrive.
-Come up with an idea for the arena that won't limit players to avoiding the edge of the map (think Super Smash TV where you knew locations monsters could come from but still there was a randomness to it)
-Make the ship level reflect upon your ship, whether it changes shape, size, or color. A glow effect around the ship could also help to make sure players don't lose their ship in the madness of stuff going on.
-More power-ups and work on their timers since it seems useless to have 3 speed power-ups appear on the map at the same time.
-More monsters and vary them more per level. Right now it just feels like as soon as a new one appears, all the other types weren't balanced out. Sure it's random as hell but having the old monsters appear just as often doesn't add fun to the difficulty, just extreme annoyance. I avoid even shooting those damn things that explode into 50+ mini purple monsters since they tend to get lost in the shit storm and I hardly benefit from them without the %points upgrade for getting huge combos. Less monsters types at once, but I do love their abilities.. just it is hard to appreciate them when ALL the other types are there just getting in the way.

Hope this helps you improve this game. With improvements, I would probably be willing to pay for a game like this.


People find this review helpful!
EpicShadow responds:

Nice review. We agree with mostly all of that, and have talked about nearly all of that during development. Glad to read a detailed, intelligent review. Perhaps you'll see these things in a sequel or XBLA release :)