Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Sep 5, 2010 | 10:37 AM EDT

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Stencyl
    Stencyl Featured games made with Stencyl.

Author Comments

This is a game that I created using Stencyl. The game was mostly made within 3 days, though I made the graphics and the music beforehand. The levels are randomly generated, and the game gets progressively faster (and harder) over 10 levels (the last one is a real challenge!). The main game is presented in a 3x3 resolution... scaled up so you can play the game without having to be the size of a pixel to see what's going on... it's actually 96x96, and it's scaled up another 4 times so you can enjoy the game without having to downsize your screen resolutions.

The storyline: You are a magenta pixel who wants to be in a graphic for a game... well, any game if possible. However, there are lots and lots of pixels these days with different "styles" of magenta... and so far, you haven't had any luck. To make matters worse, there are red pixels trying to eliminate you, so they don't have competition when there's a graphic looking for a particular pixel!

The game is very simple. It is divided into two segments: avoiding other pixels and defeating a "boss" pixel. The main difference between the two is that you can move around from the left side of the screen during a boss battle... and you attack the boss from below! When you're avoiding other pixels (and you don't get to control when you move), you have two choices: jump over the pixel using the Z key (This will work if the pixel next to you is black), or eliminate a pixel using the X key (This works on red pixels, which disappear if they're next to you. This is also used for the bosses to eliminate them from above... not to mention the boss can attack you from above, so this is your defense! On black pixels, this just simply pushes them... and you can't push them into enemies or another black pixel!).

The reason why the game is in such a low resolution is because I didn't want to make a fancy game with fancy graphics... not to mention I'm not exactly the best with graphics at higher resolutions. I can make music, though, and I've got a grand total of 8 musical tracks here, all made with Schism Tracker.

Updates:
V 1.0 (9/5/10) ~ Original version.
V 1.1 (9/6/10) ~ Replaced old how to play with real time how to play. You can still see the old ones by pressing X at the title screen... it's no longer mentioned on the Title Screen.
V 1.2 (10/29/11) ~ Fixed a serious bug that resulted in the boss dying instantly for Windows users running Flash 11 (this was where the bug occurred).

Reviews


EvilRisingEvilRising

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars September 5, 2010

Simple, but great :D

This is an excellent example of graphics NOT making the game. Though a little slow toward the beginning, after level 4 it starts to get a little challenging (and addicting!)

My only suggestion would be to shorten your instructions a little. I've taken the liberty to do so, feel free to use them if you'd like.

*Instructions*

Each level is divided into two portions:

Avoidance
Avoid black pixels by jumping over them with Z
Avoid red pixels by hitting them with X.

Boss
Get below the boss using the arrow keys and hit him with X.

Hope this is helpful. I've noticed breaking different instructions into separate lines and using simple sentences seem to make them easier to read.


People find this review helpful!
KungFuFurby responds:

Thanks! ^_^ That would be quite useful.


joe61097joe61097

Rated 3 / 5 stars September 5, 2010

mmhmm...

The game is addictive and fun, but gets a little bit boring and confusing after a while. I give it 6 stars out of 10.



jakobgodjakobgod

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars September 5, 2010

wtf

its odd but fun and addicting



heavymetalmasterheavymetalmaster

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 5, 2010

nice game!

I don't know why but this game is strangely addicting. so nice job!


People find this review helpful!

amateur6amateur6

Rated 1 / 5 stars September 5, 2010

Hmmm. I fell asleep duing the instructions.

Okay, I realize that a lot of people say "add more storyline!" -- but when your Author comments is like 30 lines long, and the instructions take like 5 minutes to scroll through... you need to cut back.

Honestly, the instructions make it seem REALLY complicated, especially for something called "Nine Pixel Game", which seems like it should be simple.

I suggest that instead of making the instructions scroll, make it so that they can be clicked through. Then if I decide that I'm sick of them I can just skip it.

When I reloaded the page and skipped the instructions and played... well, it's not a BAD game, but it's not great. It's a little complicated, and the instructions don't make it any easier to understand.

Also, the arrow stays on screen the whole time, even though there isn't any use for it.

I appreciate the fact that you're trying to reduce a game to its essence, but nine pixels may be too few. I mean, graphics have gotten more advanced for a reason -- and while throwing better graphics at a game that sucks doesn't make it better, nor does taking graphics AWAY from a game make it better. And if a game has nice graphics, even if the game sucks -- at least you have something nice to look at.


People find this review helpful!
KungFuFurby responds:

For the arrow staying on the screen the entire time, I did not know how to hide the cursor back then... plus, the mouse isn't really used anyways. However, there is a way... Thanks for your advice... actually, if I do make a sequel, it will be a little bit higher than nine pixels... or 3x3.