Credits & Info

Uploaded
Sep 5, 2010 | 12:22 AM EDT
  • Review Crew Pick September 8, 2010
  • Daily 2nd Place September 6, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Update| 2012| June 18|
Previous music replaced with royalty free tracks, new animated intro, retrospective document, and minor spelling errors fixed!

-------------------------
-------------------------
-------------------------
---------

After nearly a year in the making, it's finally complete...

Colin S Jaw is a man shifting in and out of a dream...
Missing teeth, and with only a little time left to live, he embarks on a journey to
discover the origins of a mysterious pair of "sharps" he was sent upon waking from a coma.

A journey somehow intertwined with two detectives, and a string of extremely violent and disturbing crimes, a man slowly mutilating himself, and a series of esoteric dreams that are all pieces of a horrifying puzzle.

In this tale of a man darkly dreaming...

Main Features:
- A animated intro, exclusive to this cut.
- Remastered versions of all 14 prior comics,
and the premier of the conclusion to the series.

Extras:
- Photo Gallery.
- New Interface.
- Spec Page.

Sincerely,
- Celx

P.S. Add me to your favorite authors list if you want a P.M. when I release other stuff!
And it would be grand if you could recommend this for the noir section!

Reviews


metalleg77metalleg77

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 13, 2010

Excellent

After watching the first few so long ago, I was finally able to sit down and reread the entire story.

Wow.

I'm entirely at a loss for words. Grotesque, horrific, and at times disturbing, yet touching and with a sweet ending, the entire series left me breathless until the very end. A damn fine end to one of my favorite Newgrounds works. It deserves every award won and more.


People find this review helpful!
Celx-Requin responds:

Thank you,
I'm glad I didn't disappoint those who read the comics from the beginning.

Sincerely,
- Celx


LawlzDemonLawlzDemon

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 4, 2010

I am at a loss for words....

This was just simply amazing. I mean all other horror movies/books I've experienced had simply horrible endings where the main character dies undramaticaly in the final seconds of suspense but this was not one of those instances. The story and artwork combined with this music was just simply phenomenal. Keep it up and I hope to see this as a movie in the near future.

PS. Even the title "Dreaming Darkly" was just a stroke of genius and the perfect title of what could be the greatest horror movie of all time.


Celx-Requin responds:

Oh the comic actually has a bunch of hidden meanings and easter eggs hidden thought it.

Take a look at what the framed pictures in Maliks apartment are, and in the third chapter of the last act look at the background closely and you'll see someone watching Colin Darkly...

Anyway thanks for the review!
Sincerely,
- Celx


BJ-PoPpA-LiSBJ-PoPpA-LiS

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 4, 2010

A storyteller

Well Done. Humanity seems a different meaning, when the monster is more than just skin and bone.


Celx-Requin responds:

I'm not sure what that means, but anyway thanks for the review!
Sincerely,
- Celx


Jesusloveyou777Jesusloveyou777

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 3, 2010

Good God, sir...

Beautiful, yet tragic. Elegant, yet haunting. I'm truly at a loss for words. Of all of the things I have had the pleasure of viewing on this site, this is probably the most complex work of art ever. I didn't think something so dramatic, so horrifying, so heartbreaking could be so... beautiful. This is an instant favorite in my book, VERY well done.


Celx-Requin responds:

Hello,

Thanks alot man, I really appreciate the comments.
And of course if you like my stuff add me to your favorite authors list if you would like to receive notifications when I release new submissions.

Thanks again!
- Celx


SeeD419SeeD419

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 2, 2010

Holy Shit

Wow man, that was fuckin epic. I can't believe how long that was, but it was interesting so I kept reading. A very dark story, but suspenseful and really keeps you wondering what's next. Some parts of the story were confusing, and I'd probably have to read this multiple times to really understand it completely, but I'm sure you meant it to be kind of mysterious.

The drawings were all very good. Interesting style, and different. I liked them. The music track seemed to fit the story very well, I wished you had added a function to page through with a keyboard though :/

I see a lot of people talking about 'the series.' May be something I'll have to check out =) Keep up the amazing work.


People find this review helpful!
Celx-Requin responds:

Hello,

Yes I did intentionally make the comic complex so people could pick up on things upon a second read through.

Thanks for the review!
- Celx