Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Sep 4, 2010 | 2:48 PM EDT

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

First Blood 5 Points No, not the rabbit!
Climactic Battle 10 Points Defeat the Mysterious Man in Ch. 2
The End 50 Points Beat the game
The Completionist 100 Points Unlock everything that can be gotten from beating the game multiple times.
Eternal Enemies Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Eternal Friendship Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Now You're Just Showing Off Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

v NG 1.1.14 is now the current version- it fixes one instance of music not playing, and removes leftover bold text from the days when Halsaban still had text-based movement.

Warning- even more reading ahead!

In 1.1, several changes were made. Taking suggestions and complaints made by you guys (Halsaban is revamped, such that no text commands are required anymore. Rataan still requires them, though), and putting in ideas I had (a New Game Plus feature with additional scenes, an additional game in the casino), as well as other things, I'm proud to present the penultimate version of the game. Think of it as the Final First Fantasy, if you will. Or don't.

Anyway, this is the final version except for bug fixes and the like.

All the following is taken from the last version's comments, edited in places.

Story- Days before the story begins, Terra Machina, a dark organization with a deathgrip on the world, suddenly fell. Nobody knows why.
Nor are you able to even recall your name, or where you came from...

General- Development on this RPG started in late October 2009. It grew bigger than what I intended it to actually be, but there's nothing wrong with that... this game offers over an hour and a half of gameplay, unlockables, and choices that affect dialogue, with no less than ten endings.

Music- Fourteen Newgrounds artists contributed 25 tracks to the game. And with one exception, all of the music is available in the Audio Portal. It is, to me, amazing that I managed to fit this all in in 10 MB with pretty decent quality. I tried to spread the love around in the audio credits (giving preference to people whose songs didn't make the lucky 11 last time), but since the limit seems to be 11, here's a list of what I couldn't fit in and their IDs so you can go and find them (You can also unlock all songs in an in-game Music Player).

Battle of Supremacy- masterhappyboy 306568
Sea of Elegance- ChaotixMachine 295857
Impact Rain- Arnas 306636
Grass Dreams- roensb 314601
Black Death Ray- xerochi 316966
Synchronicity - DisconnectedFromGame 332371
Silent Land- AndieCiambotti 254258
Normal Cool- Feninja 335011
ZMX- HyperFreak92 (Wesley Boynton) 331615
Tension- ZENON 43772
Halsaban City Theme - Koori-Kun 444001
All songs below are mine:
First Fantasy Theme- 350468
Dying Regrets- 350512
Win!- 350973

Of the above, special thanks goes to Koori-Kun- both Battle Theme IV and the Halsaban Theme were made specifically for this game! Thanks!

Art- Very huge thanks to KatRaccoon, the character artist, for helping me make this way better than it would have been otherwise, and for putting up with all my reminders that she passed the deadlines :P

Other stuff- If you encounter any bugs or glitches, I would like to hear about it. Send me (Bcdefg123) a PM or something, and I'll fix it ASAP. Include as much info as possible, please.

Reviews


YrtnejYrtnej

Rated 4 / 5 stars September 4, 2010

Holy shit, this game is amazing!

Holy shit, this game is amazing! This game has turned me into a liker of text-based RPG's. The story was good, and the length was also really good for a flash game! I see you pretty much reached the limit on the file size, there, though. XD

You are really talented at this. And whoever wrote all the text for this RPG must have been really dedicated. I bet they could make a book, too! I do have a few things I'd like to say, though.

- Battle system was kind of quirky. It made level grinding waaay too easy.
- Sometimes the black text on a dark background was hard to read.
- The constant change of music when battling was kind of annoying, because it was so easy to level grind!

So, keep those things in mind if you ever DO make a sequel. Anyway, this game was great. I played it to the very end. Probably wasn't the best use of an hour of my life, but I am satisfied with the whole experience! Keep up the good work!


People find this review helpful!
bcdefg123 responds:

Thanks! I was the one who wrote the game, and I have indeed written a lot for fun during high school. Never a book though, and I don't intend to anytime soon. But you might wanna stick around for what I have in store, kihihi... -Brian


NewByNationNewByNation

Rated 4 / 5 stars June 26, 2011

"Fairly engaging most of the time"

The humor, more so than the story (not including the twist ending with Haruka), kept me playing this all the way through. Every now and then, it is refreshing to see writing that doesn't require clearing the children out of the room. (That is one fierce pet!)
The reason this isn't a 10 is due to the level building. Once the text became repetitive and not worth reading, the battles became monotonous. The upside is I leveled up in just minutes. I assume this is not so much your fault, but more so the nature of a text-based game. Then again, maybe you could have made a more diversed script.
I saw one error. When Mizuki fired an arrow at a fire elemental, sometimes the text was the same as if she had fired at the fire lizard.
Good job! I hope to see something like this game again.


People find this review helpful!

xDarkxLinkxxDarkxLinkx

Rated 4 / 5 stars June 30, 2011

Great game

I think what got me through the game was, not only the story, but the humor that was incorporated in the text. Yeah, when fighting the text became repetitive, to a point where I just clicked through them, but there were some parts in the text that gave me a good laugh. Also, leveling up seemed to be more or less just grinding. I don't exactly mind grinding, but i'd suggest to not build the game around it. The music and sound effects were excellent. I kind of thought that the implications towards Ryou and Haruka's romantic interests were underdeveloped since, well im not entirely sure whether there was any romantic interests or if it was just a cover-up of some sort. I liked the side quests, and even though they were hard, i thought it was a good challenge, (even if it involved more grinding). The graphic and character designs were really well made, in my opinion.
Overall, this game was really well made. I'll be honest, at first I thought it was going to be some sort of final fantasy parody, but i'm thoroughly glad I was mistaken. I had a really unique experience playing this game. Great job.


People find this review helpful!

TMF12TMF12

Rated 4 / 5 stars 3 weeks ago

I've given 4 stars because:

Story: 4.5/5
The overall story is good, even though I have little problems with it, it's overall good.

Battle: 3/5
The problem I have with battle is that you have to depend WAY too much on luck, or you have to grind like crazy. I get constant game overs because of this. Plus, it's been long until I got new armor/weapons.

Outside of Battle: 4/5
It's cool how you have the text and all, but I find reading long periods of text to be boring sometimes. It's supposed to be simple, something like two sentences or something.

Overall score: 4/5



swoobooswooboo

Rated 4 / 5 stars June 22, 2011

Good

Nice game, music and sound effects are very good.
Story is interesting, but a little bit more animations would be appreciated.
And keyboard control would be nice too.
The game resembles 'kingdom of loathing' just a little bit.