Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Sep 4, 2010 | 2:48 PM EDT

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

First Blood 5 Points No, not the rabbit!
Climactic Battle 10 Points Defeat the Mysterious Man in Ch. 2
The End 50 Points Beat the game
The Completionist 100 Points Unlock everything that can be gotten from beating the game multiple times.
Eternal Enemies Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Eternal Friendship Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Now You're Just Showing Off Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

v NG 1.1.14 is now the current version- it fixes one instance of music not playing, and removes leftover bold text from the days when Halsaban still had text-based movement.

Warning- even more reading ahead!

In 1.1, several changes were made. Taking suggestions and complaints made by you guys (Halsaban is revamped, such that no text commands are required anymore. Rataan still requires them, though), and putting in ideas I had (a New Game Plus feature with additional scenes, an additional game in the casino), as well as other things, I'm proud to present the penultimate version of the game. Think of it as the Final First Fantasy, if you will. Or don't.

Anyway, this is the final version except for bug fixes and the like.

All the following is taken from the last version's comments, edited in places.

Story- Days before the story begins, Terra Machina, a dark organization with a deathgrip on the world, suddenly fell. Nobody knows why.
Nor are you able to even recall your name, or where you came from...

General- Development on this RPG started in late October 2009. It grew bigger than what I intended it to actually be, but there's nothing wrong with that... this game offers over an hour and a half of gameplay, unlockables, and choices that affect dialogue, with no less than ten endings.

Music- Fourteen Newgrounds artists contributed 25 tracks to the game. And with one exception, all of the music is available in the Audio Portal. It is, to me, amazing that I managed to fit this all in in 10 MB with pretty decent quality. I tried to spread the love around in the audio credits (giving preference to people whose songs didn't make the lucky 11 last time), but since the limit seems to be 11, here's a list of what I couldn't fit in and their IDs so you can go and find them (You can also unlock all songs in an in-game Music Player).

Battle of Supremacy- masterhappyboy 306568
Sea of Elegance- ChaotixMachine 295857
Impact Rain- Arnas 306636
Grass Dreams- roensb 314601
Black Death Ray- xerochi 316966
Synchronicity - DisconnectedFromGame 332371
Silent Land- AndieCiambotti 254258
Normal Cool- Feninja 335011
ZMX- HyperFreak92 (Wesley Boynton) 331615
Tension- ZENON 43772
Halsaban City Theme - Koori-Kun 444001
All songs below are mine:
First Fantasy Theme- 350468
Dying Regrets- 350512
Win!- 350973

Of the above, special thanks goes to Koori-Kun- both Battle Theme IV and the Halsaban Theme were made specifically for this game! Thanks!

Art- Very huge thanks to KatRaccoon, the character artist, for helping me make this way better than it would have been otherwise, and for putting up with all my reminders that she passed the deadlines :P

Other stuff- If you encounter any bugs or glitches, I would like to hear about it. Send me (Bcdefg123) a PM or something, and I'll fix it ASAP. Include as much info as possible, please.

Reviews


ThaedosLLCThaedosLLC

Rated 4 / 5 stars September 6, 2010

Love the game

The story, despite being a little cliche, was very well presented. It contained just enough twists to stay unpredictable (I won't give any spoilers, but you probably know the main one I mean at the end), and it combined drama and humor in balanced doses.

The battles are also very amusing, but get old quickly once you've seen the same line over and over. I think part of the problem is that, unlike in Kingdom of Loathing where you draw inspiration from, your battles can last an unreasonably long time if you have bad (or sometimes just-good-enough-not-to-die) luck or haven't trained enough.

One thing that cost you points with me was the bad save system. For a game like this, you REALLY need multiple save files, or less harsh consequences for making the wrong decisions. There's a lot of "dead-end" traps in the game where if you make the wrong choice you're essentially screwed with no way to fix it but start over. Ex: Island of No Return (the crappy savespot just adds to the torment).

The game balance is also lacking, as some of the battles can only be won with pure luck unless you grind like crazy (which destroys the fun of a text/story-based game).

Overall, for your first game, it's great, but there's a ton you could do to improve this and future games. I'll send you a PM with the various issues and bugs I found, otherwise this will get too long. Keep up the good work! 5/5, 8/10.


People find this review helpful!
bcdefg123 responds:

The PM will be welcome. Updates are going to be a bit delayed here (since this flash has tons of views, and therefore each edit has to be reviewed by an admin), but I'm still dedicated to fixing glitches and typos. -Brian


georgetahergeorgetaher

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 5, 2010

AWESOME

AWESOME though it needs two things.
1) Voice atcting would give it a nice touch
2) Battle scenes... As great as the battles are in text I think they would be way better actually animated. Also more subsequent choices ie. Attack: Swift, Powerful, Normal.

Really, though, that is what I think. Considering this has the word FANTASY in it I would like it to be cooler. Also longer.


People find this review helpful!
bcdefg123 responds:

Well, voice acting (and animation, for that matter) would take a lot of collaboration, and I didn't feel that this game was good enough for voice acting, in the sense that it was mostly text-based. Plus, the file size would probably shoot straight up. As this was my first real game, I couldn't really hope to convince anyone that this wouldn't be a waste of their time. Plus there's the fact that most people hate the voices in games ANYWAY... -Brian


aguydudeaguydude

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 5, 2010

Secret Addresses

A fun game. The addresses:

536 Rataan Way - Obvious
184 Hopkins - Read Secret Documents
Seaside Town - Read other Secret Documents
Castle Town - I am not sure if this is supposed to be discoverable.


People find this review helpful!
bcdefg123 responds:

It wasn't :\

The codes that aren't given contain inside jokes and stuff to specific groups that helped me in the game's early stages. There's no problem with you actually playing them, but you won't enjoy it as much without knowing the story behind it. -Brian


ShoriiShorii

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars September 5, 2010

Woo

Awesome game, tons of easter eggs and references, pure epic win. I especially liked the Higurashi reference. The only reason I gave it a 9 instead of a 10 was that it was a bit too short, though the high replayability is a bit of a compensation. 5/5, though. I round up. :D


People find this review helpful!
bcdefg123 responds:

Haha, nice- first person to get the Higurashi references (yes, there are multiple). Although there ended up being a few too many :\
And also, short? Really? Compared to most other things on Newgrounds? C'mon! :P -Brian


ThePeasantThePeasant

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars September 5, 2010

Great game dude!

Well programmed, nice enough graphics, good writing, overall a great game!

Only thing is that the text is difficult to see. Make it bigger or bold or something? And use less grey in the interface. And make the interface prettier. Even though prettiness is obviously not the main thing of the game, it certainly helps!


People find this review helpful!