Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Sep 4, 2010 | 2:48 PM EDT

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

First Blood 5 Points No, not the rabbit!
Climactic Battle 10 Points Defeat the Mysterious Man in Ch. 2
The End 50 Points Beat the game
The Completionist 100 Points Unlock everything that can be gotten from beating the game multiple times.
Eternal Enemies Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Eternal Friendship Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Now You're Just Showing Off Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

v NG 1.1.14 is now the current version- it fixes one instance of music not playing, and removes leftover bold text from the days when Halsaban still had text-based movement.

Warning- even more reading ahead!

In 1.1, several changes were made. Taking suggestions and complaints made by you guys (Halsaban is revamped, such that no text commands are required anymore. Rataan still requires them, though), and putting in ideas I had (a New Game Plus feature with additional scenes, an additional game in the casino), as well as other things, I'm proud to present the penultimate version of the game. Think of it as the Final First Fantasy, if you will. Or don't.

Anyway, this is the final version except for bug fixes and the like.

All the following is taken from the last version's comments, edited in places.

Story- Days before the story begins, Terra Machina, a dark organization with a deathgrip on the world, suddenly fell. Nobody knows why.
Nor are you able to even recall your name, or where you came from...

General- Development on this RPG started in late October 2009. It grew bigger than what I intended it to actually be, but there's nothing wrong with that... this game offers over an hour and a half of gameplay, unlockables, and choices that affect dialogue, with no less than ten endings.

Music- Fourteen Newgrounds artists contributed 25 tracks to the game. And with one exception, all of the music is available in the Audio Portal. It is, to me, amazing that I managed to fit this all in in 10 MB with pretty decent quality. I tried to spread the love around in the audio credits (giving preference to people whose songs didn't make the lucky 11 last time), but since the limit seems to be 11, here's a list of what I couldn't fit in and their IDs so you can go and find them (You can also unlock all songs in an in-game Music Player).

Battle of Supremacy- masterhappyboy 306568
Sea of Elegance- ChaotixMachine 295857
Impact Rain- Arnas 306636
Grass Dreams- roensb 314601
Black Death Ray- xerochi 316966
Synchronicity - DisconnectedFromGame 332371
Silent Land- AndieCiambotti 254258
Normal Cool- Feninja 335011
ZMX- HyperFreak92 (Wesley Boynton) 331615
Tension- ZENON 43772
Halsaban City Theme - Koori-Kun 444001
All songs below are mine:
First Fantasy Theme- 350468
Dying Regrets- 350512
Win!- 350973

Of the above, special thanks goes to Koori-Kun- both Battle Theme IV and the Halsaban Theme were made specifically for this game! Thanks!

Art- Very huge thanks to KatRaccoon, the character artist, for helping me make this way better than it would have been otherwise, and for putting up with all my reminders that she passed the deadlines :P

Other stuff- If you encounter any bugs or glitches, I would like to hear about it. Send me (Bcdefg123) a PM or something, and I'll fix it ASAP. Include as much info as possible, please.

Reviews


flamingknight666flamingknight666

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 31, 2010

Nice

It was cool but way to short o.o + the last part where there were 3 guys i didnt get than when i did i was like OHHHHHH epic :D . awesome game though



jake00011jake00011

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 28, 2010

epic

9/10 because i found a glich that stops me from continuing after i decode the disk and save


People find this review helpful!
bcdefg123 responds:

Can you describe it further in a PM to me? It's possible that what I'm thinking of ISN'T a glitch -Brian


LionelionLionelion

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars October 26, 2010

good, but...

from what ive played so far, its pretty good. i was kinda expecting an actual battle animation thing for the fights instead of a text based battle, but its still good.
the thing that irks me is the possibility of landing in a dead end situation with almost no way to get out but restarting the game. i mean, i ended up early in the game with 0 hp and 5 money, so i couldnt stay at an inn (which i think is a little overpriced btw) so i decided to try to train at falk to get money, but i even died against a tree, multiple times, which really shouldnt happen that much.
all in all, its good, but if someone ends up in a dead end situation like i did(i dont know if there are other types of dead end situations, there might be), make it so its possible to heal back up somehow so they dont have to restart the entire game over again, because nothing is more frustrating than playing a game, only to get to a point where theres really nothing else you can do but restart the game and try not to get to that point again.


People find this review helpful!

kuga1998kuga1998

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 24, 2010

uhm...

kind of fun and good music! bu i think the text it's way too little! i can't read ! u should fix this!


bcdefg123 responds:

You're the first person who's ever complained about not being able to read the text. Most browsers should come with a nice zoom-in feature. Try that. -Brian


StabbmasterStabbmaster

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 22, 2010

i'm having some zork flashbacks...

very amusing. i'm stuck at the castle fight with the doctor. i'm almost suspecting that it's a fight i'm not supposed to win (i've already gotten all the casino gear and finished off the island of no return, so i don't see a reason why i can't beat it otherwise). music was very well done, and i'm left thinking about some of the old test based rpg's i used to play oh so long ago


People find this review helpful!
bcdefg123 responds:

That fight is indeed winnable- just a tad on the hard side (ok, so a lot on the hard side). Glad you enjoyed the music- it's all from either myself or the awesome audio portal guys. -Brian