Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Sep 4, 2010 | 2:48 PM EDT

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

First Blood 5 Points No, not the rabbit!
Climactic Battle 10 Points Defeat the Mysterious Man in Ch. 2
The End 50 Points Beat the game
The Completionist 100 Points Unlock everything that can be gotten from beating the game multiple times.
Eternal Enemies Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Eternal Friendship Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Now You're Just Showing Off Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

v NG 1.1.14 is now the current version- it fixes one instance of music not playing, and removes leftover bold text from the days when Halsaban still had text-based movement.

Warning- even more reading ahead!

In 1.1, several changes were made. Taking suggestions and complaints made by you guys (Halsaban is revamped, such that no text commands are required anymore. Rataan still requires them, though), and putting in ideas I had (a New Game Plus feature with additional scenes, an additional game in the casino), as well as other things, I'm proud to present the penultimate version of the game. Think of it as the Final First Fantasy, if you will. Or don't.

Anyway, this is the final version except for bug fixes and the like.

All the following is taken from the last version's comments, edited in places.

Story- Days before the story begins, Terra Machina, a dark organization with a deathgrip on the world, suddenly fell. Nobody knows why.
Nor are you able to even recall your name, or where you came from...

General- Development on this RPG started in late October 2009. It grew bigger than what I intended it to actually be, but there's nothing wrong with that... this game offers over an hour and a half of gameplay, unlockables, and choices that affect dialogue, with no less than ten endings.

Music- Fourteen Newgrounds artists contributed 25 tracks to the game. And with one exception, all of the music is available in the Audio Portal. It is, to me, amazing that I managed to fit this all in in 10 MB with pretty decent quality. I tried to spread the love around in the audio credits (giving preference to people whose songs didn't make the lucky 11 last time), but since the limit seems to be 11, here's a list of what I couldn't fit in and their IDs so you can go and find them (You can also unlock all songs in an in-game Music Player).

Battle of Supremacy- masterhappyboy 306568
Sea of Elegance- ChaotixMachine 295857
Impact Rain- Arnas 306636
Grass Dreams- roensb 314601
Black Death Ray- xerochi 316966
Synchronicity - DisconnectedFromGame 332371
Silent Land- AndieCiambotti 254258
Normal Cool- Feninja 335011
ZMX- HyperFreak92 (Wesley Boynton) 331615
Tension- ZENON 43772
Halsaban City Theme - Koori-Kun 444001
All songs below are mine:
First Fantasy Theme- 350468
Dying Regrets- 350512
Win!- 350973

Of the above, special thanks goes to Koori-Kun- both Battle Theme IV and the Halsaban Theme were made specifically for this game! Thanks!

Art- Very huge thanks to KatRaccoon, the character artist, for helping me make this way better than it would have been otherwise, and for putting up with all my reminders that she passed the deadlines :P

Other stuff- If you encounter any bugs or glitches, I would like to hear about it. Send me (Bcdefg123) a PM or something, and I'll fix it ASAP. Include as much info as possible, please.

Reviews


OmgItsGregOmgItsGreg

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars November 14, 2010

Bug

Great, great, great game. I love these kind of text based games.

I found a bug. When you rename Daisuke, when you go to his house, it still says Daisuke, even though I renamed him Saskue.


People find this review helpful!
bcdefg123 responds:

Caught it, thanks -Brian


ErichoEricho

Rated 4 / 5 stars November 14, 2010

That was weird

When I was thinking "Fantasy" I thought it was going to be a "Final Fantasy" parody. To my surprise, it was actually a rather mundane story, but I am still glad I played it. The graphics and character designs are good enough. I also like how a lot of the game is just clicking things and I was able to defeat my first enemy (the rabbit) by not even reading anything. A complaint would be that it is hard to get used to a game that is so mundane and stuff. It is still effective at giving the player a unique experience.



RandomPlayingNoobRandomPlayingNoob

Rated 3 / 5 stars November 4, 2010

Nice game you made

The 2 problems I have with this game.
1)When fighting Akio,Shin,and Miyo,I have no idea what weapons to choose.
And they can 1-hit-ko me.
2)Lacks battle options.When grinding,I could just spam attack.I wish there was battle animation,the game was quite boring without it.


People find this review helpful!

ManOfEmosManOfEmos

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 4, 2010

My clicking finger hurts

Level 22...beat the island of no return on level 20 and the Omega robot on 21. I did so much grinding it's not even funny. Enough about my pain and suffering though, I just gotta say that you have a really nice old school game here. Sure there are a few things that could be added to make it even better but I'm not going to complain and list them because I'm sure others have already. To sum it all up, I love this game and hope there is a sequel in the works.


People find this review helpful!

malomano13malomano13

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars November 1, 2010

Epic

Only problem was that level grinding was tedious and repetitive. It would be nicer with different attacks and battle animations not just spam clicking attack. That and some actual gameplay not just clicking go here, go there, although I can't really complain, the game was great as it was :D.

Not sure where the addresses were or how to find them. I'm guessing from the secret disks but then I didn't know how to decode them. Secret Medals are a pain :/.