Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Sep 3, 2010 | 11:53 AM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place September 4, 2010
  • Weekly 3rd Place September 8, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Nastwich 10 Points Make a nasty sandwich.
The Johnny 10 Points Get Johnny's cafe order from the movie.
Best Friend 25 Points Best your friend.
Bookworm 25 Points Read EVERYTHING.
Bugged 25 Points Record EVERYTHING (and listen).
Destroyer 25 Points Smash EVERYTHING.
Payback 25 Points It's a bitch.
Pusher 25 Points Push the hardest.
Rainmaker 25 Points Make it rain!
Runner 25 Points Win the race.
The Room 25 Points Find it.
Perfect Drug 50 Points Take down Chris R in three rounds.
Quarterback 50 Points Make a perfect pass every time.
Receiver 50 Points Catch the ball every time.
The Machine 50 Points Activate it.
Unsee 50 Points See everything you shouldn't see.

Author Comments

This game is our love letter to the greatest movie ever made.

Please go see "The Room" by Tommy Wiseau. It will change you forever.

Press "f" during play for FullScreen mode.

-- SOLUTIONS TO COMMON COMPLAINTS IN REVIEWS --

WARNING, don't read this if you don't want help or spoilers.

To record everything, buy the recorder and place it on the living room phone.

To cool off, stand near the fridge and open the freezer door.

Reviews


eichwulfeichwulf

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars September 9, 2010

Nice, but boring dialogue

The game is great, but if you include an option to skip all of the dialogue.


People find this review helpful!

sharpshiat2sharpshiat2

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars September 3, 2010

woo

fun man



GenericInkGenericInk

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars September 8, 2010

NOT SURE ABOUT THIS ONE

Don't get me wrong, you guys did a good job. I am one of those die-hard fans of "The Room", and i figured the good people at Newgrounds would be too. Usually when people make games based of movies- even online games- it's usually pretty unplayable.

One of the things i like this game is because it feels like Tommy Wisseau made it himself. It's the same reason I like something like "Piranhas 3d"- it's bad but the makers know its bad- so it becomes pretty enjoyable. You guys did everything right. The ridiculously melodramatic plot, the characters, and Tommy Wisseau's and Denny's awkwardness.

The battle scenes and minigames were extremely well done and pretty funny. I don't think I've ever laughed out loud as hard in a fighting scene in a game (since castle crashers on PS3 of course but i digress). But they wre extremely easy,have no penalties, and require no skill at all. In fact much of the game felt like that. It just felt too easy and that i was just going through the motions of the game and not really controlling anything.I must say though it was a nice addition to put Denny's room- it was really interesting to find all the little things in the game like his diary. Quite disturbing stuff sometimes.

I would be lying if I said I didn't find the addicting. I probably spent what felt like an hour playing it the first time. This is both a good and bad thing. I could have been watching the movie in the amount of time it took me to complete this game. Seriously. I didn't beat it tin my first playthrough, because i just got fustrated near the end- where i really wanted the game to be over already. This is probably the slowest paced game I've played on Newgrounds in a while. Thanks for adding the autosave function- I didn't use it but it is a very nice touch.

And jeeze- the dialogue scenes ran on for so long that i just started skipping over them. As a fan of the movie I already knew how everything went so I could follow along pretty well. But what about those who haven't seen the movie? They must feel so tortured to have to constantly read hundreds of scenes of dialog. Honestly i couldn't imagine people getting the joke if they haven't seen the movie- and many haven't. And how could you forget the breast cancer scene?

I'd hate to judge this game based on the music, because frankly, I didn't care for it. I am not a particularly huge fan of 8 or 16 bit music, so I'd be judging it unfarely. Let me just say though- it got extremely repetitive and a bit much at times. I think its best if people put the volume down and play the radio.

I loved the artistic direction of the game though. So just to recap- Love 16 bit art, but not the music.

I'm sorry but is this game rated "T"? Really Tom? Not even gonna enforce your own rules? Let's see there's: Full nudity (male and female), explicit language, and violence. I really wouldn't mind a bit of nudity, but everytime you finish a day you're forced to look at Tommy and the chick naked? Yes it happens in the movie, but it's rated R for a reason. And what's up with that shower scene? JohnnyUtah must've had fun animating that one.

Overall: It's not a great game, but it is addictive and sometimes funny despite a ton of problems.

I've got to ask though? What was up with the earthquake?


People find this review helpful!

AcadimicAcadimic

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars October 14, 2010

Huh...

I was just playing this until I realized how familiar this was. It's that weird movie they showed on AdultSwim. Couldn't really get into it. But points for Appearance and music.



hallowgallowhallowgallow

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars December 23, 2010

weird.

cool. I like the story and the ending!! :D