Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Aug 12, 2010 | 9:48 AM EDT
  • Daily Feature August 13, 2010
  • Weekly 5th Place August 18, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • FlashPunk
    FlashPunk Featured games made with the FlashPunk library!

Author Comments

Hey everybody, we're back with a new game full of bright, sparkly colors and soul-crushing challenges. Give Up, Robot is a game about jumping, grappling, and repeating...with hundreds of deaths in-between. If you have a tendency to cry like a baby go ahead and crawl away, 'cause this one won't hold your hand. Then again, if you pour brutal platformers on your morning cereal, you'll have something to look forward to in Give Up, Robot, especially in the Hard levels. Swing your way through 61 levels until you achieve Zen-mastery of robotic locomotion. Just don't expect any encouragement on the way, OK?

Instructions:

Left/Right arrow - Move

X, S, or Up arrow - Jump

Z or A - Fire your grappling hook. Release to let go.

After firing your grappling hook, the Up and Down arrows adjust your height, the Left and Right arrows adjust your swing.

To pause the game, click outside the game window. Click inside the window to un-pause.

Reviews


2withyoda2withyoda

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars August 13, 2010

Good Game

It was a great game. It had good controls that was easy to pick up and play. The puzzles were fun.

The one thing I would improve on is the order of the levels. It seemed to be that levels would be easy, then super hard, then easy again.



ReaferReafer

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 13, 2010

Great!

Nice game!

- Great controls
- Nice sound
- Good, almost old school graphics
- Nice and challenging

Keep up the good work!



FoolioloFooliolo

Rated 4 / 5 stars August 12, 2010

It's one of THOSE games!

I suppose you people had the idea of really testing will power when you made normal mode go from easy to incredibly hard. Bonus points for whoever plays it with drugs.

That aside, the graphics were an interesting concept. I liked how moving blocks changed colors so that they blended quite nicely when they fell into some kind of pit or melded with a wall. But I didn't like that when you were grappling, your robot kept on jittering like crazy, even if he's just hanging there. And speaking of the grappling hook, I felt that the left/right controls were overly sensitive if you're swinging from neutral position. It has cost me a lot of deaths in the later levels, especially Hard 7. In spite of all the colorful graphics and stuff, my crappy computer managed to maintain smooth frame rate. Good work on the efficiency of computer resources.

Beat normal mode's 50 levels in just under half an hour with ~160 deaths. 2/6 rank.

Beat hard mode's 11 levels in just under an hour (!) with ~330 deaths. 1/6 rank. And if you don't believe me, level 10 is an easter egg level that depicts a penis, and has the difficulty of normal level 2.



aguydudeaguydude

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 12, 2010

Excellent game, but very tough

Give Up Robot is a tough game. It starts easy...and stays reasonably playable until pretty late into the game. However, the last few levels are pretty tough. As for the hard mode levels, that is where the very tough part comes in. I have no idea how I managed to beat hard level 3.



metalmonkey14metalmonkey14

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars August 12, 2010

It's good but there were a few problems...

It's awesome, but the problems were:
A bit too psychedelic for me, sort of seizure-ish.
The first 8 levels were easy, but level 9 was hard.
Also, whenever I tried to jump up a step, i fell just a little jump gets you a long way into a hole.
Overall, a very good game.