Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Aug 6, 2010 | 9:17 PM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place August 8, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

This is my 2nd flash animation. It was a great learning process... (I actually didn't know it is possible to paint colors with Alpha % until half way of making this animation.) The animation is a bit short, but full of actions (Says myself). Hope you guys like it~ :)

The protagonist is actually a character I have in mind for a while. I don't have a name for him yet. This animation is sort of an introduction of him. He is set to have a "whatever" type of personality with the ability to throw pistols and remotely aim and fire them by snapping his fingers (like clapper switches). His appearance is actually inspired by the design of Qitian Dasheng from the classic Chinese novel, Journey to the West. (Goku in Dragon Ball is also based on the same character)

I enjoyed working on the animation part, it was the sound effect part giving me headache... It's not as easy as it "sounds"... I guess I still got a lot to learn on audio editing...

By the way, the movie sometimes gets a bit laggy... I guess its caused by all them filters and tweening... If anyone has any good way to optimize the performance, please share them with me~ Thanks!

***

EDIT 8/8/2010: Woohoo! Daily 2nd Place Award! Not bad for a 2nd animation, eh? I think a good piece of music can make the animation, thanks to SHADOWFOX2 for this great track. Thank you all for voting!

***

EDIT 8/10/2010: Front page~! :D I know lots of people are saying the character looks like Spike from Cowboy Bebop (or Lupin the 3rd.. Interestingly, nobody mentioned Mugen), I do agree the characters share some similarities such as their attitude and both of them are smokers, but if you look closely, their difference are more than just colors of their clothes.

Spike wears his suit with loose tie and rolled up the sleeves, and the snap shooter wears the suit right and has mustache with scars. Spikes hair is green and covered his forehead, the snap shooter is dark red with the hair pulled back.

This is kind of like Batman and Night Owl from Watchmen... People would always say the Night Owl looks like Batman, but Alan Moore would say: Excuse you, he was based on Blue Beetle!

Well, I guess the character is now facing identity crisis...... Am I being forced to make him wear boxers and shorts in the next animation?

Reviews


e1bowroome1bowroom

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 21, 2011

Great Job! :)

I think it is ok that people think he looks like Spike, he remind me of Jubei mainly cause he uses a dental floss type thing tied to his weapon.
Overall this was really good! for an introductory animation. It only suffers from the fact enemies wait their turn to attack. :) but well done.



JohnProctorJohnProctor

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars August 12, 2010

On this "Spike" character...

Well, like most people have said so far, the character does resemble spike. In fact, there are a lot of things about this short that hint at Cowboy Bebop. For one, the "bad guys" have a futuristic thug look to them. Your main character, on the other hand, does indeed look like spike with some facial hair added. He even uses fighting techniques Spike would most likely use, breaking they big guy's elbow via palm and the knee to the face. Heck, even when he walks off he seems to have that same Spike Spiegel cool-as-anything walk.
To give you credit, though, you did add your own thing to the mix. The gun on a string gave him a more trickster-thievish feel than space cowboy, and instead of hunting bounties, he IS the bounty. Don't know about the snapping bit, though. You'll have to explain that one.
But for a new character creation, it's not a bad start. Flesh him out a little more, like his attitude especially. The whateva attitude is fine, but if you're going to use it and get away with it, you need to have more to the character than that. Preferably in the context of a storyline. Give him some motive, what are his ideals? What does he care about? What could he give a shit about? Why's he wanted? IS he a thief? Give us something more. But this is your second animation, after all. For what it is, it's a great start nonetheless. Props to you, my man.



ArawanachArawanach

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars August 8, 2010

cool

guess it was all a dream, then :-P


People find this review helpful!

eye-twistereye-twister

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars August 17, 2010

yup - def see Spike...

Okay, I know people have mentioned before, but damn yes - I do see similarities between your character and Spike / Mugen. Especially in the fighting style, but that cool take on "Snap Shot" you did was great. I thought it was pretty creative. Music went really well with the style of the character. My only complaint would be on the animation. I really enjoyed your idea and execution - I just wish the animation was smooth and more mature. But other than that, really good. I can't wait to see your animating skills better as you make new flashes! Good intro for a new series, possibly?



mm3kixmm3kix

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars August 8, 2010

Nice

Intuituve idea and a nice play on words


People find this review helpful!
Quasimodoxxx responds:

Thank you!