Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Aug 4, 2010 | 6:08 PM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place August 5, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

TENACIOUS EID 5 Points Clear a level after dying five times in it.
GOD COMPLEX 25 Points Collect all hidden secrets
ATOP THE WORLD 50 Points Climb to the top of the tower
ETERNAL SANCTITY 100 Points Complete the game with no deaths
INDIGNANT DIVINITY 100 Points Achieve a Speedrun Mode time under three minutes

Author Comments

(Warning: This game may be quite difficult. Play at your own risk!)

Climbing up the stairway in search of revelation, a lone traveler defies a spiteful god residing at the top of the world. Unamused, the indignant deity lays down increasingly difficult laws designed to kill his unwelcome visitor as he ascends toward the moonlit skies. Can you make it to the very top and discover the secrets of this divine structure? May heaven grant you fortune.

--- Controls ---

Left/Right/A/D - Walk
SPACE/Up/W - Jump
Down/S - Enter doors
SHIFT - Check Rules
ESC/ENTER - Pause/Menu

(Note: If controls are unresponsive, check to see if you are running too many applications at once or have too many browser tabs open. Certain browser plugins may also make Flash games unresponsive to keyboard input.)

--- Level Creator ---

Complete the game to unlock the level creator, Pillars of Creation. You can play custom levels without having beaten the game.

--- History ---

Tower of Heaven was first released as a Game Maker title by Askiisoft (Aski and Godsavant) on August 13th, 2009. With the help of Miroslav Malesevic and Stefan Jeremic, it has now arrived in your web browsers along with these additions by Flashygoodness:

*A new secret area
*Extended ending for finding all secrets
*Additional music, sounds, and graphics
*Various gameplay/graphical fixes
*Level creator

--- Soundtrack ---

The Tower of Heaven OST is available at Bandcamp for $1, linked on Flashygoodness's NG profile page. Please support the artist if you enjoyed the music!

Reviews


TheToastKing43TheToastKing43

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 8, 2010

... i hate butterflies.

this game was sadistic. it's not for the casual crowd i'll tell you that. loved all the 'rules' though. especially the 'thou shalt not check the rules'. i said, 'oh really? well what-oh you smite me. ok.'

nah, but this is a nice game. i've found 2/3 secrets, but that darn 3rd one eludes me. there's the one on level 5 with the sawblade, keep heading left, then level 7 you stay on the platform, but damn it all if i can't find that 3rd one.


People find this review helpful!

akiriadakiriad

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 16, 2010

Some people just don't understand.

The game isn't impossible. It was a great game, and if anything it wasn't hard enough. I miss when games were like this where people actually had to TRY to win, not just do what the game tells you to do. It's all about skill, and that is challenged by the skill of the maker. Thank you for this game.


People find this review helpful!

MadnessPacManMadnessPacMan

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 29, 2010

OMG

Level 11 is really fuc*ing hard!
Takes a lot of patience and reaction time to get through this game.
Nice work!



NeekstarrrNeekstarrr

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 9, 2012

This game is a masterpiece, in my opinion. Yes, I know it's short, but that just means I can play it every month or so without getting bored. The music is sheer genius, and by far my favorite aspect of ToH.

--Flame Alert--
@tokanite: This game is obviously made in the style of a GameBoy game, and the controls are almost exactly like Metroid II or SML2 or Wario3. It even has the same "floatiness". Imprecise? BS! The only poor design decision was to have booby traps, i.e. the hidden spikes.


People find this review helpful!

AlphabeteticalAlphabetetical

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 10, 2010

Who knew...

Butterflies could be such assholes?