Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Aug 4, 2010 | 6:08 PM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place August 5, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

TENACIOUS EID 5 Points Clear a level after dying five times in it.
GOD COMPLEX 25 Points Collect all hidden secrets
ATOP THE WORLD 50 Points Climb to the top of the tower
ETERNAL SANCTITY 100 Points Complete the game with no deaths
INDIGNANT DIVINITY 100 Points Achieve a Speedrun Mode time under three minutes

Author Comments

(Warning: This game may be quite difficult. Play at your own risk!)

Climbing up the stairway in search of revelation, a lone traveler defies a spiteful god residing at the top of the world. Unamused, the indignant deity lays down increasingly difficult laws designed to kill his unwelcome visitor as he ascends toward the moonlit skies. Can you make it to the very top and discover the secrets of this divine structure? May heaven grant you fortune.

--- Controls ---

Left/Right/A/D - Walk
SPACE/Up/W - Jump
Down/S - Enter doors
SHIFT - Check Rules
ESC/ENTER - Pause/Menu

(Note: If controls are unresponsive, check to see if you are running too many applications at once or have too many browser tabs open. Certain browser plugins may also make Flash games unresponsive to keyboard input.)

--- Level Creator ---

Complete the game to unlock the level creator, Pillars of Creation. You can play custom levels without having beaten the game.

--- History ---

Tower of Heaven was first released as a Game Maker title by Askiisoft (Aski and Godsavant) on August 13th, 2009. With the help of Miroslav Malesevic and Stefan Jeremic, it has now arrived in your web browsers along with these additions by Flashygoodness:

*A new secret area
*Extended ending for finding all secrets
*Additional music, sounds, and graphics
*Various gameplay/graphical fixes
*Level creator

--- Soundtrack ---

The Tower of Heaven OST is available at Bandcamp for $1, linked on Flashygoodness's NG profile page. Please support the artist if you enjoyed the music!

Reviews


bloodrayne66bloodrayne66

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 29, 2011

grrr!!!

i liked it, alot but the damn rules get on my nerves, im not gonna remember to jump left when i need to go that way, and im not a good pinpoint jumper, so i hit the sides alot, im not gonna give this a bad rating cause i cant do it like some assholes do, i liked it alot, just very frustrating for me



DashebleLinkDashebleLink

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 17, 2010

Oh my

That was an amazing game: great idea. The rules were something I've never encountered in any game before; nice graphics. I really enjoyed them somehow; Nice music, I kept listening to it for a while; Good challenge, this game was hard, but not unfair, I managed to beat the game just by practice alone.
If you could be able to port it to a home console, then I would definitely recommend it to my friends and even buy it myself!

All in all this was an amazing game, bravo there!


People find this review helpful!

MatthewSmithMatthewSmith

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 17, 2010

Hurrah for Hard Games!

As a wise reviewer once said, a game cannot be too hard, it can merely be unfair. Tower of Heaven is always scrupulously fair - it may be decidedly tricky, but every single death you suffer is always, unequivocally, your fault. Skill and perseverance are the only way to proceed, and personally, I love it to bits. What's the point in games being so unthreateningly easy that you can complete them on your first try without even looking at the screen?

Aside from the loving care that's gone into the design of the levels and the programming generally (you can control your character to a tremendous degree of precision, which is vitally important in a game like this), the whole thing looks and sounds smashing. The Game Boy graphics have a character and charm all their own, and the music is joyous, like something that the mighty Chris Hülsbeck might have written on a particularly sunny day. As for the ending, it wouldn't be out of place in a Hayao Miyazaki movie. Utterly lovely, and I shall be returning to see if I can root out the secret bits.


Lots of people find this review helpful!

macmacandforthmacmacandforth

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 5, 2010

level 9

...you bastard.


People find this review helpful!

BantukulBantukul

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 6, 2010

O_O

I.... really liked it. The plot was good, music was beautiful. Shame its not free to download through.