Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Aug 2, 2010 | 8:13 AM EDT
  • Review Crew Pick August 4, 2010
  • Daily 3rd Place August 3, 2010

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

UPDATE 2013 - This series has been cancelled/is being rebooted. I will be starting the series again from Episode 1 without sprites and with a slightly different storyline.

And it's finally done, my first submission for 2010 :O! I'd like to thank Tom for giving me an upload extension and all my voice actors for talking/yelling into their computers for me

Enjoy!

Reviews


ThaBreakinatorThaBreakinator

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 9, 2010

Wow!

That was pretty good, It was really funny.
Looks like we're blasting off again!



MrPardyMrPardy

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 9, 2010

Awesome.

Is it just me or did the beginning part remind anyone else of the pirates in Rayman 2?
That aside, I thought it was really good.
It was funny, entertaining, well animated and the storyline is awesome!
Good work! :P


Budj responds:

I've never played Rayman D:. Glad you liked it though!


naronicnaronic

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars August 8, 2010

Charming but cliche sprite movie

Oi, where do I begin... firstly as an animator you have bucketfulls of potential, I don't know why you would limit yourself to SMBZ style flashes.
But I came to review the movie, not to waist my time expressing my concern about your choice of animation expression so let's just get on with it

STORY/CHARACTERS- subpar, cliche, nothing I haven't seen before
I know this may be for leisure measures but let's be honest, looking beyond even the cardboard clone characters, your story could be interesting if you tried.

Try giving the supporting characters more depth because right now they just seem like cheap comic relief. I can't speak for the main character yet because I haven't watched your 1st installment so I won't mention him
(although I found him to be very annoying throughout the flash)

Second, branch out of the Sonic & Mario mindset that SMBZ has done so well to drill into our heads for the past 4 years.
Think, I know you can come up with better stories than this.

ANIMATION-Too SMBZish, awkward at some points, fight scenes lacked punch
Firstly if you're going to use sprites at least do a good job on concealing the edits.
Some of the sprites just looked like a mess of unreasonably thick MSpaint gradients, the shoes on the chao characters as an example

A lot of the 3D perspectives were just really fail, usually ending up looking like a bunch of irregular cropped bitmaps, the characters thrown in only making it look even MORE disproportionate

The fights, as I stated before, lacked bass
Yes there were lots of DBZ movie clips and wav sounds but it lacked any real camera/magnatude dynamics and I could tell there was just lots of image/movieclip tweening

It was subpar, you might want to work on it

HUMOR cursing- and maybe a few recycled SMBZ jokes
yea

Don't get me wrong this could have a lot of potential but it's just not there yet


Budj responds:

I appreciate the constructive review, but what do you mean by "SMBZ fight scenes" and DBZ sound effects and graphics? Especially considering this flash contains none of those things.

I hear you on the cliche' characters thing though (and the 3D part at the end I will admit didn't look as good as I'd hoped...). I'm still developing the characters, so next time I will make them less generic.


Crypto-136Crypto-136

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 7, 2010

lol

the small thing sounds like cartman


Budj responds:

Unintentionally, but yes they do .__.


Adu767Adu767

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars August 7, 2010

Pretty nice. Okay story, not-so orginal characters

Voice acting is okay, plot is mostly original (except for every-other key word,) but the characters seem almost copy/paste. I mean really, the headstrong main character (that will probably reveal a hidden power before this is over,) the hesitant supporting character, and the girl that bitches about absolutely everything. At first i was offset by your use of chaos as main characters, but I had a chao fetish myself when i was like 13, so i know how addictive they can be.

Fights were okay i guess, doesn't look like a lot to me, but thats because im used to the type of sprite-fights in SMBZ. I'll just appreciate what you have created so far, since the more epic fights must take an assload of work.

One more thing, do you plan on using Devil/Angel/Chaos chao in this series at some point? (the immortal kind that you can make in SA2B) If no, then why not?

All S-rated Chaos chao dominates. Time well-wasted...


People find this review helpful!
Budj responds:

I too noticed that the characters were getting a little cliche' as I was writing it. I'm still experimenting at the moment, but I do want to change them a little for future episodes.

Well there wasn't really a fight scene, it was more of a chase scene with a tiny bit of fighting in it. There will be a proper "fight scene" in episode 3 though.

As for the Chaos Chao... that's currently secret D:.