Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 17, 2010 | 3:06 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature July 18, 2010
  • Weekly 5th Place July 21, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

(The movie is about 13.5 MB, so go get a snack while you wait for it to load if you have a slow connection.)

UPDATE THE THIRD: And thanks again for helping us get weekly 5th!
UPDATE THE 2ND: Thanks for putting us on the front page!
UPDATE: Thanks everyone for giving "Legends" the votes to get Daily First!

Some Legends speak of heroes... and some speak of... these guys.

The carefully laid plans of the "Cult of the Lich" go horribly awry, as the Lord of Death himself is summoned into the world after being trapped in a dark tome for thousands of years. Our two unlikely heroes, the bumbling wizard wanna-be Xiphon, and his height impaired companion Slinks, are exiled to a evil forest and begin their quest to right the wrongs they help caused... or to just get into more trouble.

"Legends of the Black Book - Part 1" is the debut effort by team Toonwerks... made up of three Flash old-timers Casey McDonald ("Xiphon"), Mark Schneider ("th1rt3en"), and Joseph Blanchette ("LegendaryFrog&quot ;). With the goal of delivering original and smart animations, each one of us play to our strengths to give the the best possible experience to the viewer. We hope you enjoy the first part of this multi part series, and urge you to give feedback so we can make improvements in the future!

Reviews


YuottaYuotta

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars August 23, 2010

Meh

It has a chance. I feel like it could be made much faster, at a shorter time length per episode. I think if an episode with an actual plot could come out per or bi weekly that would be excellent.

The art is fine, the story is fine, the voice work needs to be slightly improved. Mic quality especially on Slinks...

Keep at it.



IAmTheSpoonIAmTheSpoon

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars July 26, 2010

Mini-review

Animation and drawing is awesome.
Humor sucks. Ultra-cheesy.
Voice acting is WoW-Vent quality. That means bad.
All in all, average.


People find this review helpful!

Z3LutZ3Lut

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars July 21, 2010

I agree with mircleatoxford

Good animation, camera work, music, but the delivering of the jokes needs some work. I never felt drawn into the characters to rly feel like laughing. :/


People find this review helpful!

JoltMastaJoltMasta

Rated 3 / 5 stars July 23, 2010

Writing needs work

It's clearly an ambitious project. But I have to point out that the writing wasn't close to on par with the rest of the talent this flash has behind it. Stale monty python inspired jokes and poor character development are something to bring to attention foremost. The gnome character and the main character seem to immediately assess each other without ever actually introducing one another.

animation was good, music was great, voice acting wasn't bad. Work on the writing though.


People find this review helpful!

balloonpoopballoonpoop

Rated 3 / 5 stars July 17, 2010

meh

the animation and overall story is really awesome. i like the idea and it could definitely be a series.... BUT! it really isnt that funny... the voice acting is kinda bad and the jokes are maybe funny for a younger crowd. so the age rating is suiting for this in terms of who will like it. 13 year olds. but with bad things said it was enjoyable and I would like to see more! i feel like a jerk but hey.. just saying...


People find this review helpful!
Toonwerks responds:

Response by Casey(Xiphon):

I'll admit personally that some of the voice acting didn't quite land as well as I'd hoped, especially on my end with some of the static, but it's something we're Improving all around. We knew our first project wouldn't be perfect.

As for humor, though we may do some more adult stuff in the future, we're aiming to stay friendly towards a whole audience. Plus personally as the writer, I don't like going out of my way or breaking characters just for the sake of having adult humor