Support NATA 2014

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 17, 2010 | 3:06 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature July 18, 2010
  • Weekly 5th Place July 21, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

(The movie is about 13.5 MB, so go get a snack while you wait for it to load if you have a slow connection.)

UPDATE THE THIRD: And thanks again for helping us get weekly 5th!
UPDATE THE 2ND: Thanks for putting us on the front page!
UPDATE: Thanks everyone for giving "Legends" the votes to get Daily First!

Some Legends speak of heroes... and some speak of... these guys.

The carefully laid plans of the "Cult of the Lich" go horribly awry, as the Lord of Death himself is summoned into the world after being trapped in a dark tome for thousands of years. Our two unlikely heroes, the bumbling wizard wanna-be Xiphon, and his height impaired companion Slinks, are exiled to a evil forest and begin their quest to right the wrongs they help caused... or to just get into more trouble.

"Legends of the Black Book - Part 1" is the debut effort by team Toonwerks... made up of three Flash old-timers Casey McDonald ("Xiphon"), Mark Schneider ("th1rt3en"), and Joseph Blanchette ("LegendaryFrog&quot ;). With the goal of delivering original and smart animations, each one of us play to our strengths to give the the best possible experience to the viewer. We hope you enjoy the first part of this multi part series, and urge you to give feedback so we can make improvements in the future!

Reviews


DamienDarksideDamienDarkside

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars December 10, 2010

Fine

Decent animation, if it was back in 2007 when JB was making decent animations.

In the days where frame-by-frame is the norm, with more action and movement that doesn't look like it is on hinges... this is just... substandard!

I am glad JB and other guys are coming back, but you really have to step up your game. Your old animation style isn't close to good enough to make it on the tops lists like you used to.


People find this review helpful!

PikanjoPikanjo

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 25, 2010

Thankfully the river ate it.

I am enjoying this story. Good pace and jokes and it doesn't get stale.
Joey, nice artwork.
Everyone else, wonderful remarks and adoration.
Good luck.


People find this review helpful!

TheDrizzle404TheDrizzle404

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 11, 2010

very promising

i look forward to this series. if you plan on making this series pretty long, id suggest going the route of Unforgotten Realms and w/e he did to make creating the flash series easier. i forgot the term. oh well, as an artist, im sure you know. for all i know, you already are, so ill just shut up now >_>

good episode, i laughed at quite a few areas. specifically most the parts involving the frog. ;)


People find this review helpful!

MrPatienceMrPatience

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars October 4, 2010

Okay

it wasn't bad, but JB has created and been a part of far better animations than this.
Bonus points for the 'proper tree', in all it's Firth-esque glory.



sean66067sean66067

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 26, 2010

Next

Please hurry the suppence (can't spell) is killing me.