Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 17, 2010 | 3:06 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature July 18, 2010
  • Weekly 5th Place July 21, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

(The movie is about 13.5 MB, so go get a snack while you wait for it to load if you have a slow connection.)

UPDATE THE THIRD: And thanks again for helping us get weekly 5th!
UPDATE THE 2ND: Thanks for putting us on the front page!
UPDATE: Thanks everyone for giving "Legends" the votes to get Daily First!

Some Legends speak of heroes... and some speak of... these guys.

The carefully laid plans of the "Cult of the Lich" go horribly awry, as the Lord of Death himself is summoned into the world after being trapped in a dark tome for thousands of years. Our two unlikely heroes, the bumbling wizard wanna-be Xiphon, and his height impaired companion Slinks, are exiled to a evil forest and begin their quest to right the wrongs they help caused... or to just get into more trouble.

"Legends of the Black Book - Part 1" is the debut effort by team Toonwerks... made up of three Flash old-timers Casey McDonald ("Xiphon"), Mark Schneider ("th1rt3en"), and Joseph Blanchette ("LegendaryFrog&quot ;). With the goal of delivering original and smart animations, each one of us play to our strengths to give the the best possible experience to the viewer. We hope you enjoy the first part of this multi part series, and urge you to give feedback so we can make improvements in the future!

Reviews


TokugoruTokugoru

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 17, 2010

This is great.

The only thing I have to ask is this:

PLEASE tell me that someone actually recorded that burp. Because that was great.


Toonwerks responds:

The burp sound effect was found on the Free Sound Project website. As far as we can tell it's real, just not our burp unfortunately.


AeonstarsAeonstars

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 17, 2010

Glad to see LegendaryFrog's return!

Great job all around. The premise is not only satisfyingly comedic but offers much promise of a genuinely entertaining story arc. I'm very excited to see where it goes. Ohmadon's voice acting is superb as usual and it's really refreshing to hear Joseph Blanchette's voice again as well. It brings me back. The animation was top-notch and I drooled over the changes in perspective and shot choices. Keep it up, guys.


Toonwerks responds:

Response by Casey(xiphon):

it's always fun working with Joseph to,
and it's funny, despite a lot of the camera work we did, (which for all of us was something new) we still didn't quite hit the level of camera quality that we wanted to, so you can expect that to be even better next time


MigelMigel

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 17, 2010

Imidiately reckonised the art of the menu :)

Super man, welcome back guys. This is funny from first sentence to the last :)
( Have a feeling I saw this a very long time ago though, but I dont remember it to be same quality as its now )
So well quality wise , this could been shown on tv so I have no comment to improve on. Made me wish I had better pc though for the graphical heavier parts.

Hopefully a part 2 will come soon myes?



Calum04Calum04

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 17, 2010

Wow!

That was amazing, the artwork and voice acting was amazing, i believe that the music and soundtack could have been improved in different ways, but still an amazing flash, cant wait for the next!



abysmal-poptartabysmal-poptart

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 17, 2010

Nice!

I thought the artwork looked familiar! Its been awhile since ive seen your work, frog (i know youve been doing stuff, but i just havent been around to see it). Very nice and coincidental that when you put up a brand new series, I am able to watch it. Awesome!

Good animation, nice improvements on what i've seen in the past, and interesting story. I would have given it a 10, but, sadly, it wasnt as funny as what i've seen from you in the past.

Regardless, looking forward to seeing the next episode!