Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 17, 2010 | 3:06 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature July 18, 2010
  • Weekly 5th Place July 21, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

(The movie is about 13.5 MB, so go get a snack while you wait for it to load if you have a slow connection.)

UPDATE THE THIRD: And thanks again for helping us get weekly 5th!
UPDATE THE 2ND: Thanks for putting us on the front page!
UPDATE: Thanks everyone for giving "Legends" the votes to get Daily First!

Some Legends speak of heroes... and some speak of... these guys.

The carefully laid plans of the "Cult of the Lich" go horribly awry, as the Lord of Death himself is summoned into the world after being trapped in a dark tome for thousands of years. Our two unlikely heroes, the bumbling wizard wanna-be Xiphon, and his height impaired companion Slinks, are exiled to a evil forest and begin their quest to right the wrongs they help caused... or to just get into more trouble.

"Legends of the Black Book - Part 1" is the debut effort by team Toonwerks... made up of three Flash old-timers Casey McDonald ("Xiphon"), Mark Schneider ("th1rt3en"), and Joseph Blanchette ("LegendaryFrog&quot ;). With the goal of delivering original and smart animations, each one of us play to our strengths to give the the best possible experience to the viewer. We hope you enjoy the first part of this multi part series, and urge you to give feedback so we can make improvements in the future!

Reviews


MentalholikMentalholik

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars July 18, 2010

Great Stuff

Some of the animation was fantastic, well done!



MarioMariox2MarioMariox2

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 18, 2010

The leader of the cult.

Reminded me of Gront (..or was it Grant...?) from Smashtasm.

But aside from the "Hey, It's that voice!", a nice animation. Perhaps a few camera angles should be reinvisioned though, like the part where the cult leader opened the book and a beam flew out. I thinks some close-ups were in order there. That's usually the way professional animators do things in such occasions.


Toonwerks responds:

yeah, we wanted to do more but we were getting used to playing around with angles. You can actually see it, in the forest scene, it's pretty much just sidescrolling, and that's how we'd designed it just because that's what we were used to. Once we got that scene done and went into working on the stuff with the mountains, we'd figure out what the sets looked like from overhead and where we'd want the camera, etc etc.

You can expect that it'll definitely improve with future projects.


SufuanSufuan

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 18, 2010

great work man !

nice work ! I love it !



L1zmL1zm

Rated 4 / 5 stars July 18, 2010

Overall impressive

The animation was really good quality but I do have a couple gripes. I don't know if it's the quality of the microphone you used or how the audio was compressed but it seemed a bit 'crackly'. Also the script was amusing, but I didn't find it laugh out loud funny. 8/10



akelkokakelkok

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 18, 2010

It is Outspoken for it self o:

This is a well thought animation.
Looking forward to the next.
It made me laugh and was quite entertaining.
The Gnome had a funny voice and it fits his personality and the way he acts!
Well done! Good voice acting as well!
It makes me wonder how brilliant flash artists get ideas like this.


Toonwerks responds:

Casey(Xiphon):

it takes a long time,

usually things will spark from something small and I'll just continue to keep having ideas.