Support NATA 2014

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 17, 2010 | 3:06 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature July 18, 2010
  • Weekly 5th Place July 21, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

(The movie is about 13.5 MB, so go get a snack while you wait for it to load if you have a slow connection.)

UPDATE THE THIRD: And thanks again for helping us get weekly 5th!
UPDATE THE 2ND: Thanks for putting us on the front page!
UPDATE: Thanks everyone for giving "Legends" the votes to get Daily First!

Some Legends speak of heroes... and some speak of... these guys.

The carefully laid plans of the "Cult of the Lich" go horribly awry, as the Lord of Death himself is summoned into the world after being trapped in a dark tome for thousands of years. Our two unlikely heroes, the bumbling wizard wanna-be Xiphon, and his height impaired companion Slinks, are exiled to a evil forest and begin their quest to right the wrongs they help caused... or to just get into more trouble.

"Legends of the Black Book - Part 1" is the debut effort by team Toonwerks... made up of three Flash old-timers Casey McDonald ("Xiphon"), Mark Schneider ("th1rt3en"), and Joseph Blanchette ("LegendaryFrog&quot ;). With the goal of delivering original and smart animations, each one of us play to our strengths to give the the best possible experience to the viewer. We hope you enjoy the first part of this multi part series, and urge you to give feedback so we can make improvements in the future!

Reviews


GuardianNinjaGuardianNinja

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 18, 2010

Open the Book! ..Don't open the book! Gaah OPEN IT

That was hilarious, can't wait for part 2 !



bramz247bramz247

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 18, 2010

Hilarious

I liked the animation a lot, pretty hilarious plot, I agree the gnomes voice is a bit high pitched otherwise well done!



TrickeliTrickeli

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 18, 2010

Will follow it!

But please oh please, work on that short tempered gnome's voice. It's ear-piercing. And downright annoying.


People find this review helpful!

BZRNRG360BZRNRG360

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars July 18, 2010

Really needs work on the sound!

Good voice acting ... but the freakin' volume of the voicing is way too high, it severely overpowers the background/setting sounds... it makes it very un-enjoyable when you have to turn the sound down so much.

Otherwise, good work... looking forward to the new episodes.



the-electromancerthe-electromancer

Rated 3 / 5 stars July 18, 2010

Pretty good but could use work

Animation was rather well done. Voice acting was decent, though you could probably benefit from having additional Voice Actors.

I would say the area that needs the most improvement is the pacing. The story tends to slow down every time a joke is told (which is quite often). But the thing that hurts the story most is the sudden ending. It didn't end on a note that made me yearning to see the next instalment.

In my opinion the story would improve if the jokes were cut back a bit. This would speed up the story as well as show just how terrible the situation the characters are in really is. It's a little hard to believe that the Skeleton Death Dude is capable of destroying/killing/conquering anything when he casually talks to Xiphon and kindly tells him that he won't kill him. Same with the Terror Wood being filled with jolly, non life threatening, hair eating trees. I just couldn't take it seriously.

I understand that it's supposed to be a comedy, but I just stopped finding it funny when almost every line turned into a joke.


People find this review helpful!
Toonwerks responds:

Where the story IS written to have characters that have arcs and learn lessons and go on adventures, the whole theme that drives the story is that the real world could be perceived as an absolutely terrifying place, but it really isn't. it's what you make it out to be.

The forest they get banished to, even though it has it's threats (there's a flesh eating monster river for example) for the most part it's perfectly survivable. I guess that defeats the purpose of being banished there, but we did want it to be a comedy.

Also, we'll definitely make more serious stories in the future, but it's actually easier to have a concise story doing it this way, that and we still have to practice working together and all such